Doane Academy

Tel: (609)386-3500
Grades: PK-12 | 237 students
Since its founding in 1837, Doane Academy has been a school where students come to realize their interests, their talents, and that they are called to have a significant impact on the world around them.
Pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade, Doane Academy is committed to developing intelligent, capable young people within a school culture where students are known, loved, and strongly encouraged to realize their full potential.
The students, faculty and staff at Doane Academy are all part of a supportive and encouraging school family.
Our teachers are attentive to the needs of each student as an individual, and work closely with both students and parents to insure success in academics and extracurricular activities.
The rigorous liberal arts/college prep curriculum, strong athletic program, and the numerous opportunities in extracurricular activities cultivate the development of character, emotional maturity, and standards of ethical conduct that are essential in preparation for college and education for life.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Association of Delaware Valley Independent Schools (ADVIS)
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
New Jersey Association of Independent Schools
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1837

Student Body

Total Students 237 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Doane Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 43 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Average Class Size 14 students
Number of AP Courses 11 courses
Advanced Courses Biology, Calculus (AB), Chemistry, English Language and Composition, English Literature, Latin Literature/Vergil, Psychology, Spanish, US Government, US History,
Average SAT score 1620
Classroom Dress Code Formal

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $17,000
Tuition Notes Tuition costs vary depending on grade level starting at $11,100 (Lower School) increasing to 17,000 (Upper School) for the 2013-2014 school year. International student tuition is $18,600.
% on Financial Aid
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,000
Acceptance Rate
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Jane Affleck


Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Crew, Cross Country, Soccer, SoftballBaseballBasketball,
CrewCross Country,


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 15 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Community Service Club, Creative Writing Club, Cum Laude, Honor Council, Literary Magazine, Mock Trial, National Art Honor Society, Newspaper, Student Ambassadors, Student Council, Tri-M Music Honor Society, Upper School Band, Upper School Choir, Varsity Club, Yearbook Cum Laude, Honor Council, Mock Trial, Newspaper, Varsity Club, Yearbook, Community Service Club,
Creative Writing Club,
Literary Magazine,
National Art Honor Society,
Student Ambassadors,
Student Council,
Tri-M Music Honor Society,
Upper School Band,
Upper School Choir,

School Notes:

  • General Information
  • Founded: 1837
  • Location: Located in Burlington, NJ, on the banks of the Delaware River, just 17 miles north of Philadelphia.
  • Facilities: 10 acre riverfront campus with 3 buildings and a chapel. The chapel and 2 main buildings are on the National Registry of Historic Places.
  • Affiliation: Founded as an Episcopal boarding school, The Hall is open to all faiths. There are chapel services held in the Episcopal tradition.
  • Class of 2011 - 25 graduates accepted to over 170 colleges and universities with $4.2 million in merit scholarship offers (over 4 years). Our graduates choose amongthe nations best colleges and universities, with Alumni since members of 2008  now attending Harvard University, the U.S. Air Force Academy, American University, and Wellesley University.

Profile last updated: 11/25/2015

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is St. Katharine Drexel School (3.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Holy Light Christian Academy (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Holy Light Christian Academy (0.6 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Burlington
    Holy Light Christian Academy
    (Church of God in Christ)
    Grades: PK-8 | 76 students
    0.6 miles
    133 E Union St
    Burlington, NJ 08016
  • Burlington
    Dor Lyn Preschool
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: PK-KG | 32 students
    1.1 miles
    300 Mill Rd
    Burlington, NJ 08016
  • Burlington
    Grades: PK-8 | 282 students
    1.2 miles
    250 James St
    Burlington, NJ 08016
  • Bristol
    Bristol KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-PK
    1.6 miles
    525 Veterans Highway
    Bristol, PA 19007
  • Croydon
    Little Jems Childrens Center
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: PK-KG | 42 students
    1.8 miles
    1305 State Rd
    Croydon, PA 19021

School Reviews

The best choice I ever made for my child. Doane Academy is amazing. My child has grown in ways we only dreamed about as a family. Our son loves the school and actually cant wait to get there everyday. The school is magical.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My daughter actually looks forward to school everyday,she used to fear it in our district. Teachers nurture and help develop real world skills and study habits. Great school
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Very happy with the education and experience my children have had in middle and high school. The academics have been challenging with the college prep curriculum. The teachers are always there for there students if they need them for extra help. Leadership, ethics and community responsibility are a focus. Rich in traditions, including the seniors rowing into school by canoe to start the school year. Many activities and clubs available. Sports include soccer, cross country, basketball, baseball, softball and rowing. All of the students are involved in some way. SAT prep is a part of the curriculum. College counselor who works closely with the juniors and seniors and has provided information and guidance on the path to college applications.
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/15
Doane has been an inspiration to all of my children in both the upper (7-9) and lower (PreK - 6) school on not being afraid to try new things or being teased for trying new things. Instead, Doane students support and inspire leadership in getting outside of your safety zone to try something you''ve never done before. The teachers are ALWAYS available to help the students after school. Doane has an amazing homework club program to help students who need that little extra help. But teachers are also willing to come in early, work with a student during lunch or at a study hall. They want the students to succeed. The school works as a community and my children are all THRIVING here. The school has a wonderful chapel service run by the former Bishop of NJ, Bishop George Councell, for the students once a week. Many students seek him out to talk to. He''s been a wonderful addition to the school since he joined this past March. His services are about caring, being a good role model and thinking of others, than just yourself, they are very inspirational. And I can''t forget to mention the Headmaster''s lab Halstead, who brings joy to the students every time he comes for a visit!
- Posted by Parent, 11/28/14
School continues to grow in a very positive direction for students. Excellent faculty and administration. An outstanding music program. Complete athletic programs, growing stronger and competive. Offering many after school clubs and other programs. I''m so impressed with the relationship of Upper Classman and Lower School students, true respect, caring , a family like relationship. Students are given opportunties to grow and learn just how strong/important they are. And something not seen in schools, tradition. Doane Academy teaches tradition on the first day of school, to even the youngest student. As the entire school waits on the banks of the Delaware River to welcome the Senior Class, as they canoe down the Delware to campus. There is a scholarship bike ride to raise scholarship funds. Every student has an opportunity to participate, wether they''re riding a 24 speed bike or a tricycle, everyone is encouraged and supported as they reach campus. Doane continues to evolve and move in a positive direction, keeping its eye on the prize....the student.
- Posted by Parent, 05/06/13
The best school in South Jersey. Staff is amazing, students are wonderful, both very welcoming to all. My son is new to the school this year as a freshman and has acclimated wonderfully to the small, family environment and rigorous academics. He has participated in soccer, basketball and now crew. He has found his niche and we couldn''t be more pleased. Doane Academy is a wonderful school That encourages each and every child to their full potential and I highly recommend it to anyone who cares about their child''s education and happiness!
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/12
The focus on writing, math and engineering is evident. Challenging academics. The culture encourages and provides opportunities for community service. They have a high student participation in clubs. The students are given the opportunity to make a difference. Smaller school, great choice.
- Posted by Parent, 02/28/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
November 24, 2015
Many parents search for an answer to the question "How do I provide the kind of religious education I want for my child?" Religious education is a very personal, subjective matter. We explore some of your options.
November 19, 2015
Myths, urban legends and just plain misinformation abound concerning private schools. We shed some light on the facts you may not have known.
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Burlington County, NJ is $5,335 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Burlington County, NJ is 73% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).