The Cobb School Montessori

112 Sand Hill Road
Simsbury, CT 06070-0607
Tel: (860)658-1144
Grades: NS - 6 | 120 students
The Cobb School houses nine classrooms, an art studio, library, science lab, gardens, athletic fields and playgrounds.
The school has a thriving Parent Infant Community and Toddler, Primary and Elementary classes, providing children 15 months through 12 years an authentic Montessori education.
 The school’s mission “Believe, Guide, Step Aside, Let Fly!” and core values – respect, responsibility, independence and integrity – guide its professional and accomplished staff in every decision it makes.   

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association Montessori International (AMI)
State or regional independent school association
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 6
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Year Founded 1974

Student Body

Total Students 120 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 14%
State avg.: 24%
Students by Grade The Cobb School Montessori Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 20 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(comfortable, child-friendly, no lettering or athletic wear)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Young Children's Community $11,000.00 Primary Program (Morning) $11,000.00 Primary Extended Day $15,200.00 Lower Elementary Program $17,000.00 Upper Elementary Program $17,500.00
% on Financial Aid 10%
Admissions Director Sallie Ann Jacobs

Sports

Total Sports Offered 3 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, SoccerBaseballBasketball,
Soccer

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. art club, chess club, outdoor club, acorn singers, woodworking club art club, chess club, outdoor club, acorn singers, woodworking club,

School Notes:

The Cobb School, Montessori in Simsbury is proud to be celebrating its 40th year. Under the leadership of Mary Lou Cobb, founder and Head of School, Cobb has grown into a hardworking and compassionate community of 150 students, many from around the world. The school’s beautiful, natural, light-filled environment has taken shape through two major expansion projects in both 1997 and 2012. This September the school breaks ground on a gymnasium and community meeting room to be completed this spring.  

Today The Cobb School houses nine classrooms, an art studio, library, science lab, gardens, athletic fields and playgrounds. The school has a thriving Parent Infant Community and Toddler, Primary and Elementary classes, providing children 15 months through 12 years an authentic Montessori education.  The school’s mission “Believe, Guide, Step Aside, Let Fly!” and core values – respect, responsibility, independence and integrity – guide its professional and accomplished staff in every decision it makes.   

Throughout the 2014-2015 school year, The Cobb School, Montessori will celebrate 40 important and passion-filled years of guiding children to reach their potential and preparing them to find their place in the world.

Profile last updated: 08/07/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Ethel Walker School (0.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Ethel Walker School (0.1 miles away)
The nearest preschool is The Master's School (2.3 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Simsbury
    Grades: 6-12 | 259 students
    0.1 miles
    230 Bushy Hill Road
    Simsbury, CT 06070
    (860)408-4200
    0.16-12
    259
  • West Simsbury
    Grades: NS-12 | 272 students
    2.3 miles
    36 Westledge Rd
    West Simsbury, CT 06092
    (860)651-9361
    2.3NS-12
    272
  • Avon
    Grades: NS-8 | 115 students
    2.3 miles
    150 Fisher Dr
    Avon, CT 06001
    (860)677-2403
    2.3NS-8
    115
  • Simsbury
    St. Mary School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 210 students
    2.8 miles
    946 Hopmeadow Street
    Simsbury, CT 06070
    (860)658-9412
    2.8PK-8
    210
  • Avon
    Grades: K-8 | 62 students
    2.9 miles
    324 Montevideo Rd
    Avon, CT 06001
    (860)677-0035
    2.9K-8
    62

School Reviews

If you want your child to love learning, develop a passion for reading, be intrinsically motivated, and nurtured in an environment that truly respect children, then this is the school for you! But don't take my word for it, visit and you'll see the difference. Really.
- Posted by Parent, 05/01/12
Our daughter has been with The Cobb School for 3 years. I could go on and on how happy she is, how the Montessori teachings have given her an opportunity to learn even beyond our expectations, how gifted the teachers are but instead I encourage you explore a truly unique place. This is a life changing experience for any child. We are so blessed to be part of this special community. The Berard Family
- Posted by Parent, 02/28/12
A gem in the Farmington River Valley! Mary Lou Cobb is a gifted, talented and passionate educator. We couldn't be happier with our decision to send our kids to the school. Cobb has helped foster a love of learning that's a rarely found in traditional school settings.
- Posted by Parent, 02/28/12
Amazing place and faculty!
- Posted by Parent, 02/28/12
I can not over state the role that Cobb School has played in my child's early development. She has blossomed into a confident, thoughtful child, who is respectful of others and eager to help out her fellow classmates (and family!) Thank you Cobb School!
- Posted by Parent, 02/28/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Hartford County, CT is $7,094 for elementary schools and $26,007 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Hartford County, CT is 66% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).