The Raleigh School

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association for the Education of Young Children
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
AdvancED
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-5
Year Founded 1952
Awards  Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2007

Student Body

Total Students 438 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
33%
State avg.: 18%
Students by Grade The Raleigh School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 45 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Dec. 16 / Feb. 7 / rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition is $11,450 for kindergarten through fifth grade. Preschool tuition varies by class.
Admissions Director Anu Mannar
Admissions Associate Irene Milewski

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Club, Book Clubs, Chess Club, Science Olympiad Art Club, Book Clubs, Chess Club, Science Olympiad,

School Notes

  • At The Raleigh School, we engage children`s hands, hearts and minds each and every day.  Using an inquiry-based approach, our teachers help students develop critical and creative thinking skills that last a lifetime.   Our students love to come to school.  Each child is well-known and valued as an individual member within the school community.  Our parents choose The Raleigh School because they appreciate our outstanding veteran faculty and value the many opportunities to be engaged in their own child`s education.   
  • Please contact admissions@raleighschool.org to request an admissions packet and to schedule a campus visit.

Profile last updated: 05/02/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Cary
    Grades: NS-5
    6.3 miles
    130 Towne Village Dr
    Cary, NC 27513
    (919)319-9622
    6.3NS-5
    n/a
  • Raleigh
    Grades: PK-12 | 1185 students
    8.1 miles
    7409 Falls Of Neuse Rd
    Raleigh, NC 27615
    (919)847-0900
    8.1PK-12
    1185
  • Raleigh
    Grades: PK-12 | 1466 students
    11.7 miles
    7300 Perry Creek Road
    Raleigh, NC 27616
    (919)573-7900
    11.7PK-12
    1466
  • Raleigh
    Grades: PK-12 | 776 students
    1 miles
    801 & 1101 Buck Jones Road
    Raleigh, NC 27606
    (919)747-2020
    1PK-12
    776
  • Raleigh
    Grades: NS-9 | 372 students
    6.5 miles
    7005 Lead Mine Road
    Raleigh, NC 27615
    (919)848-1545
    6.5NS-9
    372

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (4 reviews)
5.0  10/8/2015
I have 2 children at the Raleigh School and I could not be more pleased. It provides a nurturing environment which fosters creative learning and appreciation of cultural diversity. The faculty are approachable and have an impressive educational background. The school actually encourages parental involvement in the child's learning. The Head of School Mr. Bud Lichenstein joined the school from the New England and has done an outstanding job. I recommend the school without reservation . Dr's M.Alexander and Bobbie Gupta
- Posted by
5.0  10/8/2015
My youngest son is in 5th grade and oldest son is a TRS graduate. The Raleigh School provides a safe, engaging environment for my children to explore learning and build a strong foundation. Never once have my children sad I do not want to go to school. I think that alone speaks volumes of the love of learning that The Raleigh School fosters. My eldest has moved on to another private school and has excelled in every way thanks to the strong skill set that The Raleigh School has provided. Invest in your child's early education, you will never regret it!
- Posted by
5.0  10/8/2015
We are very happy with our choice to move our children from the public school system to The Raleigh School (TRS). While private school is a meaningful financial commitment, we believe it has been well worth the investment. Specifically, we love the vibrant and active community TRS fosters (across parents, students, and children), and also the foundations of diversity and respect the school fosters, which sums to us feeling that our children are extremely safe (physically and emotionally) at TRS. Academically, we are also pleased with the curriculum and believe our children will be well prepared for the next stage of their education.
- Posted by
5.0  10/8/2015
I have had 4 children who have either graduated from or currently attending The Raleigh School. The most amazing thing about this is that my children were in an environment that has fostered a love of learning. Not only is the learning fun but the teachers allow the kids to be kids and use their own creativity. Respect and kindness is expected- not rewarded. No matter where they go to middle school I believe that TRS has set the foundation of how teachers should treat students and how people treat people. This is a foundation that is critical in the early years. No place is perfect- but its close...Love, love this school and feel so fortunate to be a part of it.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Raleigh, NC is $10,809 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Raleigh, NC is 93% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).