American Preparatory Academy

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
4850 S Pine Island Road
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33328
Tel: (954)434-8936
Grades: K-12 | 140 students
American Preparatory Academy serves K-12 students - Spanish classes everyday - Small Classroom settings - Physical Education everyday - Affordable tuition -McKay and Step Up for Students Scholarships welcome.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
AdvancED
Association of Independent Schools of Florida
National Council for Private School Accreditation
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported ADD, ADHD, DYSLEXIA, AUTISM, DOWN SYNDROME
Year Founded 2007

Student Body

Total Students 140 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
20%
State avg.: 33%
Students by Grade American Preparatory Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 21 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
80%
Average Class Size 17 students
Number of AP Courses 1 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(navy blue, black, and khaki pants, polo with school logo, sweatshirts with school logo)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $16,000
Tuition Notes Don't be afraid of the tuition fee. We offer awesome discounts and work with Scholarships Like Mckay, Ste Up and PLSA Gardiner
Admissions Director Jessica M. Tous

Sports

Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Football, Soccer, VolleyballBasketballFootball,
SoccerVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Advance Art Program / Ar Appreciation and more, Basketball Varsity, PTO PTO, Advance Art Program / Ar Appreciation and more,
Basketball Varsity,

School Notes

  • Low teacher to student ratios, 1:17 ( OR LESS) 
  • Free tutoring offered after school
  • No FCAT
  • Fully Accredited  AISFL - NCPSA - SACS
  • Special needs program promoting inclusion
  • McKay and Step Up for Students accepted
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Grades: PK-12
    1.6 miles
    3375 SW 75 Avenue
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33314
    (954)262-4506
    1.6PK-12
    n/a
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Grades: K-12 | 150 students
    0.8 miles
    4188 S University Drive
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33328
    (954)236-2300
    0.8K-12
    150
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Grades: PK-12 | 109 students
    3.4 miles
    5201 S Flamingo Road
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33330
    (954)779-6221
    3.4PK-12
    109
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Conservatory Prep Senior High School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: 6-12 | 27 students
    0.9 miles
    5850 S. Pine Island Road
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33328
    (954)680-5808
    0.96-12
    27
  • Fort Lauderdale
    Grades: PK-12
    5.3 miles
    12200 W Broward Blvd
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33325
    (954)472-0022
    5.3PK-12
    n/a

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
Academics is outstanding, teachers (it doesn't get better than these teachers!) and facilities (if you are looking for family atmosphere , going out of their way to help) you found American Prepatory Academy
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Loving and caring atmosphere. Small class sizes, individualized attention, special needs inclusion program and therapy provided in school. Great communication with teachers via email or renweb program where your child's grades, HW, etc is posted. Would highly recommend. Great education without the stress of bullying, drugs, or FCAT's!! :)
- Posted by
5.0  7/20/2015
Hello, everyone! I'm not only a school administrator I'm also a parent.. Since 2013, my children are coming to APA. Since the first day they came to school, my kids were happy. Not only because of the teachers attention, but it gave them the chance to be themselves. To feel that they can learn at their pace, without being yelled at or bullied. For me, that's a plus on my book! I was first a parent at APA, and I'm proud to be the Admissions Director.
- Posted by
5.0  4/8/2013
Safe, loving environment, free of bullying and scrutiny. Students can learn in a positive atmosphere and grow socially, emotionally, and academically.
- Posted by
5.0  3/15/2013
My special needs children have attended this school for four years. The teachers are very accessable and the children learn at their own pace. Class sizes are small. My children are learning sign language as part of the curriculum. I love the after school clubs, art and gardening and video club. The children are protected from bullying. I am very happy with this school and recommend it.
- Posted by
5.0  6/20/2012
The teachers and staff are amazing! It feels like a close knit community where everybody knows your name. My step-son excelled once he transferred from public school, since being able to participate in basketball it has opened up a new world for him, something he would never have been able to do in the public sector. Thank you APA you changed our lives
- Posted by
5.0  1/19/2012
Drug-free and Bully-Free environment. Small teacher/student ratios and inclusion program for Special Needs Students. My son has been at APA for 3 years now and loves it. He is learning and receiving his individualized attention and therapies. Principal has open-door policy for parents to communicate with her and you do not need to wait a month for a meeting. Very happy with the school and will highly recommend!!! 10 Stars **********
- Posted by
5.0  1/10/2012
Excellent parent/teacher communication. Drug free, Bully Free school. My Special Needs son is very happy. He needs extra help and it is provided for him at no additional cost. His grades and self-esteem have improved dramatically since pulling him out of public school and into American Preparatory.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Fort Lauderdale, FL is $5,731 for elementary schools and $14,269 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fort Lauderdale, FL is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).