Brown School

150 Corlaer Avenue
Schenectady, NY 12304-0123
Tel: (518)370-0366
Grades: NS-8 | 156 students
Welcome to Brown School
Welcome to Brown School
Brown School's educational program for children and young people recognizes the importance of making up one's own mind and heart about what is true and what counts as knowledge, of knowing where one's passions lie, and of trying to determine what the future holds for humanity and the planet.
We want to inspire and equip young people to be caring, knowledgeable, and active citizens of our increasingly complex world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
New York State Association of Independent Schools (NYSAIS)
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded 1893

Student Body

Total Students 156 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Brown School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 30 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 12 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Please contact our admissions director for tuition rates.
Admissions Director Joan Brooks


Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Soccer, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
SoccerTrack and Field,


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 11 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Afterschool Program, Art Clubs, Basketball, Dance, Drama, Fencing, Music Lessons, Soccer, Spanish, TKD, Technology Art Clubs, Basketball, Dance, Drama, Fencing, Music Lessons, Soccer, Spanish, TKD, Technology, Afterschool Program,

School Notes:

  • Brown School helps each child become a well-educated, responsible, caring, and productive citizen of the world. We cultivate every student's unique potential within a structured and balanced educational program grounded in the liberal arts, fine arts, and sciences. Within our dynamic and nurturing community, we pursue and share knowledge and teach valuable social and emotional, thinking, and communication skills. The depth and breadth of Brown School's curriculum challenges students to extend their understanding of humanity and the world. Our students are prepared to make sound ethical judgments and to live happy, productive lives. This is the core of Brown School's perspective on education.

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is Notre Dame-bishop Gibbons School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Notre Dame-bishop Gibbons School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is RiverRun Community Montessori (1.1 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Schenectady
    Grades: 6-12 | 324 students
    0.5 miles
    2600 Albany St
    Schenectady, NY 12304
  • Schenectady
    Grades: PK-8 | 44 students
    1.1 miles
    2117 Union Street
    Schenectady, NY 12309
  • Schenectady
    Grades: K-6 | 245 students
    1.2 miles
    1801 Union St
    Schenectady, NY 12309
  • Schenectady
    Northeast Parent & Child Society
    Special Education School
    Grades: 6-12 | 169 students
    1.5 miles
    1821 Hamburg St
    Schenectady, NY 12304
  • Schenectady
    Grades: PK-8 | 136 students
    1.9 miles
    2195 Central Ave
    Schenectady, NY 12304

School Reviews

Brown is what a school should be. Beyond typical expectations, some of what sets Brown apart is: -small class sizes -a dedicated, skilled and caring faculty (from top to bottom) -a culture of a close community with school leadership, teachers and students -attention paid to not only scholastic development but also development of the budding individual. When, as a father, I see how much my sons are learning and yet watch them (at 10 and 12) excited each morning to go to school or disappointed in June when it's over...something special is happening.
- Posted by Parent, 10/20/15
We have two children at Brown School. We love it! The school has small class sizes and literally the students know everybody. The staff is extremely dedicated to their jobs and take excellent care of the children. There is a kindness that is taught to the kids that makes it way home. A ?'buddy?' system of upper grades and lower grades teaches empathy as well as leadership. Brown School uses a mindfullness method that helps with stress and keeping calm, which I have actually seen my boys use at home. They have an excellent program for STEAM (the extra ?'a?' is for art). Brown School has a super program called IGNITE that is truly individualized for needs and goals to get them to ENJOY learning, not just do it. Plenty of extra-curricular things to do (sports, arts, exploration); a great before & after care program; excellent summer camp offerings. We enjoy being able to have them be at one place for before/after care. Can?'t say enough good things about Brown School.
- Posted by Parent, 08/01/15
Brown School has been such a positive experience for our son. We do not have any extended family nearby, which is tough for an only child. Brown provides him such a wonderful sense of community, and belonging. The teachers are fantastic, creative & truly care for each and every child at the school. He loves to go to school everyday & has developed such a genuine love for learning. I am so thankful to have found Brown School for my son''s education.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Brown School ranks as one of the best parts of our lives in the Capital Region. When we moved to the area, finding the right school for my daughter was a top priority. As the daughter of an English teacher and a journalist, I valued academic excellence first and foremost in a school. As a social psychologist, I knew the social-emotional environment was also incredibly important. I wanted my daughter to love school, to develop her own personal creativity, interests and style and to learn real foundational academic skills. Brown school has offered us everything we wished for and more. The curriculum combines mindfulness education, the arts, extensive writing programs, and increasingly impressive science programs to create whole-child development of the highest order. My daughter has thrived. She loves the Brown community like family. Her friends are kind, comfortable with adults, and skilled beyond their years at resolving conflicts, integrating new class members, working in teams and individually. Her class is diverse and just the right size to allow for individual attention and good social opportunities. We wouldn’t have her any other place.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Brown School is an amazing school! We have 2 children at Brown School. We love it because the curriculum is hands-on/interactive learning that engages and excites my kids. It makes learning fun for them. The atmosphere is energetic and positive. The classes are small and the teachers really know my children and care about them. The teachers at Brown School encourage my kids to be creative problem solvers and to think outside the box. We are very happy with Brown School and highly recommend it!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Brown School offers our children what few other others in our region are able to do: the opportunity to grow into confident, independent and joyful learners. At Brown, my children have thrived and have developed remarkable critical thinking skills and creative expression. Brown School''s commitment to educating the "whole child" is clear and their celebration of the Arts is impressive. One of the most amazing things about Brown is the opportunity for children to feel at ease participating in diverse activities without being "judged," or stereotyped. For example, this year my son quite happily joined the Science Bowl Team, starred in the School Musical, played in band, joined select strings and competed on the soccer and volleyball teams without being "pegged" as a "geek," or a "jock." I love that at Brown, kids have the chance to explore their interests freely and to express their enthusiasm without fear of being teased or bullied. Brown School is a fantastic place, and I highly recommend it!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Brown School allows our children to thrive in a nurturing, comfortable and challenging learning environment. The children explore a variety of topics from multiple perspectives. They hear, touch, discuss and engage friends in projects related to the topic they are discovering. They are taught to be leaders, good friends and encourage all to find their voice. Everyone gets a chance to perform on stage, present to a group of peers as well as parents and play sports. The remarkable glue that knits this community together is the sense of family that allows for resolution of conflicts as well as individual growth. We always walk away from school events with a huge smile knowing we are giving our children the best learning opportunity. Watching the children run into school every morning is a great way to start my day.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Brown School is an exceptional school that provides wonderful opportunities in and out of the classroom. We have two children at Brown and are very pleased with the education and positive experiences our children have received. Our initial attraction to Brown School were the caring teachers, the sense of community, the evident mutual respect between students and staff, the strong art and music program, and an early second language instruction. As our children have grown at Brown, we have also come to appreciate the programs that the school offers which have contributed to their personal development, such as the Mindup program and Ignite. These programs along with an emphasis on hands on learning and relevance through projects have provided a strong foundation for our children that we believe will help them as they continue their education in the coming years.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Our son has attended Brown School for the last three years. It has been an amazing experience for him and our entire family. Our family was quickly included into the Brown School Community. The school has provided a quality education, utilizing a small class size. His teachers have been kind, loving, and creative. They have also addressed his individual learning style, while going above and beyond what is expected. We are so thankful that we found Brown School for our son''s education.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My daughter has had a wonderful experience at Brown. She started in Pre-K and is about to enter third grade. The teachers challenge their students in a supportive and nurturing environment. There is an emphasis on character development which I really appreciate. The kids treat one another with kindness and respect. The focus is on matters of importance--academics, the environment, social responsibility--and not overly focused on pop culture. It has been a great fit for my daughter and well worth the money we pay.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My kids love learning and I love Brown! The programs, class lessons, special classes, and extra curricular activities are amazing. In addition to art, music, P.E., computer, Spanish, and library classes, my Kindergartener will be taking a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) class twice a week. For my middle school children, I am constantly amazed at the depth and diversity of their curricula??their favorites: art, technology, guitar, science, history of rock ?''n roll (an elective)??as well as the after-school activities available to them. Every staff person strives to make Brown the best that it can be.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
When my husband and I decided that we needed a change from our public school?''s increasing class size, decreasing budgets, and almost complete reliance on then ??test, test, test?" model of education, we toured many private schools. And while many private schools offer small class size and families who value education, we found that Brown School offered something that no one else did: a learning environment that truly educates the whole child, and teaches them to be confident and independent thinkers. Brown accomplishes this with dedicated and caring teachers, who go above and beyond to provide a creative, project-based, hands-on curriculum where children thrive. Brown offers diversity, in both the student population and in educational opportunities. My children?''s education is well balanced, between science and technology (STEM, computer programming) and the arts (guitar, public speaking, band, just to name a few.) Brown School employs a reading and a math specialist, to offer additional support to children who might need it. They also have, on staff, a teacher certified in gifted education who, working in partnership with the classroom teacher and the student, develops personal and scholastic goals for each student??a truly personalized and customized education based on a child?''s individual strengths and weaknesses. My children are thriving at Brown, and we couldn?''t be happier.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
November 24, 2015
Many parents search for an answer to the question "How do I provide the kind of religious education I want for my child?" Religious education is a very personal, subjective matter. We explore some of your options.
November 19, 2015
Myths, urban legends and just plain misinformation abound concerning private schools. We shed some light on the facts you may not have known.
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in New York is $9,507 for elementary schools and $20,329 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in New York is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).