German International School

3900 SW Murray Blvd
Beaverton, OR 97005-0972
Tel: (503)626-9089
Grades: PK - 5 | 160 students
It's like sending your child to Germany for the day.
At the German International School Portland we have a knack for teaching children a second language.
We make it fun.
Not only do our students learn a second language, they are immersed in German culture through music, art, books and conversation with everyone around them.
In return, they have the opportunity to become better listeners, more flexible in their thinking and more open to other languages and cultures.
A bilingual education, the gift that lasts a lifetime
  • A Day in the Life of our Preschoolers - 06/12/2015 - Picture a place where speaking a foreign language is as fun as playing a game; a place where as much learning happens outside as it does inside; and a place where open-mindedness blossoms. Welcome to preschool at the German International School. 

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 5
Year Founded 1995

Student Body

Total Students 160 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 14%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade German International School  Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 18 students
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Mar. 1 / rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition rates vary depending on selected program.
% on Financial Aid 16%
Acceptance Rate 98%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Elizabeth Gillespie

School Notes:

  • Nine reasons to give your child the gift of a bilingual education.
  • Take advantage of your child's window of opportunity for learning a second language easily and naturally.
  • Enrich and enhance your child's mental development.
  • Increase your child's ability to have more flexibility in thinking, greater sensitivity to language, and a better ear for listening.
  • Improve your child's understanding of his or her native language.
  • Give your child the ability to communicate with people she or he would not otherwise know.
  • Open the door to other cultures.
  • Increase understanding, appreciation and empathy for people from other cultures.
  • Give your child a head start in language requirements for college.
  • Increase career and educational opportunities in fields where language fluency is a real asset.

Profile last updated: 06/15/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Valley Catholic School (0.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Valley Catholic School (0.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Valley Catholic School (0.3 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Beaverton
    Valley Catholic School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: NS-12
    0.3 miles
    4275 SW 148th Ave
    Beaverton, OR 97078
    (503)644-3745
    0.3NS-12
    n/a
  • Beaverton
    Grades: K-5 | 386 students
    0.4 miles
    4420 SW St. Mary’s Drive
    Beaverton, OR 97078
    (503)718-6500
    0.4K-5
    386
  • Beaverton
    Grades: PK-KG | 48 students
    0.5 miles
    4845 Sw Murray Blvd
    Beaverton, OR 97005
    (503)644-1460
    0.5PK-KG
    48
  • Beaverton
    Learning Years Day School
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-K | 65 students
    0.9 miles
    13050 Sw Jenkins Rd
    Beaverton, OR 97005
    (503)671-0550
    0.9NS-K
    65
  • Beaverton
    Living Wisdom School
    Alternative School
    Grades: PK-5 | 24 students
    1 miles
    4855 Sw Watson Ave
    Beaverton, OR 97005
    (503)671-9112
    1PK-5
    24

School Reviews

We have been at the school for 3 years now. Major positives are the German curriculum. The kids learn / work with German in a multitude of subjects, including math, language arts and science, giving them a much broader sense of the language than just a foreign language classroom. Just today I heard a kid (whose parents are American and German) after science class making a really clever play on words about the Big Bang, but in German. How cool is that?!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We are really glad we enrolled our son at GSP. The school is a great place for young minds to learn another language. At GSP, they have a good program that helps kids to blend in smoothly and be confident foreign language learners.
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/13
As a German family living in the U.S. we''re very happy to send our kids to the GSP. This way our kids won''t have any disadvantage, once they change over to a school in Germany again. In contrary, with the English language added (for grade school) and all the multicultural and multinational aspects that melt together in this school, they have a great advantage now and later on. We truly love the high level of education at this school as well as the extraordinarily friendly, professional staff. We feel like being part of a big family there. In preschool and kindergarten as well as in grade school our kids experience a safe, multifaceted learning environment. Our kids love to go to the GSP.
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/13
Very unique and great community. This school has an interesting mix of students, not all families have affiliations to Germany, or German parents. I met families who join the school for their great curriculum only. There are plenty of extracurricular activities introducing children into arts, science, sports and logical thinking. On top of all it is fun for the children, they usually don''t want to leave school!
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/13
GSP is a warm and welcoming place. The teachers and staff are friendly, creative and professional which creates a wonderful learning environment for our daughter. GSP offers a well rounded and challenging curriculum as well as lots of after school clubs on a variety of topics. We believed that learning a second language would be a great benefit for our child and we new it would be challenging, however our daughter is thriving with this challenge. She loves learning German and learning about the German culture and traditions.
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/13
When I first entered GSP almost 10 (yes, ten!) years ago - I immediately fell for the school, and my first thought was: "I would love to have a child so he/ she can attend this wonderful school!" Now I am the happy mother of a GSP first grader who has attended the school since preschool, and we all still appreciate the unique opportunity for bilingual and bicultural education this school offers, along with a few other perks like the extensive library including thousands of German books, the music room with five pianos/ keyboards and other instruments or the huge sports room which allows for much needed exercise throughout the day even when it is pouring outside. The quality of teachers and other staff is just the icing and cherry on a beautifully layered cake, the blending of both American and German curriculum makes the school''s program a most thorough and well-balanced educational experience. A lot of planning and outstanding efforts go into providing diverse opportunities for learning and practicing important concepts through different methods, so students with different learning styles and various talents are encouraged to pursue the best that they can be. We love GSP!
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/13
Mom: "What do you like best about GSP?" 5 year old daughter: "The teachers. They work very hard all year long and so does everyone else." The school is amazingly organized, well ran and great introduction to German language and culture. A truly great language school. Before and after care are also very good.
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/13
Our daughter just finished her first year of preschool at the German American School and it has been a great year for her and for the whole family. We found a very friendly and warm environment. Teachers are professional and caring. They know very well how to make a child thriving. However, everybody in the school loves children and makes them feel cherished. The organization of the school is exemplar. My daughter is very proud of her school, of learning another language, of her new friends and she is happy of going to school, which actually is what really matters.
- Posted by Parent, 06/20/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Beaverton, OR is 96% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos