Texas Christian School

5.00 5 1 (21 reviews)
17810 Kieth Harrow Blvd
Houston, TX 77084-0770
Tel: (281)550-6060
Grades: NS-12 | 386 students
"Committed to growing tomorrow's leaders through outstanding Christian academics today!".

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Southern Baptist Association of Christian Schools (SBACS)
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-12
ADD/ADHD Support Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1990

Student Body

Total Students 386 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Texas Christian School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 30 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 13:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
20%
Average Class Size 16 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Very Affordable, multiple student discount
% on Financial Aid
2%
Average Financial Aid Grant $100
Admissions Director Beckie Soliz

Sports

Total Sports Offered 8 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Football, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringFootball,
SoftballTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Beta Club, Dance, Karate, Piano Lessons, Robotics, Soccer Beta Club, Dance, Karate, Piano Lessons, Robotics, Soccer,

School Notes

  • Affordable Christian Education
  • Biblically based curriculum for Infants 12th grade
  • High academic standards
  • Character development
  • Fully accredited; fully approved by the State of Texas
  • Affordable education with family discounts
  • Low student / teacher ratio
  • Before and after school care
  • Comprehensive computer programs
  • College preparatory curriculum for 6th 12th grade

           (98% of graduates attend the college of their choice)

  • Honors classes and Dual College Credit

       (Earn a full year of college while in high school)

  • Students consistently score above average

       on National Standardized Achievement tests

  • Championship athletic programs (cheerleading, football,

       volleyball, basketball,  track, tennis, softball, baseball)

  • Elective classes for 4 years 5th grade

        (Spanish, Music, Art, Computer, Physical Education)

  • Authorized under federal law to enroll

        non-immigrant alien students

  • After school enrichment program

        piano lessons, karate, dance, cheerleading

  • Loving, caring environment

                                " your home away from home"

Profile last updated: 05/02/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-8 | 513 students
    2.3 miles
    6646 Addicks Satsuma Rd
    Houston, TX 77084
    (281)463-1444
    2.3PK-8
    513
  • Katy
    Grades: NS-12 | 595 students
    8 miles
    2225 Porter Road
    Katy, TX 77493
    (281)391-5683
    8NS-12
    595
  • Houston
    Grades: 9-12 | 509 students
    6.9 miles
    2700 W Sam Houston Parkway N
    Houston, TX 77043
    (713)580-6020
    6.99-12
    509
  • Houston
    Incarnate Word Academy
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 326 students
    19.8 miles
    609 Crawford Street
    Houston, TX 77002
    (713)227-3637
    19.89-12
    326
  • Houston
    Grades: NS-2 | 85 students
    0.7 miles
    5725 Queenston Blvd
    Houston, TX 77084
    (281)649-6814
    0.7NS-2
    85

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (21 reviews)
5.0  10/26/2016
TCS is just amazing. The teachers are wise and loving, administration is always present, not just stuck in an office. Its a real family who loves the Lord and each other.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
Texas Christian brought home two state titles this past year in basketball and track along with singles tennis. TCS had 6 regional math winners, 2 spelling bee winners, first place in Jr. High music, 1st place in Houston Rodeo Art and a lot more!!! TCS is on fire for the Lord, sports, and academics. TCS is amazing and you need to send your children here. Go Tigers!
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
Texas Christian School is such an amazing school and a great fit for my kids. I have a kindergarten child and a pre-k student that loves their teachers and learn a wealth of knowledge from their teachers. Texas Christian School provides a great Christian education, along with amazing extra-curricular activities.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
Texas Christian has a great Christian environment! Teachers are supportive of student learning and not only want to see students grow academically but spiritually.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
TCS is a very special place with people who really love the Lord. The school is a family, and the positive energy can be felt in the hallways. The diverse student body makes for a fun and vibrant classroom, and the small class size allows students to participate and stay engaged. If students have questions, their teachers are happy to give their time and energy to see the students succeed. These kids are ready to get out in the world and serve the Lord. WAY TO GO TIGERS!
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
Texas Christian School is a great place to teach. The staff is warm and friendly and the students are fun and eager to learn. I would highly encourage anyone looking for a great learning environment to choose this school.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
My family absolutely LOVES TCS!!! The academics are challenging, and the extracurricular activities are excellent. My kids are constantly coming home with new information, songs and games to share with us. The all-school musical is so much fun!!
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
My family loves TCS! The teachers are professional and caring. My children have been so blessed to attend this school. They have strong academics and extracurricular programs.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
TCS is the best school! My kids love it here! There is a great family atmosphere here and we are so proud to be apart of this school.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
The teachers are great here! They really care about the children and strive to help them reach their full potential.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
The teachers are amazing here! They are always willing to go the extra mile to help a child in need. Every child is encouraged to participate in a sport or other extra-curricular activities. Because of the smaller classes, the students get the attention they need and develop life long friendships.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
I LOVE this school! The faculty and staff are top notch at TCS! A very loving and caring environment where GOD is the center. Couldn't ask for a better place for my children to go. Go Tigers!
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
My daughters attended this school for eleven years. My oldest daughter graduated in 2014 as co-valedictorian of her class. She is a straight A student at Oklahoma Baptist University. My younger daughter is a sophomore and excels in the smaller classroom. She has teachers that love her and help her be successful.
- Posted by
5.0  6/29/2016
I pay for my grandson's schooling and I am thrilled to have him attend such a driven school. The office is always so helpful, my grandson is doing great academically and spiritually, and I just love that there is a school like TCS.
- Posted by
5.0  6/16/2016
Highlights from 2015 - 16 28 Art Fair winners Houston Rodeo Art Winner National Merit Scholarship 7 area math winners Graduated 20th Senior Class State Champs in Varsity Basketball State Champs in Varsity Track & Field First place Jr. High Choir Competition Final Four Varsity Football 4 Year State Champ Tennis Singles 1st / 3rd Place Spelling Bee and more!!! The Tigers Rock!!!
- Posted by
5.0  6/22/2015
TCS is an awesome place for my children. We love the school, the teachers are the best, we love going to all the sporting events, we have made close friends and love being at TCS.
- Posted by
5.0  6/22/2015
We have found our forever school. We have been to a couple other Christian schools in our life and TCS just has that spark that some other schools dont. Its a family, the teachers care, the kids are really good, we have made lasting friendships and we are so glad to be part of the TCS family. Their classes fill fast so enroll quickly to get a spot. We love it!
- Posted by
5.0  5/2/2013
Awesome place for Christian families. High standards, great teachers, many activities. Highly recomend over other schools we viewed.
- Posted by
5.0  1/31/2013
Amazing staff! Could not ask for a better school. TCS has extracurricular activities for students, a loving atmosphere, and spiritual influences unlike public school. We love it!
- Posted by
5.0  5/1/2012
Texas Christian School is absolutly the best decision we have made for our children! Our students will graduate from this school. TCS is truly the BEST!!!
- Posted by
5.0  5/1/2012
My boys have never been more excited to go to school. TCS has such loving, caring teachers and you would not believe what students in K-5 are learning. They are already doing multiplication. TCS is an awesome place to be.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Houston, TX is $12,764 for elementary schools and $14,355 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Houston, TX is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).