Castle Hills First Baptist School

2220 NW Military Hwy
San Antonio, TX 78213-0782
Tel: (210)377-8485
Grades: NS-12 | 450 students
At Castle Hills our pledge is to give every student the edge for success.
We offer an academically rigorous curriculum and are focused on both spiritual and leadership success in life.
Our mission is to lead students, in partnership with parents, to know Christ and make Christ known. Our Academy of Excellence and Leadership Development is a school within a school offering students the opportunity to learn leadership concepts and put them into practice as well as learning how to be a servant leader.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious Affiliation Baptist
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Slight learning differences
Year Founded 1981

Student Body

Total Students 450 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 37%
Students by Grade Castle Hills First Baptist School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 37 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 13:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Average Class Size 21 students
Number of AP Courses 5 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses American History, Calculus, English 11, English 12, Physics, Spanish,
Average SAT score 1510
Average ACT score 21
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Uniforms purchased at Parker Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Varies depending on grade
% on Financial Aid
Admissions Director Susan Covarrubia


Total Sports Offered 9 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryFootball,
TennisTrack and Field,


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art, Band, Choir, Drama Club, First Lego League Robotics, National Honor Society, National Honor Society, Theatre, Yearbook Art, Band, Choir, Drama Club, Theatre, Yearbook, First Lego League Robotics,
National Honor Society,
National Honor Society,

School Notes:

  • STRONG COLLEGE PREPARATORY ACADEMICS taught by an excellent faculty degreed and certified in their individual field of study
  • 80% of our graduates in 2014 received scholarships to college or university
  • Full Athletic Program - 2014 and 2015 2A Football State Champions
  • Excellence in the Arts - 2014 1A State Champions in Choir and Band
  • Caring and loving faculty dedicated to teaching children to be servant leaders for Jesus Christ
  • Early Childhood, Pre Kindergarten, Kindergarten and Elementary Programs provide the academic and spiritual foundation for success
  • Spanish, Computer Technology, Art, Music, daily P.E. and Recess, Hot Lunch Program Available
  • Affordable Tuition for Preschool, Kindergarten thru the 12th Grade
  • State of the Art Facilities, Technology & Sports Complex

Profile last updated: 07/27/2015

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is Antonian College Preparatory High School (1.2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. George Episcopal School (0.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St. George Episcopal School (0.4 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • San Antonio
    Grades: PK-8 | 524 students
    0.4 miles
    6900 West Avenue
    San Antonio, TX 78213
  • San Antonio
    Montessori Schoolhouse
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK | 58 students
    0.8 miles
    10711 Dreamland
    San Antonio, TX 78230
  • San Antonio
    Colonial Hills United Methodist School
    Daycare / Preschool (Methodist)
    Grades: NS-K | 122 students
    1 miles
    5247 Vance Jackson Rd
    San Antonio, TX 78230
  • San Antonio
    Grades: 9-12 | 736 students
    1.2 miles
    6425 West Ave
    San Antonio, TX 78213
  • San Antonio
    Grades: PK-12 | 1072 students
    1.2 miles
    4802 Vance Jackson Road
    San Antonio, TX 78230

