Minnehaha Academy

3100 West River Parkway
Minneapolis, MN 55406
Tel: (612)728-7722
Grades: PK - 12 | 895 students
previous
In 1913, Minnehaha Academy was founded to educate young men and women and develop their character under Christian teachers.

More than one hundred years later, our commitment remains the same, although the depth and breadth of programs and services has expanded. We now teach and shape students from pre-K through 12th grade on two campuses, through robust college-preparatory curriculum, excellent
next
In 1913, Minnehaha Academy was founded to educate young men and women and develop their character under Christian teachers.

More than one hundred years later, our commitment remains the same, although the depth and breadth of programs and services has expanded. We now teach and shape students from pre-K through 12th grade on two campuses, through robust college-preparatory curriculum, excellent
Students and their families continually tell us how much they appreciate the supportive community environment that Minnehaha Academy provides.
Lower school students aren't just passive technology consumers. They learn how to code and create with the latest educational tech tools.            

In the Lower School, we are committed to the development of the whole child ?? academically, emotionally, physically, socially and spiritually.
Students are ready for the future with rigorous academic coursework that prepares them for a bright future.
Students prepare an experiment to send up to the International Space Station. Our state-of-the-art STEM lab is ready for budding scientists.
The Upper School provides many opportunities for students to think for themselves, to explore their interests, and to pursue their talents. Our teachers, in collaboration with colleagues and administrators, are free to create and shape their curricula in order to enrich their students?' learning experience. Students are encouraged to take initiative, express creativity and challenge themselves in many different activities
Students learn in and out of the classroom at Minnehaha Academy.
At Minnehaha, you can always find a place to belong. Virtually 100% of Minnehaha Academy students participate in at least one sport, the fine arts, or extracurricular activity. 

Minnehaha gives everyone a chance to participate in athletics. We offer varsity, junior varsity, and Middle School interscholastic teams. Along with excellent coaching, opportunities for leadership and developing close friendships, our sports
Athletics are an integral part of a well-rounded education at Minnehaha. Like every activity and program, we promote athletics within an environment of building Christian character. Minnehaha gives everyone a chance to participate. We offer varsity, junior varsity, and Middle School interscholastic teams. Along with excellent coaching, opportunities for leadership and developing close friendships, our sports program provides excellent facilities
We are a PreK through grade 12 private school with a mission to provide high quality education integrating Christian faith and learning.
Through innovative curriculum and engaging co-curricular activities, your child will grow as his or her potential is cultivated in a caring, nurturing environment guided by Christian role models. 

Upcoming Events and News:

  • National Latin Exam - 05/27/2015 - On March 4, Upper School Latin students joined more than 153,000 students from around the world in taking the National Latin Exam. The following students have earned awards for their outstanding performances. Well done!
  • Middle School BLAST Day - 05/27/2015 - Middle School BLAST Day:  Bodies, Brains, & Buddies Learning About Startling Topics was recently held all around town
  • Games Around the World - 05/27/2015 - Mosaic’s Games Around the World was another great event to wrap up the school year!

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Year Founded 1913

Student Body

Total Students 895 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 24%
State avg.: 19%
Students by Grade Minnehaha Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 87%
Average Class Size 18 students
Number of AP Courses 18 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Calculus 1 & 2, AP Chemistry, AP Chinese, AP Computer Science, AP English 11 & 12, AP European History, AP Macroeconomics, AP Microeconomics, AP Physics C, AP Spanish, AP Statistics, AP Studio Art, AP U.S. Government & Politics, AP U.S. History, AP World History,
Average SAT score 1822
Average ACT score 26
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $18,896
Tuition Notes Tuition varies for $11,135 for Kindergarten to $18,895 for Upper School . We have two campuses. Our Lower School serves students in Preschool through Grade 8 and our Upper School serves students in grades 9 - 12. We offer bus service throughout the Twin
% on Financial Aid 30%
Admissions Director Michelle Ulland
Admissions Associate Alyssa Amborn

Sports

Total Sports Offered 16 sports
Sports Alpine Skiing, Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Nordic Skiing, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, WrestlingAlpine SkiingBaseball,
BasketballCross Country,
FootballGolf,
Ice HockeyLacrosse,
Nordic SkiingSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
VolleyballWrestling,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 17 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Amnesty International, Art Club, Debate Team, Diversity Club, French Club, Friends of the Library, Intramuerals, Jazz Ensemble, Journalism, Madrigal Singers, Math Team, Prayer Warriors, Spanish Club, Student Interns, Table Tennis, Tech Crew, Writer's Club Art Club, Debate Team, Diversity Club, French Club, Intramuerals, Jazz Ensemble, Journalism, Math Team, Spanish Club, Table Tennis, Tech Crew, Writer's Club, Amnesty International,
Friends of the Library,
Madrigal Singers,
Prayer Warriors,
Student Interns,

School Notes:

Minnehaha Academy's mission is to provide high quality education integrating Christian faith and learning. We believe that as students mature in the Christian faith, they grow in their ability to rightly apply knowledge. At Minnehaha we invest in the lives of our students by promoting excellence and challenging them to put God at the center of their lives, and to accept the responsibility of serving others. At every age, they interact with gifted, caring teachers who mentor, as well as teach. We think a Christian school should offer the highest level of academic challenge. One tangible way of measuring the rigor of our curriculum is by high scores of our students' ACT, SAT, and Advanced Placement exams.

