Green Acres School

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
11701 Danville Drive
Rockville, MD 20852-0208
Tel: (301)881-4100
Grades: NS-8 | 299 students
previous
next
As one of the nation's most recognized schools for children age 3 to grade 8, Green Acres School empowering students to be makers and risk takers ingniting a love of learning in every child.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Other school association(s)
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded 1934

Student Body

Total Students 299 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
32%
State avg.: 34%
Students by Grade Green Acres School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 45 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
60%
Average Class Size 12 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 20 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $35,270
Tuition Notes $17,700 - $35,270
% on Financial Aid
31%
Average Financial Aid Grant $18,500
Acceptance Rate
63%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Trevor Waddington and Nina Chibber
Admissions Associate Judy Shniderman

Sports

Total Sports Offered 7 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Track and FieldBasketballCross Country,
LacrosseSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
Track and Field

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. & more ), Extended Day Program., Sports. After-School Enrichment Programs (arts, cooking, strategy games, technology, yoga & more ), cooking, strategy games, technology, yoga, Extended Day Program.,
Sports. After-School Enrichment Programs (arts,

School Notes

  • Voted "Best K8 School" by Bethesda Magazine readers in 2014 and named a top vote getter in 2016, Green Acres School is among the nation`s foremost progressive schools. Green Acres School ignites a love of learning in every child, providing students with meaningful, rigorous challenges that empower them to tap into their intellect, curiosity, compassion, determination, and innate joy for learning.Teachers at Green Acres are experts in education and child development. They skillfully blend innovation, brain research, and tradition to help students develop into determined makers and risk takers, and driven learners. Green Acres graduates find success in high school, college, and beyond, using their solid intellectual foundation, creativity, and strong ethical framework to emerge as leaders in a wide variety of disciplines.Located minutes from 1-270 and 1-495 on 15 wooded acres in North Bethesda, learning at Green Acres extends into the forest and streams-particularly advantageous for STEAM learning across all divisions-playgrounds, and athletic fields. The school was named a Maryland Green School in 2015.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Potomac
    Grades: K-12
    2 miles
    8224 Lochinver Lane
    Potomac, MD 20854
    (301)299-8277
    2K-12
    n/a
  • Bethesda
    Grades: PK-8 | 480 students
    3.9 miles
    8821 River Road
    Bethesda, MD 20817
    (301)841-2130
    3.9PK-8
    480
  • Barnesville
    Grades: NS-8 | 168 students
    17.4 miles
    21830 Peach Tree Road
    Barnesville, MD 20838
    (301)972-0341
    17.4NS-8
    168
  • Bethesda
    Grades: PK-12 | 1101 students
    4.7 miles
    5100 Edgemoor Lane
    Bethesda, MD 20814
    (202)537-6900
    4.7PK-12
    1101
  • Potomac
    Geneva Day School
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-K | 220 students
    1.7 miles
    11931 Seven Locks Rd
    Potomac, MD 20854
    (301)340-7704
    1.7NS-K
    220

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5.0  10/26/2016
I love this school so much! All three of my kids have attended/are attending, and each one is such a comfortable and confident person. At graduation in 8th grade, each child offers some kind of performance - anything from an original speech or story, musical performance, or tai kwon do expo. It's remarkable how each and every kid is comfortable speaking to and being in front of a large crowd. I also love the campus and all the time kids get outdoors. The teachers are always very available and amazing.
- Posted by
5.0  10/1/2016
Our son loves Green Acres so much he asks why he can't go to school on weekends. This place is an island of sanity in the sea of stress we are all to familiar with in the DC Metro area. Since we decided to invest in these most formative and precious years we've seen him grow from a timid boy and unsure student to a young man who is confident, assertive, and passionate about learning. The parents at this school really embrace newcomers and we have been welcomed into their homes.
- Posted by
5.0  10/1/2016
I am a 3rd generation Washingtonian that attended all private schools, co-ed and then all-girls all the way through high school. As the mother of a current Green Acres 2nd grader, I am happy to write a review of this exceptional school. The environment is challenging, stimulating and the teachers do a wonderful job of focusing on the social and emotional health of children, the importance of which cannot be emphasized enough. The faculty and staff work simultaneously with parents to enrich each individual child's experience. My son has flourished, his self-confidence has grown, he is engaged academically and loves school. The hands-on approach to learning is what is absent in other area schools, but it is a core element of the Green Acres program and philosophy. The fact that the school ends in 8th grade is an ADVANTAGE I feel prospective families need to understand this: your child changes each year, so the student they are in 3rd grade will grow and evolve by Middle School. By 8th grade, the high school selection process is that much EASIER particularly because Green Acres does such a fantastic job with their Middle School kids, preparing them WELL for the next chapter : how to self-advocate, how to organize, how to approach teachers, how to work collaboratively as well as independently. I also want to add that Green Acres graduates are HIGHLY sought after by other area independent high schools. All you need to do is look at where the 8th grade class has been accepted, and that these children have options.Other area schools actually seek out Green Acres 8th graders. Finally, I want to address the importance of a school that ends in 8th grade. I understand that many families do not want to switch schools at high school time for reasons such as "they won't have as good a chance of getting in if we wait for high school" or "we want a school that goes 3-12 and it is easier," the admissions process in 9th grade is different - MANY vacancies open up as schools EXPAND their classes in 9th grade so keep that in mind. I personally know multiple families whose children started at schools beginning in 3rd grade and they thought they were all set until 12th grade only to discover, that sure enough, the high school was not a match and they wound up transferring. We love Green Acres and did a lot of research in selecting a school for our son so my advice - talk to current families as well as parents of graduates, tour the school and spend time on campus especially observing classrooms, meet the Admissions folks, and by all means, stop by and meet the Head of School, Neal Brown. You will not meet a more approachable, savvy and sophisticated team of people highly specialized in their field! Sincerely, Lauren Gage
- Posted by
5.0  10/1/2016
My children have been at Green Acres since PreK and have absolutely thrived over the past several years (in both lower and middle school). They love going to school and are excited for each new day. The teachers are very attentive and nurturing and provide a comfortable environment for them. The academics are presented in both traditional and nontraditional ways. Most importantly, they learn how to apply concepts to everyday life and often come home with insights and connections that just amaze me. They are taught to be inquisitive and active participants in learning. The teachers are phenomenal in integrating learning in all crevices of their day to day, including free play. Green Acres kids are taught to think more abstractly, which is a far more complex and advanced way of processing information. The teachers are incredibly skilled and passionate and this enthusiasm is clearly transferred to students. We have been so thankful to the school for creating an environment where our kids are continually evolving as thinking, caring, and creative individuals.
- Posted by
5.0  2/26/2016
This is our daughter's first year at Green Acres School and what an awesome experience she has had! She adores going to school every day, is energized and engaged, her teachers really know her and challenge her to be her best. The entire community is extremely warm and open and although we've only been apart of it for five months, it feels like much longer. If you are considering an independent school, go visit and you will understand why it is such a special place.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Montgomery County, MD is $13,037 for elementary schools and $23,102 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Montgomery County, MD is 78% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).