School Reviews

Coming from public education, I have been enormously blessed to teach at the high school level here. The administrative team strives to make our jobs as simple and student-focused as they need to be. The students are wonderfully adept at thinking critically and encourage one another to excel in their studies. Since moving here, my wife and I have been pampered by the support of the parents and their families through gifts of their time, encouragement, and assistance in helping their students become successful.
- Posted by Teacher, 10/31/15
I have been at CHFBS since I was 18 months old. I am in the 9th grade and I love my school. I am challenged academically, I participate in Student Council, Drama Club, Choir, and shows. It is my second family.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 07/24/15
Best all around school in San Antonio. Knowledgeable faculty that cares, strong academics with AP options, college prep and guidance services, great choir, band, and drama as well as a full option of athletics. Congratulations to the Varsity football team on winning the TAPPS Division II State Championship.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Excellent school to prepare students for college and life. We have been so pleased with the parental involvement throughout the grades as well as the open door policy of the administation and faculty. A real family feel which has helped our children thrive.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I cannot say enough about the quality of education at CHFBS. There is a culture of academic excellence at this school which is grounded in a Christ-centered atmosphere. It can be felt from your first encounter with the administration, faculty, and/or students. My children have been enriched by their time here and will never attend any other school. CHFBS is the best! ''We are because HE is''
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
This school is a beacon to those that want to provide their children with a superior college prep education with the security of a safe. nurturing, respectful environment. Lifelong friendships are forged among parents and students. The Educators. Counselors, Administration are incredible. The curriculum preparatory, challenging yet supportive. Want to know what it feels like to drop your child off at school and know their lives will be enriched that day? This and much more await those who seek excellence!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We made the switch from public to private school and are thrilled to be at Castle Hills! The teachers and administrators really care about the children''s hearts and our daughter is thriving there. We are so thankful to be a part of such an awesome team!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Castle Hills First Baptist School is an awesome school. Every since I met the faculty and admininistration, both me and my family have been showered with love. My children have been attending for two years now and they are loving it. As a parent, I highly recommend this school to anyone who cares about their childrens educational and spiritual future as well. GREAT JOB CASTLE HILLS! Keep up the God work! And congratualtions Texas State Champs!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We have an amazing fine arts program at Castle Hills. The secondary choir students just finished their first performance of the Madrigal Dinner and it was fantastic. The singing was beautiful, the acting of the skit was hilarious, the meal was wonderful. The audience greatly enjoyed the students walking around the room in costume and greeting as well as the interaction during the skit. Earlier in the week the entire student body honored our Veterans with a moving Veterans'' Day program. If your student is looking for an excellent school for fine arts, Castle Hills is the place. Art, Drama, Choir, and Band are excellent and students will be encouraged in so many ways. Congratulations Castle Hills!
- Posted by Parent, 11/20/14
Excellent academic program, teachers and state of the art facilities. Award winning fine arts programs and great athletics. An absolutely amazing school with great families.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
Great school. This is our third year at CHFBS with kids in 8th and 10th grade. The superintendant is an inspiring, energetic, godly man who loves the kids and has high expectations for the teachers. The teachers are high quality, christian men and women who desire success for the students. Lots of extracurricular acitivities available too. Sports, drama, robotics, choir, band, and many more!
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
Castle Hills First Baptist School is a great place to go to school for Christian Education. As an Alumni, and now current employee growing up here for 18 years of my life was such a blessing. The teachers, curriculum, and the amazing facilities are just some of the great things about this school. I am blessed to be back where I went to school!
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 01/31/13
Excellent teachers & staff who are very encouraging and want your child to succeed! I can''t say enough good things about them in this little space! Leadership academy is an awesome bonus!!! Choir has been #'' 1 in state multiple years---sports are fantastic--fine arts fabulous--mission trips are beyond awesome, lots of sports & activities to choose from! Superintendant is very involved and loved by all! Highly recommend if you want your child in a nurturing, Christian school that teaches leadership and Christian values!
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
We have been at CHFBS for over four years, being first-hand recipients of their incredible focus on building firm, personal relationships with Christ and above-average academic foundations. The teachers are experts in their fields and impart a love of learning and exploring, even in courses my child doesn''t think she should like! We love CHFBS and are so excited about our partnership with them in the education and development of our child.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
November 24, 2015
Many parents search for an answer to the question "How do I provide the kind of religious education I want for my child?" Religious education is a very personal, subjective matter. We explore some of your options.
November 19, 2015
Myths, urban legends and just plain misinformation abound concerning private schools. We shed some light on the facts you may not have known.
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in San Antonio, TX is $5,544 for elementary schools and $7,264 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in San Antonio, TX is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).