Profile last updated: 07/28/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is St Paul Academy - Summit (1.9 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St Marks School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Marks School (0.9 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Saint Paul
    St Marks School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 334 students
    0.9 miles
    1983 Dayton Ave
    Saint Paul, MN 55104
    (651)644-3380
    0.9PK-8
    334
  • Saint Paul
    Jean Lyle's Childrens Center
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: PK-K | 87 students
    1.1 miles
    130 Howell St N
    Saint Paul, MN 55104
    (651)646-9603
    1.1PK-K
    87
  • Minneapolis
    Grades: PK-8
    1.3 miles
    4200 W River Pkwy
    Minneapolis, MN 55406
    (612)729-8321
    1.3PK-8
    n/a
  • Saint Paul
    Grades: KG-8 | 788 students
    1.4 miles
    1900 Stanford Ave
    Saint Paul, MN 55105
    (651)699-1311
    1.4KG-8
    788
  • Saint Paul
    Sunny Hollow Montessori
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-6 | 109 students
    1.5 miles
    636 Mississippi River Blvd S Ste 1
    Saint Paul, MN 55116
    (651)690-2907
    1.5PK-6
    109

School Reviews

In looking at many schools, public and private, including Blake, Breck, SPA and more the thing that made the decision for me is seeing the faces of the kids. At Minnehaha Academy I saw smiles, real ones. While I was already convinced of the quality of academics, seeing happy kids made all the difference.
- Posted by Parent, 08/18/15
Last year our son was enrolled for his first year (Pre-K4) at Minnehaha. I expected him to learn a lot, but I did not appreciate in advance how loving and nurturing his teachers and the school would be for him. His classroom was a safe place that he looked forward to each day and never once during the year was he late. He always looked forward to going and can't wait to return again this fall. It was the right place at the right time for him to start his life at Minnehaha Academy. He needed strong teachers that would love him and they did more than I could have ever expected. I am pleased to say that not only is my oldest enrolling in kindergarten this fall, but so is his three year old brother. I am grateful beyond words for the school, their teachers, classmates and parents who have been so warm and welcoming to me and my two boys.
- Posted by Parent, 08/01/15
Minnehaha Academy is an excellent environment for any student to excel...it has challenging academics taught by teachers who LOVE to teach and want to see students learn the subjects and do well. Students can participate in just about anything - clubs, sports, arts - there are many opportunities to be involved and take on leadership roles. Because it''s a smaller school, students don''t have to ''specialize'' and can be an athlete AND an artist and try new activities and interests throughout their school years. We are thrilled with the positive impact Minnehaha Academy has had on our three children. They have grown academically, spiritually and become solid young adults.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Awesome school that is worth every penny! I''d recommend Minnehaha to anyone for the great community, arts, athletics, and academics! Most of my lifelong friends are from Minnehaha and I learned many valuable life skills!
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 07/24/15
I had an amazing experience for all of my 10 years at Minnehaha. While I graduated a few years ago, I still see my best friends. Minnehaha gave me life-long friends that most people do not find until they go to college. While a student at Minnehaha I knew that every teacher cared about me and wanted me to succeed. I never once felt judged or unwelcome from any staff member or teacher. Minnehaha prepared me for college. While others were struggling to write their first research paper, I had already completed one my senior year at Minnehaha. While others were trying to pass calculus at a college level, I had passed out of Calc 2. I was able to do these things because of Minnehaha. I truly believe that Minnehaha has made me the person I am, and I would never trade my Minnehaha experience for anything.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 04/05/13
Minnehaha Academy is outstanding in every way - the academic rigor is top notch, the facilities and campus are beautiful, the integration of faith and learning teaches to the whole child - mind, body, and soul. The teachers are excellent and are masters in their subject areas. We''ve done our research, and in our opinion, there isn''t a finer, more well-rounded private school in the Twin Cities. We feel so blessed that our children are able to get an education at such an outstanding school.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
My child has been at the school four years. It has been a wonderful experience. Every teacher is unique and brings a love of learning, a love of reading. The teacher student ratios are just right, and the kids are incredibly well behaved.
- Posted by Parent, 01/19/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Minneapolis, MN is $5,331 for elementary schools and $11,843 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Minneapolis, MN is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos