Yorktown Education School

At Yorktown, we want your child to have a fulfilling and inspiring life.
So we take a dramatically different approach to their education.
And it's working.
Because our students are excelling at levels that traditional schools simply can't deliver.
Our education model is student-centered, which means each individual student progresses according to their own accomplishments - academically, socially, personally.
From the development of custom curriculum, to the integration of personal interests and a flexible cohort-based campus environment, every detail is designed to teach students to discover and Do What They Love.
The result? Higher achievement.
And ultimately, happy, engaged, fulfilled children and young adults. And - when we fulfill our vision - a peaceful, more prosperous world for the next generation.
Come experience the different thinking at Yorktown. Now enrolling students in grades K-12.
Call us at 972-733-0800 to schedule a personal tour.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
AdvancED
Educational Records Bureau
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
ADD/ADHD Support Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Year Founded 2008

Student Body

Total Students 100 students
Student Body Type Co-ed

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 15 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
50%
Average Class Size 15 students
Advanced Courses over 400 college courses offered with our college partnership program
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes See website for tuition, scholarships, and financial aid information.
% on Financial Aid
37%
Acceptance Rate
85%
National avg.: 85%

School Notes

Yorktown provides students with a superior education, one that focuses on the skills and knowledge relevant to living in the 21st century. Yorktown`s core values--respect, responsibility, and innovation-segue into a lifelong philosophy from which emerges a cooperative, entrepreneurial spirit. Key components in Yorktown`s curriculum include a rigorous mastery-based instruction, effective technology integration, high expectations, and a customized education plan that enables students to "Do What You Love." Students have the opportunity to tailor their learning experience through hundreds of electives, partner programs, and practicums at an academic pace that allows them to work ahead.

Yorktown Goals include:
1. A rigorous academic program that arms students with the skills needed to succeed in life.
2. The development of social skills that foster relationships and interaction with others.
3. A "Do What You Love" philosophy that allows students to pursue their passions.

Yorktown graduates quality students who are highly successful, happy individuals, enabling them to make a difference in the world.

Additional key points:
  • Advancement is performance based-not age or grade levels
  • Advanced Academics, including Mandarin Chinese
  • Small Class Sizes
  • Dual Enrollment College Courses
  • SACS Accredited
  • NAIS and ERB Members
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Yorktown Education School also viewed these schools: Willow Bend Academy Plano Campus, Spring Creek Academy, Great Lakes Academy, McKinney Christian Academy and Richmond Hill Montessori.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Plano
     Willow Bend Academy Plano Campus
    Alternative School (Christian)
    Grades: 5-12 | 102 students
    2.2 miles
    2220 Coit Road Suite 500
    Plano, TX 75075
    (972)599-7882
    2.25-12
    102
  • Plano
    Spring Creek Academy
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: 2-12 | 208 students
    5.1 miles
    6000 Custer Road Bldg 5
    Plano, TX 75023
    (972)517-6730
    5.12-12
    208
  • Plano
     Great Lakes Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-12 | 102 students
    5.2 miles
    6000 Custer Rd. Building 7
    Plano, TX 75023
    (972)517-7498
    5.21-12
    102
  • Mckinney
    Grades: PK-12 | 576 students
    15.5 miles
    3601 Bois D'Arc Road
    Mckinney, TX 75071
    (214)544-2658
    15.5PK-12
    576
  • Plano
    Richmond Hill Montessori
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-12 | 60 students
    0.1 miles
    5221 Village Creek Dr
    Plano, TX 75093
    (972)250-1406
    0.1PK-12
    60

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5.0  10/1/2016
I am a parent with a student who is new to Yorktown as of the Summer 2016. My son is a 16 year old who was previously at a highly rated public school in a neighboring area. That being said, my child was not thriving in the large classroom with all of its many distractions. I felt that although he had so much potential to be a success, he seemed to lack the motivation necessary to be an outstanding student. I visited a few private schools in my search for something that would better match his learning style and capability. After speaking to the dean of Yorktown, and learning about the Yorktown" Do What You Love" philosophy, along with the student- centered approach, I knew this school would be a great fit for my son. I love that he has the opportunity to fill in the gaps that he arrived with, and that he can even move ahead in his coursework. The student - centered approach, the block scheduling, and the once a week counselor meetings are just what he needed to push him academically, as well as provide him with the tools needed to be a more successful and accountable student. I am excited about my sons progress to this point, and I look forward to the next few years at Yorktown. His confidence in himself has elevated, and he seems to be a much happier person all the way around!
- Posted by
5.0  9/24/2016
My daughter thoroughly loves Yorktown and we are very pleased with her progress especially compared to her public school experience. Highly recommend Yorktown and suggest you strongly consider it if you want your kids to do what they love!!!
- Posted by
5.0  9/24/2016
I send all three of my children to the school. They are all very happy and thriving. I like that the teachers make sure my children are grasping all the information that they are learning, the mastery requirement. I also like that my children can excel at their own pace. My oldest just started 9th grade in high school and is already taking a Collin College calculus II class. He took Calculus I in the summer. He had to take a test to be able to take calculus and any other courses at Collin College. He performed well on the test and is able to take any class there now. I credit Yorktown for teaching him well and grasping the material to be able to perform well on the test. My other two children are also thriving academically. Yorktown is not only academic, but also has a very warm environment. The teachers care about their students. Additionally, my three children have nice friends at Yorktown. This is an amazing school and place! Thank you Yorktown!
- Posted by
5.0  9/1/2016
Yorktown Education recognizes that each child is unique, with special talents and gifts in certain areas, and also identifies those learning areas that need additional support. The school, its administration, and its incredibly talented teaching staff all work together toward these aims. This incredible vision for teaching our children in the best way for each of them is followed by every representative of the school. Best of all, the students see the value in this process and help one another rather than trying to defeat their competition. Yorktown provides a customized, supportive, and excellent learning environment.
- Posted by
5.0  7/27/2013
Top quality academic education including a year of college credit while in high school. Best college grade points in the area. Students receive in depth instruction in their areas of specialty and this leads to the best college admissions and scholarships. If you want an acutal gifted advanced education, this si the school for you. We know we will graduate from Yorktown because our child does his work and is well behaved. After 3 years at the school he has completed his junior year of high school with an A average and he is only 15 years old.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Plano, TX is $10,420 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Plano, TX is 80% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).