St. Theresa Catholic Elementary School

4850 Clarewood Dr
Oakland, CA 94618-0946
Tel: (510)547-3146
Grades: K - 8 | 283 students
St Theresa Elementary School, by means of a strong academic curriculum, rooted in Catholic beliefs and values, the faculty, staff, and parish community work cooperatively to educate the whole child: spirit, mind, body; and promote community service as a way to live out Jesus' message of care and compassion develop confident, responsible Christians.
We offer a strong, dynamic curriculum which stresses the integration of faith and life, academic excellence, and thinking skills.
Our dedicated faculty and staff give time, energy, and devotion to educating and empowering students so that they will become self-directed, self-managing, lifelong learners who are prepared for the many challenges of today's world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Western States Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 8
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Full-Time Resource Specialist
Year Founded 1958

Student Body

Total Students 283 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 8%
State avg.: 45%
Students by Grade St. Theresa Catholic Elementary School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 19 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 15:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 31 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 1
Yearly Tuition Cost $7,100
Tuition Notes increased tuition for non-Catholic students
% on Financial Aid 7%
Admissions Director Karen Raven

Sports

Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 2 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Yearbook, Student Council Yearbook, Student Council,

School Notes:

St Theresa Elementary School is a private Catholic elementary school nestled in the Oakland Hills. We offer Art, Music, P.E. and Spanish in all classes. All grades are responsible for community service and our Middle School students have a required number of hours in our Service Learning component of the religion class. Faith families are comprised of students from each grade, joining together to form a "family". This allows for students to get to know others from different grades. This program is especially enjoyed by the students. Sports within the CYO league are offered beginning in kindergarten (cross-country), basketball beginning in 3rd and volleyball in 4th grade. Our gym is state of the art and is used by the students throughout the day. Students in Middle School have the opportunity to participate in Student Council and  Yearbook.

Profile last updated: 09/03/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Holy Names High School (0.2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Aurora School (0.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Rockridge Montessori School (0.9 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Oakland
    Holy Names High School
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 278 students
    0.2 miles
    4660 Harbord Drive
    Oakland, CA 94618
    (510)450-1110
    0.29-12
    278
  • Oakland
    Grades: K-5 | 109 students
    0.2 miles
    40 Dulwich Rd
    Oakland, CA 94618
    (510)428-2606
    0.2K-5
    109
  • Oakland
    Grades: PK-K | 78 students
    0.9 miles
    5610 Broadway
    Oakland, CA 94618
    (510)652-7021
    0.9PK-K
    78
  • Oakland
    Grades: 9-12 | 363 students
    1 miles
    6100 Broadway
    Oakland, CA 94618
    (510)652-4364
    19-12
    363
  • Oakland
    Grades: K-12 | 643 students
    1.1 miles
    1 Hiller Dr
    Oakland, CA 94618
    (510)843-2512
    1.1K-12
    643

School Reviews

Our family feels extremely fortunate to be able to send our children to St. Theresa School. St T''s is an outstanding academic school with a warm nurturing environment. St. T''s lives up to it''s motto of "Educating the whole child: mind, body, spirit" everyday. All students participate in band/music classes, learn in a state of the art computer lab and participate in sports and P.E. in a gym/event center that is unequaled anywhere in the East Bay. We love St. T''s!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I have an 9th grader who was educated at St. Theresa''s K-8. Like most parents, I worried about how his 9-year St. T education might stack up against other schools ?? public or private. My son now attends Bishop O?''Dowd High School, and not only did he test into all honors-level classes, he also received one of the 30 Presidential Scholarships. I wasn?''t sure how unusual this was until I talked to some parents from other private schools who were shocked at their children?''s lack of readiness based on the same placement testing ?? and, some of these kids are at very expensive private schools. Additionally, at a the ??getting ready?" orientation, O?''Dowd?''s President cited St. T as one of the schools that ??does a really great job?" at getting kids ready for high school. And finally, the outgoing student body President at O?''Dowd is a St. T graduate who is now choosing between acceptances from Stanford and Harvard. While I certainly wouldn''t expect the average St. T graduate achieve at this level, these results are noteworthy ?? and impressive. We couldn''t be more pleased with how prepared our son was for high school armed with a St. Theresa''s education!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My wife is a graduate of St. Theresa and we have three children enrolled. We have been very pleased with all the teachers we have had over the years, and very pleased with the results. The teachers are committed to very high standards for academic achievement and also to a religious education. They strive to nurture the whole student -- mind, body and spirit -- and in my view and according to standardized test results, St. Theresa''s succeeds. I am very pleased that my children enjoy St. Theresa and they are proud to be a part of the school and the parish. I am very pleased with the friends they have made in their classes, in other grades and on their sports teams, and I enjoy all the parents we have met over the years through school and parish functions. The school parents demonstrate a commitment to the school and is academic and social mission through their volunteerism and spirit. Our children are exposed to music, science and sports opportunities that exceed my initial expectations and surpass my own experience. St. Theresa''s has become a very important part of our lives while we have lived in Oakland. I can''t imagine living in Oakland without St. Theresa''s, and we are often reminded that we made the right choice for our children and our family.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
St. Theresa is a wonderful school but more importantly a wonderful community. We have been there for 8 years and both my children love it. The smaller school atmosphere is very welcoming and the children know most of the kids in each grade. It also also close friendships with the parents. The teachers are enthusiastic and the campus is beautifryl with a new large Event Center (gym). We are very happy with our choice.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
Excellent school, caring teachers and administrators. The children are taught to respect one another. The curriculum is challenging. Students begin to learn a foreign language in Kindergarten. The computer lab offers the children an opportunity to learn computer skills and the new event center/gym enables them to keep fit. The required service learning, volunteerism, teaches the children the value of giving to society.
- Posted by Parent, 10/06/12
I am a very satisfied parent at St. Theresa School. My children are happy to go to school each morning. We are very happy with the teachers and aides and find the administration very easy to work with. Although music is offered in all grades, musical instruction is part of the curriculum starting in grade 4. My children would never have known how to read music if not taught in school. The gym is state of the art and where P.E. happens. Students participate in community service and belong to Faith Families. This is a program that pairs up children from each grade. This allows them to know other students from different classes. My kids love this! Although class sizes in some grades are larger than I would like, we have never experienced any issues with having too many. The teachers handle it just fine. Overall, we are very happy with the school and community.
- Posted by Parent, 09/08/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Oakland, CA is $15,447 for elementary schools and $18,170 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Oakland, CA is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).