The Studio School

117 West 95th Street,
New York, NY, 10025-0100
     Tel: (212)678-2416
Grades: NS - 9 | 110 students
At Studio, learning and relationships go hand in hand and are alive with passion, curiosity, and spirit.  Founded in 1971, for children preschool througheighthgrade, The Studio Schooloffers an interdisciplinary curriculum where children learn to think critically and creatively.  The Studio School’s Approach transcends the standard academic curricula and is uniquely designed to develop each child’s innate intelligence, leading to original work.  It blends an understanding of child development with a working knowledge of how children learn, a student-teacher relationship that is emotionally connective, and a rich curriculum imbued with a breadth and depth of learning.  Students work in small, mixed-aged classes, which are designed to advance, enrich, and deepen their studies.
The Studio School Approach is both comprehensive and innovative, featuring classical, traditional, and progressive elements of excellence in education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other school association(s)
New York State Association of Independent Schools (NYSAIS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 9
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported As needed
Year Founded 1971

Student Body

Total Students 110 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 39%
State avg.: 28%
Students by Grade The Studio School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 13 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 45%
Average Class Size 16 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Dec. 8 / rolling
Tuition Notes Ones and Twos: $8, 470 (2 mornings) Twos and Threes: $13, 910 (3 mornings) Early Childhood Mornings $20, 800 (5 mornings) Early Childhood Full Days $33, 430 (5 days) Elementary School (grades 1 – 4) $33, 430 Middle School (grades 5 – 9) $34.9
% on Financial Aid 20%
Admissions Director Jennifer K. Tarpley

School Notes:

The Studio School educates the hearts and minds of children as we nurture the unfolding of their authentic spirit and character. Our students learn to value intellectual and creative ideas, and to take pleasure in the process of discovery. We seek a deep and lasting academic excellence, one that is achieved when children are motivated to embrace for themselves the journey of learning.

Profile last updated: 08/18/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Trinity School (0.2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is The Mandell School (0.1 miles away)
The nearest preschool is The Manhattan Children's Center (0 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • New YorkThe Manhattan Children's Center
    Special Education School
    124 W 95th St
    New YorkNY10025
    (212)749-4604
    Special Education School
    0 mi | 36 students | Gr. PK                      
  • New YorkThe Mandell School
    795 Columbus Avenue
    New YorkNY10025
    (212)222-2925
    0.1 mi | 511 students | Gr. NS-8                      
  • New YorkHoly Name Of Jesus School
      (Roman Catholic)
    202 W 97th St
    New YorkNY10025
    (212)749-1240
      (Roman Catholic)
    0.2 mi | 232 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • New YorkAlexander Robertson School
      (Presbyterian)
    3 West 95th Street
    New YorkNY10025
    (212)663-2844
      (Presbyterian)
    0.2 mi | 48 students | Gr. K-5                      
  • New YorkSolomon Schechter School Of Manhattan
      (Jewish)
    805 Columbus Avenue
    New YorkNY10025
    (212)427-9500
      (Jewish)
    0.2 mi | 142 students | Gr. K-8                      

School Reviews

Recommended
1 week ago
The Studio School is a rare find in a city that is inundated with many options for independent school education because it has been able to focus it''s approach on the essence of what kids need to succeed in life. Ms. Rotter, the Head of School, summed it up best by saying that kids who leave Studio in 8th grade leave knowing who they are, what they want and how to work. It sounds so simple and yet somehow manages to get lost in today''s world where there are so many parenting and teaching philosophies. Our daughter is only 3 and has been there for 2 years but when I drop her off I see all the other kids who range from kindergarten up to 8th grade and they are wonderful, poised and articulate with a sense of self that I was still looking for up into my late twenties.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 weeks ago
My two sons, 5 and 8, started at the Studio School this past September. It truly is an amazing place! My boys are happy and thriving in this kind, supportive, encouraging environment. They are challenged to try and do new things and are already showing increased confidence. Everything that happens at Studio happens because it was well thought out and considered. I really trust that from the moment they walk in each morning until i pick them up there is a community of people, not just their teachers, who are invested in them and care about their growth and development. The added bonus is that the parents benefit from this amazing school as well. Getting a better understanding of my boys and of my parenting is such a gift. If the past 2 months is any indication of what''s to come, i am confident that my boys will continue to grow and flourish and develop the skills, confidence, motivation and desire they need to be thoughtful, considerate, creative, respectful young men. It really is an amazing place!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
3 months ago
My children attend Studio and we - and they! - could not be happier. The school has a rigorous and academically challenging curriculum, and expects a lot out of students. However, the school provides the resources and tremendous individual attention to ensure that students meet their goals in a supportive and nurturing environment. It is truly a remarkable and unique place. Check it out!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
3 months ago
The Studio School is a special and unique place. My children are getting a top notch, rigorous education, but in a supportive environment. The school has an extremely rigorous academic program and expects a lot out of its students. Every student is expect to meet their potential. To ensure that happens, the school offers tremendous resources and incredible personal attention. There''s no such thing as "falling thru the cracks" here! And the kids love the school! My daughter is ANGRY if she can''t go to school due to a holiday or what not. I could go on and on about how much our family loves this school. It''s great!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
3 months ago
My husband and I were blown away by how sensitive, involved and invested the teachers and head of school were through our family''s first year. Like most parents, we agonized over the vast array of school choices there are in NYC. As new parents to our first child, we focused on HIS experience but did not realize how much of an extended family our new chosen school would become for all of us. Our outgoing, friendly little boy went through a difficult year changing and growing through his threes as he was starting his very first year at Studio School. The teachers and staff were not just completely devoted to his education, they were also committed to his wellbeing, a huge relief and comfort to us. Our family was warmly welcomed into this all inclusive school, where the entire family feels a sense of belonging, sharing and learning. We look forward to many more years with Studio School!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
3 months ago
We have 2 chn at Studio, one in elementary and one in preschool. We love the teachers and staff, as do our children. They encourage the children''s interests while helping them master personal and interpersonal skills (frustration managment, working with others). When your 5 and 6 year old children start asking you in July when they can go back to school, you know you have a winner. We wouldn''t send them anywhere else.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
3 months ago
Our son started his first year of middle school at The Studio School last year, and we could not have been happier. If you believe in the progressive process, then you understand how important it is teach our children to be creative and critical thinkers. Often at that age it is their awareness of society and trying to discover their place in it that can mar that process. The Studio School are experts at helping children navigate these difficult stages with their emphasis on social and emotional development. It is exactly what our son needs at this crucial time.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
4 months ago
The Studio School is a hidden gem. Our 2.5 year old Daughter spent the last year there so she started when she was just 20 months in the Ones/Twos program. We loved watching how the kids slowly internalized the structure of the class so that they seamlessly moved from one activity to another - work period, snack, library, gym, then music. Our daughter transformed from a child who would throw her food on the floor in defiance to someone who picked up her plate and cleaned the table without asking.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
This is our first year at Studio and I couldn''t be more impressed by the quality of the education and the time the educators take for each child.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Homeschool or Private School?
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Religious Schools: An Overview
Your religion matters to you. You want your child to attend a school which will combine academics and religious education. Here is an overview of what is available together with some links to denominational web sites.
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in New York, NY is $17,089 for elementary schools and $32,050 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in New York, NY is 64% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).