New Vistas School

520 Eldon St,
Lynchburg, VA, 24501-0245
Tel: (434)846-0301
Grades: K - 12 | 39 students
The mission of New Vistas School is to provide an individualized instructional program for students, kindergarten through grade twelve, with learning and attention differences, as well as the associated emotional difficulties that often accompany these challenges.  New Vistas is independent and non-sectarian, organized as a non-profit institution open to students of all races, creeds, ethnic, and socio-economic backgrounds.  New Vistas School is licensed by the Virginia Department of Education and is an accredited member of the Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS) and a member of The International Dyslexia Association (IDA).

School Overview

School Type Special Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported ADD, ADHD, Dyslexia, Asperger
Year Founded 1986

Student Body

Total Students 39 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 10%
State avg.: 24%
Students by Grade New Vistas School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 13 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 3:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Casual
Admission Deadline None / Rolling

School Notes:

    Profile last updated: 11/29/2012

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Holy Cross Regional Catholic School (1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Holy Cross Regional Catholic School (1 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Holy Cross Regional Catholic School (1 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Lynchburg Holy Cross Regional Catholic School
    (Roman Catholic)
    2125 Langhorne Road
    Lynchburg , VA , 24501
    (434)847-5436
    (Roman Catholic)
    1  mi  |  215  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Lynchburg
    New Covenant Schools
    Special Program Emphasis (Episcopal)
    122 Fleetwood Dr
    Lynchburg , VA , 24501
    (434)847-8313
    Special Program Emphasis (Episcopal)
    2  mi  |  352  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Lynchburg
    Rivermont School
    Special Education School
    3024 Forest Hills Cir
    Lynchburg , VA , 24501
    (434)947-4697
    Special Education School
    2.2  mi  |  50  students  |  Gr.  KG-12
  • Lynchburg
    Liberty Christian Academy
    (Baptist)
    100 Mountain View Rd
    Lynchburg , VA , 24502
    (434)832-2000
    (Baptist)
    2.7  mi  |  1998  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Lynchburg
    Blue Ridge Montessori School
    Montessori School
    1071 Woodberry Square Pl
    Lynchburg , VA , 24502
    (434)525-0061
    Montessori School
    3.7  mi  |  4  students  |  Gr.  PK-KG

School Reviews

  • Recommended January 08, 2013 - My daughter, Siri, is a tenth grader at New Vistas and has been there since fourth grade. I would simply say that New Vistas saved her life. The public school from which she transferred had fine, dedicated and loving teachers but, through no fault of their own, could not provide the setting Siri needed in which to function effectively. New Vistas is that place. Every teacher and administrator is deeply committed to each student, and bring out the best in them. More accurately, they enable each child to bring out the gifts in themselves. My daughter''s strengths are abundantly recognized, and her weaknesses are addressed with both compassion and rigor in small classes by sensitive teachers with high expectations. New Vistas has improved the quality of life for our whole family immeasurably. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - Even as a part-time, contracted teacher, I feel so welcome and included in the spirit and activities of New Vistas. I can only imagine the comfort and confidence the students and parents involved with NVS feel after they have found themselves in need of specialized solutions to their education. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - As a "Founding Mother" of New Vistas School, I am pleased to say, that what this school has become on all levels , has exceeded all of my original expectations. New Vistas is a treasure in our community. Libby Jarrett - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - Our granddaughters tears are disappearing. Our granddaughter was rapidly becoming a statistic, she was unable to function in the normal school environment. Her tears were flowing, she was not able to participate in normal classroom activities, she was not learning, she did not want to go to school, she simply was not moving forward. She has attended the New Vistas School for one (1) year, there are very few tears, she is actually doing homework with just a little prodding, she is learning, she actually thinks school is OK, she is moving forward. She now has a future. There is what almost seems to be educational magic going on inside the New Vistas School. Our tears are also going away. Very happy Grandparents - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - I have taught at New Vistas School for almost ten years, and continue to enjoy working with our wonderful students! It is gratifying to see them respond to our instructional techniques and transform from struggling/discouraged students into confident young men and women who have a positive attitude about learning. - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - New Vistas School is a true treasure in Lynchburg, VA! So many young people have found their place in life because of this school. The testimonies of the parents and students speak for the school. The staff is amazing ! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - Without a doubt, New Vistas School has changed our lives!! Our son loves going to school this year! The teachers and staff are amazing! It''s so exciting to pick our son up from school each day and hear about what he''s learning and see how far he has come in just just three months! Thank you New Vistas for making such a positive impact in our lives!. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - My daughter has been attending NVS for 2 years now & all I can say is THANK YOU! Academically she is improving and now loves school. We love her teachers and the small group approach to learning. While she was in public school she continued to get lost & left behind both socially & academically - well not with NVS! I have seen her confidence grow in both areas. I am so thankful that we found NVS and I look forward to my daughter attending as long as she is able. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - New Vistas has transformed our two kids from frustrated to successful--one graduated and is attending local community college and the other will graduate this year. We couldn''t have done it without New Vistas focus on the student. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - The faculty at New Vistas is the best that there is. Each and every teacher loves and cares for all of the students. My grandson is now in his 7th year there and he will be the first to tell you of all of the positive sides of New Vistas. The one on one attention is the best he says! This school has changed him from hating school to loving school! Thank you New Vistas! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - My son Cort is a senior at New Vistas and has been there since the 2cd grade. I have watched Cort evolve from a shy insecure boy to a grown self-confident young man. He is a straight A student and currently taking 2 classes at night at CVCC. New Vistas has brought out the best in Cort. He is mature, disciplined, humorous, trustworthy and the very best child any parent could ever ask for. I simply don''t know where Cort would be today without New Vistas. If you too have a special child please do not hesitate to give New Vistas a chance........it will change your child''s life and at the same time change yours!! Ford Mays - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
 Why Did You Select That School?
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Getting Involved With Your Child's School
Getting involved with your child's school benefits both you and the school. It's a win-win for all concerned.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!