Minnehaha Academy

3100 West River Parkway
Minneapolis, MN 55406
Tel: (612)728-7722
Grades: PK-12 | 895 students
We are a PreK through grade 12 private school with a mission to provide high quality education integrating Christian faith and learning.
Through innovative curriculum and engaging co-curricular activities, your child will grow as his or her potential is cultivated in a caring, nurturing environment guided by Christian role models. 
  • National Latin Exam - 05/27/2015 - On March 4, Upper School Latin students joined more than 153,000 students from around the world in taking the National Latin Exam. The following students have earned awards for their outstanding performances. Well done!
  • Middle School BLAST Day - 05/27/2015 - Middle School BLAST Day:  Bodies, Brains, & Buddies Learning About Startling Topics was recently held all around town
  • Games Around the World - 05/27/2015 - Mosaic’s Games Around the World was another great event to wrap up the school year!

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1913

Student Body

Total Students 895 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 19%
Students by Grade Minnehaha Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Average Class Size 18 students
Number of AP Courses 18 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Calculus 1 & 2, AP Chemistry, AP Chinese, AP Computer Science, AP English 11 & 12, AP European History, AP Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, AP Physics C, AP Spanish, AP Statistics, AP Studio Art, AP U.S. Government & Politics, AP U.S. History, AP World History,
Average SAT score 1822
Average ACT score 27
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $18,896
Tuition Notes Tuition varies for $11,135 for Kindergarten to $18,895 for Upper School . We have two campuses. Our Lower School serves students in Preschool through Grade 8 and our Upper School serves students in grades 9 - 12. We offer bus service throughout the Twin
% on Financial Aid
Admissions Director Michelle Ulland
Admissions Associate Rachel Moen


Total Sports Offered 16 sports
Sports Alpine Skiing, Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Nordic Skiing, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, WrestlingAlpine SkiingBaseball,
BasketballCross Country,
Ice HockeyLacrosse,
Nordic SkiingSoccer,
TennisTrack and Field,


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 17 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Amnesty International, Art Club, Debate Team, Diversity Club, French Club, Friends of the Library, Intramuerals, Jazz Ensemble, Journalism, Madrigal Singers, Math Team, Prayer Warriors, Spanish Club, Student Interns, Table Tennis, Tech Crew, Writer's Club Art Club, Debate Team, Diversity Club, French Club, Intramuerals, Jazz Ensemble, Journalism, Math Team, Spanish Club, Table Tennis, Tech Crew, Writer's Club, Amnesty International,
Friends of the Library,
Madrigal Singers,
Prayer Warriors,
Student Interns,

School Notes:

  • Minnehaha Academy's mission is to provide high quality education integrating Christian faith and learning. We believe that as students mature in the Christian faith, they grow in their ability to rightly apply knowledge. At Minnehaha we invest in the lives of our students by promoting excellence and challenging them to put God at the center of their lives, and to accept the responsibility of serving others. At every age, they interact with gifted, caring teachers who mentor, as well as teach. We think a Christian school should offer the highest level of academic challenge. One tangible way of measuring the rigor of our curriculum is by high scores of our students' ACT, SAT, and Advanced Placement exams.

Profile last updated: 09/24/2015

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is St Paul Academy - Summit (1.9 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St Marks School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Marks School (0.9 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Saint Paul
    St Marks School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 334 students
    0.9 miles
    1983 Dayton Ave
    Saint Paul, MN 55104
  • Saint Paul
    Jean Lyle's Childrens Center
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: PK-K | 87 students
    1.1 miles
    130 Howell St N
    Saint Paul, MN 55104
  • Minneapolis
    Grades: PK-8
    1.3 miles
    4200 W River Pkwy
    Minneapolis, MN 55406
  • Saint Paul
    Grades: KG-8 | 788 students
    1.4 miles
    1900 Stanford Ave
    Saint Paul, MN 55105
  • Saint Paul
    Sunny Hollow Montessori
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-6 | 109 students
    1.5 miles
    636 Mississippi River Blvd S Ste 1
    Saint Paul, MN 55116

