West Valley Christian School

22450 Sherman Way,
West Hills, CA, 91307-0913
Tel: (818)884-4710

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1968

Student Body

Total Students 200 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 30%
State avg.: 41%
Students by Grade West Valley Christian School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 13 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 16:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 40%
Average Class Size 20 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(School polos required, Khaki/Navy pants, shorts, skirts.)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Check website for tuition rates!
% on Financial Aid 40%
Acceptance Rate 80%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Maggie Rojas

Sports

Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Flag Football, Softball, VolleyballBasketballFlag Football,
SoftballVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 2 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. 6th & 7th Grade Outdoor Education Experience, 8th Grade Washington,D.C. Educational Trip 6th & 7th Grade Outdoor Education Experience,
8th Grade Washington,D.C. Educational Trip,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Parkhill School (0.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Kadima Day School (0.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is The Beginning Montessori Child (0.6 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • West Hills Kadima Day School
    (Jewish)
    7011 Shoup Avenue
    West Hills , CA , 91307
    (818)346-0849
    (Jewish)
    0.2  mi  |  256  students  |  Gr.  NS-8
  • West Hills
    Parkhill School
    Special Education School
    7401 Shoup Ave
    West Hills , CA , 91307
    (818)883-3500
    Special Education School
    0.3  mi  |  50  students  |  Gr.  3-12
  • Canoga Park Our Lady Of The Valley School
    (Roman Catholic)
    22041 Gault St
    Canoga Park , CA , 91303
    (818)592-2894
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  173  students  |  Gr.  KG-8
  • West Hills Jewish Community Center At Milken
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Jewish)
    22622 Vanowen Street
    West Hills , CA , 91307
    (818)464-3280
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Jewish)
    0.5  mi  |  156  students  |  Gr.  NS-PK
  • West Hills
    The Beginning Montessori Child
    Montessori School
    7475 Fallbrook Ave
    West Hills , CA , 91307
    (818)992-5341
    Montessori School
    0.6  mi  |  24  students  |  Gr.  PK-KG

School Reviews

  • Recommended September 20, 2013 - The teachers, staff, and even the parents of students from West Valley Christian School-Elementary have made a profoundly positive and lasting impact on my family. Last year my son was in the hospital battling a rare circumstance and all throughout that painful process my family received constant support, encouragement, and prayer from WVCS staff, and even many of the parents, who unexpectedly volunteered to cook meals for my family to help lessen our stress load during that trying time. WVCS stood with my family as an emotional and spiritual rock until our toddler was finally released from the hospital and brought back home. My son''s recovery was a miracle and the love and support from WVCS was equally astounding and healing. We are truly blessed to be a part of the WVCS elementary family! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 13, 2013 - My children have attended West Valley since kindergarten one just graduated 8th grade and the other is in 7th grade. It has been a wonderful experience for them. The staff is very supportive and encouraging. This school has a perfect balance of academics and character development. Try it you won''t be disappointed. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 23, 2013 - Award winning educational assessment technology, strong emphasis on math and language arts, teachers who are balanced and trustworthy and an admistrtion that is always striving for excellence. We see our children respecting their teachers and never wanting to leave school... Great friendships! I would recommend checking out their You Tube videos... Preschool, safety, fun, graduations and messages from the administrator - all help me connect with my child''s life. You can afford their tuition if you are willing to show that you have financial need. Best school for balanced Christian education. Best event -the school play. Most promising program - sports school for Elite Basketball players. We are proud to be part of the school! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 14, 2013 - My son started attending the pre-school in January and he loves it. All the teachers are great, loving and encouraging. I love that my son is learning Bible verses and songs. Mrs. Kelly is absolutely the best! She helped us get acclimated to the school and offered such good advice. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 09, 2013 - I have had my children at West Valley Christian School since age 2 1/2. The preschool was AMAZING. The teachers and assistants were the most loving nurturing people. My kids came home singing a new song every day! The Elementary school is just as loving and wonderful. The Principal is friendly, inspiring and amazing in his motivation to provide a cutting edge school, while maintaining that small, intimate feel. I HIGHLY recommend this school! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 14, 2013 - We love WVCS! Our children are happy, eager to learn and thriving in the Lord''s word. We are so grateful to the loving teachers and stall that teach and care for our children! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - We Love WVCS. .. Our Son is going on his third year. He is currently in the Pre-K program. The teachers and the staff are so loving and caring. WVCS is more than just a school its a family. The children are academically challenged already learning how to spell in pre-k. Most important our son is learning about our Lord. They offer Extracurricular activities even for the preschool. Our little guy loves his soccer class. Its nice to see all the parents involved as well. The school is great about keeping the parents informed. When we moved to this area 3 years ago I prayed to find a good school for our son and we couldnt be more blessed. If you are looking for a loving and caring environment for your child to learn in then WVCS is the school. WE LOVE WVCS!!!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - Love WVC school. First year (K) at the school and my son is learning in all areas. Communication with the school is very good. Their heart for God is evident. In all ways I am so happy my son is attending this scool. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - West Valley has very dedicated teachers and staff. The teachers care and love each and every child as their own. The Lord works within this school and biblical knowledge is taught within the classrooms. The sports and academics are wonderful! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - I attended West Valley Christian School and with the awesome staff I excelled when I reached College. I am so glad to be an alumni because what the school invested in me deserves 100% of the credit in my success in the next stage of my life. This school is a great investment for the future not only for the academics but the foundation in Christ that teaches kids valuable life lessons that even I still use daily. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - Wow! I have never seen a school''s newsletter that showcases their school with videos, pictures and narrative text. As a parent I can not only read excellent articles from the admininstration but we can hear about the faculty, student and parent''s perspectives. West Valley Chrisitian School''s FACEBOOK is loaded with videos and pictures. But the best source to capture all the excitment is their weekly newsletter. If you want a balanced Christitian education where the faculty really care about reaching the heart of the student, without a harsh legalistic tone, come check out this school. The preschool is warm and nurturing, the elementary school is strong academically and the middle school has friendly happy spirit... a place where kids can flourish to be what God designed them to be. We are so grateful for a place that totally supports what we believe in our home. I hope our kids turn out to be like their teachers! My highest compliment! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 01, 2012 - My son went to West Valley Christian for 13 years -K thru 12th Thanks -in a major way - to the inspiration and leadership of Dr Lozano- He will graduating next week with an Engineering degree and personal character and values that are priceless. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of citizenship:
Student is:
Male   Female  
In grade:    For entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!