Gateway Academy

1213 Hope Circle,
Bonifay, FL, 32425-0324
     Tel: (850)547-9011
Grades: 4 - 12 | 48 students

School Overview

School Type Alternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Accelerated Christian Education (ACE) or (School of Tomorrow)
Religious Affiliation Pentecostal
Grades Offered Grades 4 - 12
Year Founded 1998

Student Body

Total Students 48 students
Student Body Type All-boys
% Students of Color 6%
State avg.: 36%
Students by Grade Gateway Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 3 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 18:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 18%
Average Class Size 17 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Average ACT score 19
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Students wear military uniforms special ordered by the center)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
% on Financial Aid 4%
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,011
Admissions Director Barbara Rutledge
Admissions Associate Claudia Thoss

Sports

Total Sports Offered 2 sports
Sports Baseball, BasketballBaseballBasketball,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Oak Grove Christian Academy (11.8 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Oak Grove Christian Academy (11.8 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Washington County Christian School (16.4 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • BonifayOak Grove Christian Academy
      (Pentecostal)
    Po Box 1042
    BonifayFL32425
    (850)956-2322
      (Pentecostal)
    11.8 mi | 27 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • ChipleyWashington County Christian School
      (Christian)
    1405 Brickyard Rd
    ChipleyFL32428
    (850)638-9227
      (Christian)
    16.4 mi | 93 students | Gr. PK-12                      
  • DothanEmmanuel Christian School
      (Christian)
    178 Earline Rd
    DothanAL36305
    (334)792-0935
      (Christian)
    22.3 mi | 382 students | Gr. PK-12                      
  • Midland CityBethlehem Child Development Center
    Daycare / Preschool  (Baptist)
    416 Bethlehem Road
    Midland CityAL36350
    (334)673-4980
    Daycare / Preschool  (Baptist)
    24 mi | 5 students | Gr. PK-K                      
  • DothanFirst Presbyterian Preschool
    Daycare / Preschool  (Presbyterian)
    3012 W Main St
    DothanAL36305
    (334)793-6283
    Daycare / Preschool  (Presbyterian)
    24.1 mi | 70 students | Gr. K                      

School Reviews

Recommended
4 months ago
Our son would do just about anything to get attention from friends, even if said attention was negative. He was spiraling out of control before he went to Gateway Military Academy. Since he''s been there he''s learned a lot about how his choices have consequences, be it good or bad. He''s doing a lot better now and I can''t thank Gateway enough for the work they''ve done with him and our family.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
4 months ago
The other kids at Gateway Military Academy had done or were dealing with the same things that were causing me so much trouble. I could share honestly what I felt and was always accepted for it. As I grew through the program, I got to help a couple of younger guys who had just started. I learned as much from them as I did from the guy who showed me around when I first came. It felt great to be a leader, to have someone look up to me for all the right reasons. I want to be a man of integrity so that someday my own kids can look up to me like that.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
4 months ago
We considered several types of programs for our son, but when we found Gateway we knew we had found the right place. It matched our family?''s values. We felt comfortable on the campus. We could see how well our son would be provided for and how many wonderful things were happening with the other students on campus. Most of all, we felt sincerely loved, and we knew he would be loved too. Gateway is among the finest programs of its kind. We highly recommend it.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
As a long term volunteer and part time staff at Gateway Academy, my husband and I are very impressed with the quality of education provided to students, the disciplines taught, and the structure provided to young men who need these elements in their lives. Hurting young men and their parents are provided with training and support in a loving but structured environment.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Our son needed the high structure Gateway provides students. They are different in that students work on only 2 to 3 classes at a time. It isn''t as overwhelming and they see their progress faster. He''s required to meet weekly goals and has consistent consequences if he doesn''t. He''s progressed from a boy who simply refused to do any school work to regularly being celebrated for his achievements at the monthly recognition. He always had the ability. Now he has the behavior that gets good grades.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
What a wonderful school! My son attended and love it!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
I am a single mom. I have stretched and sacrificed and given all I could to raise my son well. When I saw the crowd he was hanging around with and the choices he was making, I realized there was something missing. Gateway Military Academy stepped in to give him what I was not able to do myself: godly male role models, structure and consistency, and the best in educational opportunities. I count it a blessing that they helped me with the huge responsibility of parenting, and I know my son is the better for it
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
I was so frustrated with my son, I was ready to kick him to a boot camp to straighten him out once and for all. Praise God, I found Gateway Military Academy first. The unconditional love mixed with the structure and responsibility were exactly what he needed to turn his life around. I even learned about boundaries and how to parent with consistency. We are both much better people because of his time at Gateway Military Academy.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Don't assume you cannot afford private school. Don't assume that you make too much money to be eligible for financial aid. Ask. Always ask.
Cristo Rey Schools: A Different Kind of School
The Cristo Rey Network of schools currently comprises some 26 schools in 17 states and the District of Columbia. Truth is they are just getting started.
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Florida is $6,456 for elementary schools and $8,656 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Florida is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).