School Reviews

As someone who attended Minnehaha Academy for 14 years, I can say that it truly is a place that is founded upon excellent academics, caring community, and staff/teachers that genuinely care very deeply for each student. They look so holistically at each individual, and constantly strive to develop each student to their maximum potential. This includes giving each student the ability to ask questions and walk their own faith journey, no matter what that looks like. I am grateful for the experience I had at Minnehaha Academy and know that my life would not be the same without it. It prepared me to be successful in college, and now as I pursue my Masters Degree, I am still using the tools that I developed while attending Minnehaha Academy. If you want a place for your child to truly belong, this is it.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 10/20/15
In looking at many schools, public and private, including Blake, Breck, SPA and more the thing that made the decision for me is seeing the faces of the kids. At Minnehaha Academy I saw smiles, real ones. While I was already convinced of the quality of academics, seeing happy kids made all the difference.
- Posted by Parent, 08/18/15
Last year our son was enrolled for his first year (Pre-K4) at Minnehaha. I expected him to learn a lot, but I did not appreciate in advance how loving and nurturing his teachers and the school would be for him. His classroom was a safe place that he looked forward to each day and never once during the year was he late. He always looked forward to going and can't wait to return again this fall. It was the right place at the right time for him to start his life at Minnehaha Academy. He needed strong teachers that would love him and they did more than I could have ever expected. I am pleased to say that not only is my oldest enrolling in kindergarten this fall, but so is his three year old brother. I am grateful beyond words for the school, their teachers, classmates and parents who have been so warm and welcoming to me and my two boys.
- Posted by Parent, 08/01/15
Minnehaha Academy is an excellent environment for any student to excel...it has challenging academics taught by teachers who LOVE to teach and want to see students learn the subjects and do well. Students can participate in just about anything - clubs, sports, arts - there are many opportunities to be involved and take on leadership roles. Because it''s a smaller school, students don''t have to ''specialize'' and can be an athlete AND an artist and try new activities and interests throughout their school years. We are thrilled with the positive impact Minnehaha Academy has had on our three children. They have grown academically, spiritually and become solid young adults.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Awesome school that is worth every penny! I''d recommend Minnehaha to anyone for the great community, arts, athletics, and academics! Most of my lifelong friends are from Minnehaha and I learned many valuable life skills!
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 07/24/15
I had an amazing experience for all of my 10 years at Minnehaha. While I graduated a few years ago, I still see my best friends. Minnehaha gave me life-long friends that most people do not find until they go to college. While a student at Minnehaha I knew that every teacher cared about me and wanted me to succeed. I never once felt judged or unwelcome from any staff member or teacher. Minnehaha prepared me for college. While others were struggling to write their first research paper, I had already completed one my senior year at Minnehaha. While others were trying to pass calculus at a college level, I had passed out of Calc 2. I was able to do these things because of Minnehaha. I truly believe that Minnehaha has made me the person I am, and I would never trade my Minnehaha experience for anything.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 04/05/13
Minnehaha Academy is outstanding in every way - the academic rigor is top notch, the facilities and campus are beautiful, the integration of faith and learning teaches to the whole child - mind, body, and soul. The teachers are excellent and are masters in their subject areas. We''ve done our research, and in our opinion, there isn''t a finer, more well-rounded private school in the Twin Cities. We feel so blessed that our children are able to get an education at such an outstanding school.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
My child has been at the school four years. It has been a wonderful experience. Every teacher is unique and brings a love of learning, a love of reading. The teacher student ratios are just right, and the kids are incredibly well behaved.
- Posted by Parent, 01/19/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
November 24, 2015
Many parents search for an answer to the question "How do I provide the kind of religious education I want for my child?" Religious education is a very personal, subjective matter. We explore some of your options.
November 19, 2015
Myths, urban legends and just plain misinformation abound concerning private schools. We shed some light on the facts you may not have known.
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Minneapolis, MN is $5,331 for elementary schools and $11,827 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Minneapolis, MN is 92% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos