Castle Hills First Baptist School

2220 NW Military Hwy,
San Antonio, TX, 78213-0782
     Tel: (210)377-8485
Grades: NS - 12 | 367 students
At Castle Hills our pledge is to give every student the edge for success.
We offer an academically rigorous curriculum and are focused on both spiritual and leadership success in life.
Our mission is to lead students, in partnership with parents, to know Christ and make Christ known. Our Academy of Excellence and Leadership Development is a school within a school offering students the opportunity to learn leadership concepts and put them into practice as well as learning how to be a servant leader.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious Affiliation Baptist
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Slight learning differences
Year Founded 1981

Student Body

Total Students 367 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 10%
State avg.: 36%
Students by Grade Castle Hills First Baptist School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 37 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 13:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 20%
Average Class Size 21 students
Number of AP Courses 5 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses American History, Calculus, English 11, English 12, Spanish  
Average SAT score 1510
Average ACT score 21
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Uniforms purchased at Parker Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Varies depending on grade
% on Financial Aid 22%
Admissions Director Susan Covarrubia

Sports

Total Sports Offered 9 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryFootball,
GolfSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art, Band, Choir, Drama Club, First Lego League Robotics, National Honor Society, National Honor Society, Theatre, Yearbook Art, Band, Choir, Drama Club, Theatre, Yearbook, First Lego League Robotics,
National Honor Society,
National Honor Society,

School Notes:

  • STRONG COLLEGE PREPARATORY ACADEMICS taught by an excellent faculty degreed and certified in their individual field of study
  • 80% of our graduates in 2014 received scholarships to college or university
  • Full Athletic Program - 2014 2A Football State Champions
  • Excellence in the Arts - 2014 1A State Champions in Choir and Band
  • Caring and loving faculty dedicated to teaching children to be servant leaders for Jesus Christ
  • Early Childhood, Pre Kindergarten, Kindergarten and Elementary Programs provide the academic and spiritual foundation for success
  • Spanish, Computer Technology, Art, Music, daily P.E. and Recess, Hot Lunch Program Available
  • Affordable Tuition for Preschool, Kindergarten thru the 12th Grade
  • State of the Art Facilities, Technology & Sports Complex

Profile last updated: 10/15/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Cornerstone Christian Schools (1.2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. George Episcopal School (0.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St. George Episcopal School (0.4 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • San AntonioSt. George Episcopal School
      (Episcopal)
    6900 West Avenue
    San AntonioTX78213
    (210)342-4263
      (Episcopal)
    0.4 mi | 493 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • San AntonioMontessori Schoolhouse
    Montessori School
    10711 Dreamland
    San AntonioTX78230
    (210)341-0731
    Montessori School
    0.8 mi | n/a students | Gr. PK                      
  • San AntonioPatricia KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    1127 Patricia Drive
    San AntonioTX78213
    (210)342-1218
    Daycare / Preschool
    1 mi | n/a students | Gr. NS-PK                      
  • San AntonioColonial Hills United Methodist School
    Daycare / Preschool  (Methodist)
    5247 Vance Jackson Rd
    San AntonioTX78230
    (210)349-1092
    Daycare / Preschool  (Methodist)
    1 mi | 19 students | Gr. NS-K                      
  • San AntonioHoly Spirit Catholic School
      (Roman Catholic)
    770 W Ramsey Road
    San AntonioTX78216
    (210)349-1169
      (Roman Catholic)
    1.2 mi | 463 students | Gr. PK-8                      

School Reviews

Recommended
6 days ago
We have an amazing fine arts program at Castle Hills. The secondary choir students just finished their first performance of the Madrigal Dinner and it was fantastic. The singing was beautiful, the acting of the skit was hilarious, the meal was wonderful. The audience greatly enjoyed the students walking around the room in costume and greeting as well as the interaction during the skit. Earlier in the week the entire student body honored our Veterans with a moving Veterans'' Day program. If your student is looking for an excellent school for fine arts, Castle Hills is the place. Art, Drama, Choir, and Band are excellent and students will be encouraged in so many ways. Congratulations Castle Hills!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
10 months ago
Castle Hills First Baptist School is an awesome school. Every since I met the faculty and admininistration, both me and my family have been showered with love. My children have been attending for two years now and they are loving it. As a parent, I highly recommend this school to anyone who cares about their childrens educational and spiritual future as well. GREAT JOB CASTLE HILLS! Keep up the God work! And congratualtions Texas State Champs!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
10 months ago
This school is a beacon to those that want to provide their children with a superior college prep education with the security of a safe. nurturing, respectful environment. Lifelong friendships are forged among parents and students. The Educators. Counselors, Administration are incredible. The curriculum preparatory, challenging yet supportive. Want to know what it feels like to drop your child off at school and know their lives will be enriched that day? This and much more await those who seek excellence!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
10 months ago
We made the switch from public to private school and are thrilled to be at Castle Hills! The teachers and administrators really care about the children''s hearts and our daughter is thriving there. We are so thankful to be a part of such an awesome team!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
11 months ago
Best all around school in San Antonio. Knowledgeable faculty that cares, strong academics with AP options, college prep and guidance services, great choir, band, and drama as well as a full option of athletics. Congratulations to the Varsity football team on winning the TAPPS Division II State Championship.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
11 months ago
Excellent school to prepare students for college and life. We have been so pleased with the parental involvement throughout the grades as well as the open door policy of the administation and faculty. A real family feel which has helped our children thrive.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
11 months ago
I cannot say enough about the quality of education at CHFBS. There is a culture of academic excellence at this school which is grounded in a Christ-centered atmosphere. It can be felt from your first encounter with the administration, faculty, and/or students. My children have been enriched by their time here and will never attend any other school. CHFBS is the best! ''We are because HE is''
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
I have been at CHFBS since I was 18 months old. I am in the 9th grade and I love my school. I am challenged academically, I participate in Student Council, Drama Club, Choir, and shows. It is my second family.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
1 year ago
Excellent academic program, teachers and state of the art facilities. Award winning fine arts programs and great athletics. An absolutely amazing school with great families.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Great school. This is our third year at CHFBS with kids in 8th and 10th grade. The superintendant is an inspiring, energetic, godly man who loves the kids and has high expectations for the teachers. The teachers are high quality, christian men and women who desire success for the students. Lots of extracurricular acitivities available too. Sports, drama, robotics, choir, band, and many more!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Castle Hills First Baptist School is a great place to go to school for Christian Education. As an Alumni, and now current employee growing up here for 18 years of my life was such a blessing. The teachers, curriculum, and the amazing facilities are just some of the great things about this school. I am blessed to be back where I went to school!
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
1 year ago
Excellent teachers & staff who are very encouraging and want your child to succeed! I can''t say enough good things about them in this little space! Leadership academy is an awesome bonus!!! Choir has been #'' 1 in state multiple years---sports are fantastic--fine arts fabulous--mission trips are beyond awesome, lots of sports & activities to choose from! Superintendant is very involved and loved by all! Highly recommend if you want your child in a nurturing, Christian school that teaches leadership and Christian values!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
We have been at CHFBS for over four years, being first-hand recipients of their incredible focus on building firm, personal relationships with Christ and above-average academic foundations. The teachers are experts in their fields and impart a love of learning and exploring, even in courses my child doesn''t think she should like! We love CHFBS and are so excited about our partnership with them in the education and development of our child.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Homeschool or Private School?
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Religious Schools: An Overview
Your religion matters to you. You want your child to attend a school which will combine academics and religious education. Here is an overview of what is available together with some links to denominational web sites.
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in San Antonio, TX is $5,815 for elementary schools and $6,936 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in San Antonio, TX is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos