Shining Mountain Waldorf School

999 Violet Avenue,
Boulder, CO, 80304-0803
Tel: (303)444-7697
Grades: PK - 12 | 304 students
Shining Mountain Waldorf School is an accredited K-12 Waldorf School in Boulder Colorado.
Our unique location and complete Kindergarten through high school curriculum draws families from all over the country and the world to our doors.
To truly experience the wonder of our campus and teaching staff, you must visit.

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Year Founded 1983

Student Body

Total Students 304 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 7%
State avg.: 19%
Students by Grade Shining Mountain Waldorf School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 34 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 21 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Please contact school for dress code details.)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $13,950
Tuition Notes $6,300 - $16,450 plus fees
Acceptance Rate 98%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Erin Lawinski
Admissions Associate Jeff Herring

Sports

Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

School Notes:

    Profile last updated: 11/26/2012

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Tara Performing Arts High School (0.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Jarrow Montessori School (0.7 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Make A Mess And Make Believe (0.7 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Boulder Jarrow Montessori School
    Montessori School
    3900 Orange Ct
    Boulder , CO , 80304
    (303)443-0511
    Montessori School
    0.7  mi  |  163  students  |  Gr.  K-6
  • Boulder
    Tara Performing Arts High School
    Special Program Emphasis
    4180 19th St
    Boulder , CO , 80304
    (303)440-4510
    Special Program Emphasis
    0.7  mi  |  44  students  |  Gr.  9-12
  • Boulder
    Make A Mess And Make Believe
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1919 Yarmouth Ave
    Boulder , CO , 80304
    (303)443-8909
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    0.7  mi  |  45  students  |  Gr.  PK-K
  • Boulder
    Boulder Waldorf Kindergarten
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    4072 19th Street
    Boulder , CO , 80304
    (303)541-0671
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    0.7  mi  |  68  students  |  Gr.  NS-K
  • Golden Canyon Point KinderCare
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    107 North Ruby Drive
    Golden , CO , 80403
    (303)279-9171
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1  mi  |  132  students  |  Gr.  NS-PK

School Reviews

  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - I attended Shining Mountain K-12 and loved it, graduating in 2006! In almost all aspects of my life now I look back on my education and am grateful I had such a wonderful experience. Shining Mountain made me into a rounded individual with many talents, interests, and curiosities. Shining Mountain grows individuals who will become an encouraging and hopeful part of our future! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - We looked at SMWS because Waldorf kids are impressive as people: smart & accomplished, and *solid*. Mature, well-rounded, able to hold conversations, comfortable in their own skins. Waldorf is deep exploration of topics, lots of music, art, performance & integration across disciplines. No teaching to the test/learning by rote. More observational, not just accepting what you''re told. Shining Mountain is a great school. Big enough to have a variety of kids, goes K-12, great faculty/staff, pretty good facilities (high school gets a refresh soon), great kids & parents. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - We just moved to Boulder and Shining Mountain from Austin and Austin Waldorf, and we are so happy with our choice of a new school. We have a five year old in her third year of kindergarten and because of the school grounds, teachers, communication, adult education, as well as the sincere passion that each faculty members shares in making sure that our daughter has the best experience, she is flourishing. The school exceeds expectations on so many levels and we are looking forward to having our children shine throughout their school experience at Shining Mountain. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - Shining Mountain is child focused and the teachers create a safe and comfortable learning environment. The art, music and outdoor play feed the child and allow them to be focused while learning. It is a joy to see the children outside running, skipping and walking from one class to another. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - I love that the academics start slow in the younger years, and surpass public schools by the beginning of high school! what a gift to our children not to be pushed too early! I love that the curriculum has such a strong focus on art and music to compliment the academics. And for a small school they have a fantastic sports program! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - We chose Shining Mountain because of the deep commitment everyone has to the school and the children. We started at our local public school but could see the negative impact immediately on our daughter''s creativity and sense of herself. Her first year at Shining Mountain she would come home singing every day - and in multiple languages - she''s just so happy there. She has this belief in herself from having a Waldorf education that she can do anything - because she has done so much. She''s never been made to feel like she isn''t "performing" and as a result she''s excelling. We are so happy we made the switch. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - Not all schools are created equally; it took us years to find our way to SMWS. We are part of that 35% of families at SMWS who relocated to Boulder for THIS school. Shining Mountain teachers have worked with me to find ways to accommodate my children''s learning styles and needs. My sons are both very happy and engaged as students. They''ve had opportunities to develop their musical and dramatic talents because music and drama are part of the curriculum. They''ve had opportunities to participate in sports and have been coached in an enlightened and encouraging way. This school has meant the difference between struggle and success, between being ostracized and fitting in. Shining Mountain is the place where our whole family and our values shine. This school community is the place that meets our children''s needs. It is a place for discussion, for sharing stories, for problem solving, and for finding accommodation to individual needs. This is my village. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - It is our second year at this school and I am very happy about our choice. Our 7 year old is thriving in the well rounded and rich program of arts, movement, language, interpersonal skills & spiritual awareness. It is very apparent that the school is committed to the well being of each student and each family. The campus is enchanting. Highly recommended. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - Shining Mountain Waldorf School has strong academics; science, language, music and everything is art based! Their sports programs are part of the PCA (Positive Coach Alliance) and Double Goal Coaching program. They have the most beautiful campus nestled at the base of the foothills in North Boulder. Our son has been there since pre-school and will graduate high school there. He''s thriving and I''m thrilled with Shining Mountain! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - I discovered Waldorf Schools when I was 18 and met other teens my age who were completely different than my classmates, they were grounded individuals with deep understanding of a lot of things. They were well rounded!. Needless to say, they made a strong impression on me and I told myself that when I had kids I would look for Waldorf. Well 10 years later I had my son and two years after that my daughter. We first enrolled at Chicago Waldorf. We loved Waldorf from the beginning, but our family needed something different still, We had the opportunity to move to Colorado and soon found out about Shining Mountain Waldorf in Boulder. All the people in Chicago who knew Shining Mountain told about how SMWS is one of the best Waldorf Schools in North America. The Waldorf Method is definitely different than what most people in the US know as schooling. In the roughest lay man terms I would say that it is almost like artisan production. Most of us know mass schooling and learning to just pass the test. Not in Waldorf, they kindle the fire, they light up the passion for learning. Waldorf lays a strong foundation in the child, awakens curiosity in the lower school, enlivens the child in middle school, and engages the teenagers in high school. Upon first visit of a Waldorf School one notices that the classrooms are different, there is art everywhere and one who does not know Waldorf could say that it is an art school. this observation more than anything points to the lack of beauty and art in any other school system. Additionally, I have to point out that Waldorf graduates around the world are people of various backgrounds, interests, skills, and jobs. They are people who are engaging, interested and overall impressive individuals that can engage with people smoothly in a variety of topics and situations. Shining Mountain in the last few years has experienced tremendous growth, and transformation in the best way possible. There is excitement in the community for plans going forward into building new facilities, with a special focus on the High School. There is a strong parent association that is very supportive, the faculty is really top notch. In my perspective the faculty in all Waldorf Schools is one of the most important aspects of the school. They do so much work beyond the classroom, they have scheduled meetings to support the learning environment for children and newer faculty, they give talks and classes to parents to deepen the understanding of the Waldorf method. Faculty is so essential to the students, that many students continue to stay in touch with their teachers even after they graduate. My children are thriving, I couldn''t be happier. One suggestion I would make to new families considering Waldorf, is that I would highly encourage a visit to hear the high school students present their projects. You may have only a young child and may only be looking into a nice Kindergarten or elementary school, but upon hearing these young adults, you''ll see the end result of Waldorf method and won''t regret it. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 06, 2012 - My 26 year-old daughter is a graduate of SMWS, class of ''05. She is wonderfully grounded, kind and smart young woman who runs her own business, and has done so since the year she left Shining Mountain. While her dad and I would love to take all of the credit for how she turned out, we (happily) cannot do that--the SMWS curriculum, teachers, staff and community have all played a vital role in shaping the person she is today. We still enjoy being a part of the SMWS community and are looking forward to the awesome Michaelmas Pageant this coming Friday!!! You really cannot go wrong with the creative, well-rounded and thoughtful curriculum that shining Mountain offers! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 06, 2012 - Shining Mountain offers a rich academic program that inspires a love of learning in our youth. Integral to the program, an array of performance, visual and musical art courses. Considerable effort is made to create a healthy social fabric amongst the students, parents and faculty. All around fabulous school! - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
 Why Did You Select That School?
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Getting Involved With Your Child's School
Getting involved with your child's school benefits both you and the school. It's a win-win for all concerned.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!