Academy Hill School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
1190 Liberty St
Springfield, MA 01104-0413
Tel: (413)788-0300
Grades: PK-8 | 101 students
previous
next
Academy Hill School tailor each child's education to fit his own individual strengths and learning style.
We build flexibility into our daily schedule to allow each student to work at his own pace, to accelerate as necessary and to have the opportunity to explore his personal areas of interest.
We offer a very challenging curriculum, and we send our students the message that we believe that they are up to the challenge.
The Academy Hill student is bright, curious, enthusiastic about learning, inquisitive, creative and motivated.

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Association of Independent Schools in New England (AISNE)
National Association for the Gifted
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded 1985

Student Body

Total Students 101 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
20%
State avg.: 25%
Students by Grade Academy Hill School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 14 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
% on Financial Aid
15%

School Notes

  • Academy Hill School tailors each child's education to fit his own individual strengths and learning style. We build flexibility into our daily schedule to allow each student to work at his own pace, to accelerate as necessary and to have the opportunity to explore his personal areas of interest. We offer a very challenging curriculum, and we send our students the message that we believe that they are up to the challenge. The Academy Hill student is bright, curious, enthusiastic about learning, inquisitive, creative and motivated.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Academy Hill School also viewed these schools: Amherst Montessori School, Pioneer Valley Christian Academy, Smith College Campus School, White Oak School and The Common School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Amherst
    Amherst Montessori School
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-6 | 116 students
    14.5 miles
    27 Pomeroy Ln
    Amherst, MA 01002
    (413)253-3101
    14.5NS-6
    116
  • Springfield
    Grades: PK-12 | 292 students
    4.1 miles
    965 Plumtree Road
    Springfield, MA 01119
    (413)782-8031
    4.1PK-12
    292
  • Northampton
    Grades: K-7 | 275 students
    13.7 miles
    Gill Hall Prospect St
    Northampton, MA 01063
    (413)585-3270
    13.7K-7
    275
  • Westfield
    White Oak School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-12 | 97 students
    8.3 miles
    533 North Rd
    Westfield, MA 01085
    (413)562-9500
    8.31-12
    97
  • Amherst
    The Common School
    Alternative School
    Grades: K-7 | 119 students
    16.7 miles
    Po Box 2248
    Amherst, MA 01004
    (413)256-8989
    16.7K-7
    119

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
Sending our son to Academy Hill was the best decision we ever made. Ryan was getting lost in the shuffle in his large, elementary school classroom, but ever since we made the switch to AHS he has blossomed! The small classroom size and nurturing environment has given him the confidence to actively engage in classroom activities - what a joy to see! The best part is that he is surrounded each and every day by other children who love to learn, and the spark it's ignited in Ryan will carry him throughout his academic life.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
I am so happy we found AHS. The school places a strong emphasis on nurturing the curiosity and intellect of the students. Because of the small class sizes, the teachers are able to tailor the curriculum to each child's ability and interests. For example, my son is given more challenging math problems because he has shown interest and skill. In addition, there are many fantastic after school programs that further enhance the learning experience. They range from fine arts to robotics. The kids are welcomed into a respectful environment that gives them the best opportunity to learn and grow.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
We have been thrilled with Academy Hill. The teachers, administration and even the support staff are professional, responsive and caring. We felt like part of the Academy Hill family from the very first visit to the campus and our daughter has blossomed since moving to AHS from another local private school. We have been amazed at how well the faculty and staff communicate with us on a regular basis. The class sizes are very small, allowing for our daughter to have a very individualized experience. She is able to grow - intellectually, creatively, and socially - every day. We highly recommend Academy Hill for anyone looking for a exceptional educational experience.
- Posted by
5.0  1/17/2015
Excellent school! Would highly recommend !!!! A +++
- Posted by
5.0  1/17/2015
My daughter has been a student at Academy Hill School for the past 6 years and we have had a wonderful experience. The student/teacher ratio, curriculum, and individual attention given to each student are above and beyond what you will encounter in other schools. I would highly recommend!
- Posted by
5.0  1/17/2015
I would highly recommend this school for any parent looking for an advanced curriculum and caring environment for their motivated child. I have 3 children that have attended Academy Hill and they are all well prepared for their future successes.
- Posted by
5.0  12/19/2014
My child was always "a little ahead" but not way ahead. After only one year at Academy Hill School he grew so much. When he entered Kindergarten he could not read but was ahead in Math. By the end of the first grade he was doing third grade math and reading near third grade level. This is a credit to the teachers. They know how teach to the student and not just to the masses. I can not say enough about how good AHS is.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Springfield, MA is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos