Woodward Academy North Campus

6565 Boles Road,
Duluth, GA, 30097-0301
     Tel: (404)765-4490
Grades: PK - 6 | 290 students
Woodward North is located on a 33-acre campus in Johns Creek, Georgia.
It is a satellite elementary school of Woodward Academy, enrolling about 330 students in pre-kindergarten through 6th grade.
Since opening in the fall of 1990, Woodward North has become an integral part of Woodward Academy, sending its students to matriculate in the seventh grade on the Main Campus in College Park.The programs at Woodward North are housed in three separate buildings: the main classroom building, the arts center and the multiplex.
On the grounds of the school are two large and well-equipped playgrounds, a nature trail, an outdoor classroom overlooking a stream, a large soccer field and a horseback-riding ring.
 The mission of Woodward North is to develop in its students a sense of joy and pride in coming to school each day.
There is a strong recognition that these elementary students should be engaged in an accelerated and enriched program that is an age-appropriate part of the Academy’s college preparatory continuum.Woodward North’s faculty is characterized by its desire to have students regard their classrooms as happy and exciting learning environments.
Teachers at Woodward North enjoy working with and challenging a bright student body, and they are keenly aware of their responsibilities to communicate closely with parents who expect to be full and supportive partners in the student’s elementary education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 6
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Transition program in 4th, 5th and 6th grades to support mild learning differences
Year Founded 1990

Student Body

Total Students 290 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 67%
State avg.: 25%
Students by Grade Woodward Academy North Campus Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 43 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 17 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 27
Tuition Notes Tuition varies by grade level.
Admissions Director Rebecca Eckstein
Admissions Associate Laura Alice Lopez

Sports

Total Sports Offered 8 sports
Sports Ballet, Basketball, Dance, Equestrian, Fencing, Golf, Soccer, VolleyballBalletBasketball,
DanceEquestrian,
FencingGolf,
SoccerVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Club, Chess Club, Garden Club, Handbell Choir, Jump Rope Club, Odyssey of the Mind, Robotics, Show Choir Art Club, Chess Club, Garden Club, Handbell Choir, Jump Rope Club, Robotics, Show Choir, Odyssey of the Mind,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Hebron Christian Academy (1.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Notre Dame Academy (1.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Notre Dame Academy (1.2 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • DuluthNotre Dame Academy
      (Roman Catholic)
    4635 River Green Pkwy
    DuluthGA30096
    (678)387-9385
      (Roman Catholic)
    1.2 mi | 462 students | Gr. PK-9                      
  • DaculaHebron Christian Academy
      (Baptist)
    Po Box 1028
    DaculaGA30019
    (770)963-9250
      (Baptist)
    1.3 mi | 945 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • DuluthKnowledge Beginnings
    Daycare / Preschool
    10100 Medlock Bridge Road
    DuluthGA30097
    (678)417-6322
    Daycare / Preschool
    1.3 mi | n/a students | Gr. NS-PK                      
  • AlpharettaMedlock Bridge Montessori
    Montessori School
    5815 Medlock Bridge Parkway
    AlpharettaGA30022
    (770)623-1965
    Montessori School
    1.5 mi | 20 students | Gr. NS-PK                      
  • DuluthPerimeter Christian School
      (Presbyterian)
    9500 Medlock Bridge Road
    DuluthGA30097
    (678)405-2300
      (Presbyterian)
    2.1 mi | 552 students | Gr. K-8                      

School Reviews

Recommended
2 days ago
Both my kids attended this school and moved on to the main campus. Love this school for the warm learning environment it provided. They have learned life long skills at Woodward North that my son is using at college now.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
This school has been the most valuable for both of my children. The teachers are student centered and really lead our children to excellence, while at the same time, building their character. If you are looking a for a school that creates a well-rounded child, both in education and in co-curricular activities then this is the school for you.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
Our daughter has been a Woodward North Student since PK...she is currently a 5th Grader. She absolutely loves it! Most importantly WE love it. The strong academic environment & the engaging teachers make this a PERFECT combination for us & her. The family ''environment'' is definitely a PLUS, PLUS. Before deciding on Woodward North, we visited several private schools in the North ATL area. However, we have never regretted our Woodward decision. Actually, it is one of the best decision we have made for our daughter.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
We have two girls at Woodward. The school provides a loving environment for the kids. Our daughters are excited to get up every morning to go to school and enjoy the wonderful learning environment it provides.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
We have been at Woodward North for several years. They have the best teachers who really understand the kids well and help them grow academically and socially. We couldn''t be happier picking this school for our son. He looks forward to going there everyday with a smile. That speaks a lot for a young boy. I highly recommend this school for anyone.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
Woodward North is wonderful! It has the feel of a sweet, small elementary school with all the resources of Woodward Academy! The music/arts building is incredibly beautiful. Everyone is kind, helpful, and friendly. There are plenty of after school activities, and the kids get recess and p.e. every day. My son is new to the school and has made friends quickly and has improved in all the areas in which he struggled in public school.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
Woodward North is a wonderful school that support and nutures while constantly raising the bar to higher level in terms of the curriculum. We have enjoyed the opportunity to partner with Woodward in the education of one of our children who has a very unique learning style. This was done in a way that did not compromise the quality, rigor or intergrity of the education. We benefitted greatly from the amazing Transition Program and we now have a high schooler who is mainstreamed and lacks nothing! Woodward has allowed both of our children to grow as leaders and each is operating at their highest academic potential and reaching new heights each season of their time at WN. They are exposed to lessons in leadership, character and excellence through the administration, faclulty, staff and their peers. Our children really love going to school and they realize that it''s all designed to bring out their best. They simply love school and they work hard to not disappoint their teachers or peers. It''s a great place to grow and learn. When/if students transition to the College Park campus, they are more than prepared for that as well. It''s a superb foundation!!!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
Woodward is a terrific school. Even for the younger kids there are many extra curricular activities. It''s very diverse, and there is little teacher turnover, which is very important. There''s an active parent community and they really do push your children to learn to the maximum of their ability. If you want the best for your kids and you can afford it then Woodward is definitely worth a hard look.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
For five years my children attended a different private school in the north Atlanta suburbs. This is the second year they''ve been at Woodward, and it is a much better school for them. There is opportunity to excel academically and a myriad of extracurricular programs to choose from. It is a harder school than they went to before so they had some adjusting to do the first year. In general, the teachers at Woodward North possess more credentials than in other private schools in the surrounding area that we looked into. The curriculum is challenging, yet interesting; age appropriate, yet has pushed both our kids toward their potential in each subject. They''ve had the opportunity to complete numerous projects in math, science, art & social studies, plus developed the ability to study independently.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
Woodward North provides our children with a wonderful, warm, loving environment. The holistic education allows our kids to flow through each "happy" school day as a relaxed, challenging daily adventure. The school has successfully intermingled dance, music, computers, art, physical education, orchestra, & a host of other activities. They have an exceptional science program. In addition, the reading program is outstanding. We recognize that our children need to be exposed to a variety of stimuli at this age. They are given regular opportunities to get on stage, perform in plays & recitals, participate in assemblies, take part in field days, community service projects, student council, celebrations, book buddy programs, etc. The Principal, Vice Principal and Staff greet the children by name. The dedicated teachers go out of their way to be proactive. They are also responsive when working with parents and students. Our two children are thriving, confident, happy individuals. The secret sauce at this school seems to be a mixture of "all things" that make up a healthy, and happy young person.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
Great school, this is our 4th year and my son who is now in 3rd grade loves it and every single day he looks forward to run to school and so do I because I love participating in all the, areas where they need help and I enjoy volunteering. GREAT TEACHERS and a friendly environment which makes us all United.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
2 days ago
Woodward Academy provides the best and social environment for my children. My husband and I have three children enrolled at the North Campus. We are fully committed and can''t wait to experience the Main Campus in College Park. I love how Woodward Academy cares about their students, teachers, staff, and community. The school provides a multicultural environment, which is very vital during a child''s learning journey. We appreciate the dedication of the teachers and how they have rallied behind our children''s education. We are all in! Go War Eagles!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
My daughter just finished her Pk and started k. She Loves this school. We live far from the school and there is actually a school that''s walking distance from our home. However my daughter is happy to do 45 min commute everyday. Parents are very involved and kids are well mannered. Highly recommended
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Don't assume you cannot afford private school. Don't assume that you make too much money to be eligible for financial aid. Ask. Always ask.
Cristo Rey Schools: A Different Kind of School
The Cristo Rey Network of schools currently comprises some 26 schools in 17 states and the District of Columbia. Truth is they are just getting started.
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Related School Videos
Woodward Academy North 7:22

Woodward Academy North
7 months ago

View more school videos