Windy Hill School Colby-sawyer College

Tel: (603)526-3695
Grades: PK-K | 53 students

School Overview

School Type Early Childhood / Day Care
School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association for the Education of Young Children
National Association of Laboratory Schools
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-Kindergarten

Student Body

Total Students 53 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
50%
State avg.: 15%
Students by Grade Windy Hill School Colby-sawyer College Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 3 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Andover
    Proctor Academy
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: 9-12 | 371 students
    5.5 miles
    Po Box 500 Main St
    Andover, NH 03216
    (603)735-6000
    5.59-12
    371
  • Sunapee
    Mount Royal Academy
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-12 | 195 students
    5.7 miles
    26 Seven Hearths Lane
    Sunapee, NH 03782
    (603)763-9010
    5.7PK-12
    195
  • Bradford
    Nfi North-bradford School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 9-12 | 12 students
    7.8 miles
    2552 Route 103
    Bradford, NH 03221
    (603)938-2556
    7.89-12
    12
  • Newport
    Granite Hill School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 6-12 | 33 students
    9.3 miles
    Po Box 25
    Newport, NH 03773
    (603)863-0697
    9.36-12
    33
  • Newport
    Newport Montessori School
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-8 | 76 students
    10.7 miles
    Po Box 634
    Newport, NH 03773
    (603)863-2243
    10.7PK-8
    76

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (2 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
Great school. My daughter loves the kindergarten program. If you are looking for a structured pre-school/pre-K program than this is not the place for your child. They believe in free play and letting children express their creativity. They help children build the non-academic skills that are so crucial in life (socailizing, manners, sharing, co-operative learning, public speaking skills, technonolgy, arts, music, drama, dance, imaginative play). They do projects of all kinds that are teacher lead but not specific. For example one day they do, painting but the children choose what they want to paint with and what they want to paint. They also are big on nature, reading and spending time time outside. They do basic math concepts and journaling skills with the children. Like making patterns with blocks or practicing counting while building a tower or putting toys away. Kids do journals even if they can only draw pictures and the teachers write a child told story to go with the picture. The facalities are state of the art. They have a beautiful 2 year old building. I haven't seen all the other classrooms but my daughter's class has a full kitchen that they use with the kids, a two story playhouse built in one corner of the room, 6 computers, an interactive white board (smart board), an entire room just for blocks, a state of the art table that can be used for legos, a dollhouse set up or various outher set ups. Everything is kept very clean. The playgound and outdoor play spaces are wonderful as well. And of course being on a college campus, they have access to all the college gyms, pool, climbing wall, tennis courts and such. It has been a perfect fit for our daughter.
- Posted by
5  10/27/2012
I love Windy HIll! My son is in their Nursery School program and excelling. The teachers are incredibly dedicated and work hard to provide creative learning environments and activities for the children. It is clear the teachers are passionate about child development. As the previous poster said, they maximize the beautiful Colby-Sawyer campus by taking the kids on various adventures each day. I feel very fortunate to have my son enrolled at this school.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
February 11, 2017
Let's think about the employment process from the point of view of your making me want to hire you. Here are some points to ponder.
February 10, 2017
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
February 10, 2017
The only way private schools can build their financial security is through gifts. Major gifts offer proof of how deeply many donors feel about their private schools. Their munificence is a wonderful example to others.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Merrimack County, NH is 58% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).