Brown School

150 Corlaer Avenue,
Schenectady, NY, 12304-0123
Tel: (518)370-0366
Grades: NS - 8 | 184 students
Brown School's educational program for children and young people recognizes the importance of making up one's own mind and heart about what is true and what counts as knowledge, of knowing where one's passions lie, and of trying to determine what the future holds for humanity and the planet.
We want to inspire and equip young people to be caring, knowledgeable, and active citizens of our increasingly complex world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
New York State Association of Independent Schools (NYSAIS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1893

Student Body

Total Students 184 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 35%
State avg.: 27%
Students by Grade Brown School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 30 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 12 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Please contact our admissions director for tuition rates.
Admissions Director Joan Brooks

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Soccer, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
SoccerTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 11 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Afterschool Program, Art Clubs, Basketball, Dance, Drama, Fencing, Music Lessons, Soccer, Spanish, TKD, Technology Art Clubs, Basketball, Dance, Drama, Fencing, Music Lessons, Soccer, Spanish, TKD, Technology, Afterschool Program,

School Notes:

  • Brown School helps each child become a well-educated, responsible, caring, and productive citizen of the world. We cultivate every student's unique potential within a structured and balanced educational program grounded in the liberal arts, fine arts, and sciences. Within our dynamic and nurturing community, we pursue and share knowledge and teach valuable social and emotional, thinking, and communication skills. The depth and breadth of Brown School's curriculum challenges students to extend their understanding of humanity and the world. Our students are prepared to make sound ethical judgments and to live happy, productive lives. This is the core of Brown School's perspective on education.

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Notre Dame-bishop Gibbons School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Notre Dame-bishop Gibbons School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Annur Islamic School (1.9 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Schenectady Notre Dame-bishop Gibbons School
    (Roman Catholic)
    2600 Albany St
    Schenectady , NY , 12304
    (518)393-3131
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  301  students  |  Gr.  6-12
  • Schenectady
    RiverRun Community Montessori
    Montessori School
    2117 Union Street
    Schenectady , NY , 12309
    (518)937-9338
    Montessori School
    1.1  mi  |  17  students  |  Gr.  2-6
  • Schenectady
    St. Kateri Tekakwitha School
    (Roman Catholic)
    1801 Union St
    Schenectady , NY , 12309
    (518)382-8225
    (Roman Catholic)
    1.2  mi  |  164  students  |  Gr.  K-6
  • Schenectady
    Northeast Parent & Child Society
    Special Education School
    1821 Hamburg St
    Schenectady , NY , 12304
    (518)346-1273
    Special Education School
    1.5  mi  |  157  students  |  Gr.  6-12
  • Schenectady
    Annur Islamic School
    (Islamic)
    2195 Central Ave
    Schenectady , NY , 12304
    (518)395-9866
    (Islamic)
    1.9  mi  |  115  students  |  Gr.  PK-8

School Reviews

  • Recommended September 23, 2014 - My kids love learning and I love Brown! The programs, class lessons, special classes, and extra curricular activities are amazing. In addition to art, music, P.E., computer, Spanish, and library classes, my Kindergartener will be taking a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) class twice a week. For my middle school children, I am constantly amazed at the depth and diversity of their curricula??their favorites: art, technology, guitar, science, history of rock ?''n roll (an elective)??as well as the after-school activities available to them. Every staff person strives to make Brown the best that it can be. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 31, 2014 - My daughter has had a wonderful experience at Brown. She started in Pre-K and is about to enter third grade. The teachers challenge their students in a supportive and nurturing environment. There is an emphasis on character development which I really appreciate. The kids treat one another with kindness and respect. The focus is on matters of importance--academics, the environment, social responsibility--and not overly focused on pop culture. It has been a great fit for my daughter and well worth the money we pay. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 24, 2014 - Our son has attended Brown School for the last three years. It has been an amazing experience for him and our entire family. Our family was quickly included into the Brown School Community. The school has provided a quality education, utilizing a small class size. His teachers have been kind, loving, and creative. They have also addressed his individual learning style, while going above and beyond what is expected. We are so thankful that we found Brown School for our son''s education. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 07, 2014 - Brown School is an exceptional school that provides wonderful opportunities in and out of the classroom. We have two children at Brown and are very pleased with the education and positive experiences our children have received. Our initial attraction to Brown School were the caring teachers, the sense of community, the evident mutual respect between students and staff, the strong art and music program, and an early second language instruction. As our children have grown at Brown, we have also come to appreciate the programs that the school offers which have contributed to their personal development, such as the Mindup program and Ignite. These programs along with an emphasis on hands on learning and relevance through projects have provided a strong foundation for our children that we believe will help them as they continue their education in the coming years. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 18, 2014 - Brown School allows our children to thrive in a nurturing, comfortable and challenging learning environment. The children explore a variety of topics from multiple perspectives. They hear, touch, discuss and engage friends in projects related to the topic they are discovering. They are taught to be leaders, good friends and encourage all to find their voice. Everyone gets a chance to perform on stage, present to a group of peers as well as parents and play sports. The remarkable glue that knits this community together is the sense of family that allows for resolution of conflicts as well as individual growth. We always walk away from school events with a huge smile knowing we are giving our children the best learning opportunity. Watching the children run into school every morning is a great way to start my day. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 14, 2014 - Brown School offers our children what few other others in our region are able to do: the opportunity to grow into confident, independent and joyful learners. At Brown, my children have thrived and have developed remarkable critical thinking skills and creative expression. Brown School''s commitment to educating the "whole child" is clear and their celebration of the Arts is impressive. One of the most amazing things about Brown is the opportunity for children to feel at ease participating in diverse activities without being "judged," or stereotyped. For example, this year my son quite happily joined the Science Bowl Team, starred in the School Musical, played in band, joined select strings and competed on the soccer and volleyball teams without being "pegged" as a "geek," or a "jock." I love that at Brown, kids have the chance to explore their interests freely and to express their enthusiasm without fear of being teased or bullied. Brown School is a fantastic place, and I highly recommend it! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 14, 2014 - Brown School is an amazing school! We have 2 children at Brown School. We love it because the curriculum is hands-on/interactive learning that engages and excites my kids. It makes learning fun for them. The atmosphere is energetic and positive. The classes are small and the teachers really know my children and care about them. The teachers at Brown School encourage my kids to be creative problem solvers and to think outside the box. We are very happy with Brown School and highly recommend it! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - Brown School ranks as one of the best parts of our lives in the Capital Region. When we moved to the area, finding the right school for my daughter was a top priority. As the daughter of an English teacher and a journalist, I valued academic excellence first and foremost in a school. As a social psychologist, I knew the social-emotional environment was also incredibly important. I wanted my daughter to love school, to develop her own personal creativity, interests and style and to learn real foundational academic skills. Brown school has offered us everything we wished for and more. The curriculum combines mindfulness education, the arts, extensive writing programs, and increasingly impressive science programs to create whole-child development of the highest order. My daughter has thrived. She loves the Brown community like family. Her friends are kind, comfortable with adults, and skilled beyond their years at resolving conflicts, integrating new class members, working in teams and individually. Her class is diverse and just the right size to allow for individual attention and good social opportunities. We wouldn’t have her any other place. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 10, 2013 - Brown School has been such a positive experience for our son. We do not have any extended family nearby, which is tough for an only child. Brown provides him such a wonderful sense of community, and belonging. The teachers are fantastic, creative & truly care for each and every child at the school. He loves to go to school everyday & has developed such a genuine love for learning. I am so thankful to have found Brown School for my son''s education. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!