Gloria Dei Lutheran Elementary School

2600 Ralston Avenue
Belmont, CA 94002-0940
Tel: (650)593-3361
Grades: PK - 6 | 30 students
One of Belmont’s best-kept educational secrets is hidden on a beautiful, quiet campus just off Ralston Avenue.
Gloria Dei Lutheran School has served the educational needs of children and their families since 1970.
We are certain that you will find Gloria Dei School to be an excellent tool for your child’s mental, emotional, and spiritual development.

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 6
Year Founded 1970

Student Body

Total Students 30 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Gloria Dei Lutheran Elementary School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 2 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 15:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 15 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $6,353
Tuition Notes Multiple child discounts are available.
Admissions Director Jennifer Ratto

School Notes:

Gloria Dei Lutheran School, in collaboration with its sponsoring church, fosters the educational and spiritual development of its students by tailoring a traditional curriculum centered on the Word of God to each student’s needs. We are here to serve children of our congregation as well as children from families outside of our congregation.

Profile last updated: 02/13/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Dawn Christian Academy (0.9 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Serendipity School (0.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Belmont Oaks Academy (0.7 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Belmont
    Grades: K-5 | 125 students
    0.2 miles
    2820 Ponce Avenue
    Belmont, CA 94002
    (650)596-9100
    0.2K-5
    125
  • Redwood City
    Bright Horizon Chinese School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: KG-5 | 137 students
    0.6 miles
    902 Emerald Hill Rd
    Redwood City, CA 94061
    (650)773-0917
    0.6KG-5
    137
  • Belmont
    Grades: PK-5 | 389 students
    0.7 miles
    2200 Carlmont Dr
    Belmont, CA 94002
    (650)593-6175
    0.7PK-5
    389
  • Belmont
    Grades: PK-8 | 319 students
    0.8 miles
    1000 Alameda De Las Pulgas
    Belmont, CA 94002
    (650)593-4265
    0.8PK-8
    319
  • San Mateo
    Grades: K-12 | 76 students
    0.9 miles
    525 42nd Ave.
    San Mateo, CA 94403
    (650)212-4222
    0.9K-12
    76

School Reviews

My son went to school here from k-6 (2001 - 2008) - I couldn''t ask for a better school for your child to attend. Adam Mateske was the best...I would highly recommend.
- Posted by Parent, 04/10/15
It is a gift to be a part of this school! I have been a teacher for twenty years and I cannot say enough about the quality of education at Gloria Dei. Each child receives individualized attention within a challenging academic setting. My son is thriving and loves school. The teachers, staff, and pastor are some of the most incredible and loving people you will ever meet. This school is the best kept secret on the peninsula!!!
- Posted by Parent, 08/23/13
As a parent of two kids at Gloria Dei (one in K and one in 1) and going into our second year here, I highly, highly recommend Gloria Dei. Our children are truly thriving. This is a small community-type school and our children receive outstanding attention. I highly recommend Gloria Dei.
- Posted by Parent, 12/11/12
My daughter is currently attending Gloria Dei Lutheran School in the 4-yr-old preschool program and absolutely loves it! She used to be very fussy at drop-offs at her old preschool and here we haven''t had a single tear in the entire school year. She just got upset a few times when I picked her up as she wanted to stay longer. Miss Marquardt is an extraordinary teacher who is very enthusiastic, caring and loving, yet firm, which is the perfect combination for my (sometimes goofy) daughter. She has learned so much more than I expected, she knows all her letters and numbers and Anne Marquardt has endless ideas how to make class and learning for the children fun and interesting. I love the fact that the school is very flexible when it comes to the days and times when the kids can attend school. It has been extremely helpful to be able to leave my daughter at school longer at times in case I needed to help out at my other daughters school or so. It made my life so much easier. The facility is bright and pleasant, they have a cute little playground, but the building needs improvement.
- Posted by Parent, 05/01/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in San Mateo County, CA is $13,506 for elementary schools and $25,121 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in San Mateo County, CA is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).