Bridges Academy

3921 Laurel Canyon Blvd.,
Studio City, CA, 91604-0914
     Tel: (818)506-1091
Grades: 5 - 12 | 147 students
Bridges Academy is a college preparatory school dedicated to educating "twice-exceptional" students-gifted and highly-gifted with learning differences—in grades 5-12.
Bridges empowers its students to thrive academically and socially through small classes, differentiated instruction, and tolerance, creating an environment in which both gifts and differences are recognized and respected.
Individual learning profiles are created for each student.
The Bridges educational model is strength based and talent development driven.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Institute for Independent Education
California Association of Independent Schools (CAIS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades 5 - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported AD/HD, NLD, learning differences
Year Founded 1994

Student Body

Total Students 147 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 3%
State avg.: 43%
Students by Grade Bridges Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 41 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 8 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Doug Lenzini

Sports

Total Sports Offered 3 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Track and FieldBasketballCross Country,
Track and Field

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Band, Creative Writing, Model United Nations (MUN), Robotics, Studio Art Band, Robotics, Studio Art, Creative Writing,
Model United Nations (MUN),

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Campbell Hall School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Abc Little School (0.7 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Abc Little School (0.7 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Studio CityAbc Little School
    Daycare / Preschool
    11728 Moorpark St
    Studio CityCA91604
    (818)766-5557
    Daycare / Preschool
    0.7 mi | 15 students | Gr. PK-KG                      
  • Valley VillageCampbell Hall School
      (Episcopal)
    4533 Laurel Canyon Blvd
    Valley VillageCA91607
    (818)980-7280
      (Episcopal)
    0.9 mi | 1108 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • Studio CityEmerson Academy For Arts & Sciences
    Special Education School
    12749 Ventura Blvd.
    Studio CityCA91604
    (818)761-4898
    Special Education School
    0.9 mi | 14 students | Gr. 3-12                      
  • Studio CityHarvard-Westlake School
    3700 Coldwater Canyon Avenue
    Studio CityCA91604
    (818)980-6692
    1.1 mi | 1593 students | Gr. 7-12                      
  • Valley VillageBriarwood Preschool & Kindergarten
    Daycare / Preschool
    12150 Riverside Dr
    Valley VillageCA91607
    (818)766-0700
    Daycare / Preschool
    1.1 mi | 12 students | Gr. PK-KG                      

School Reviews

Recommended
1 week ago
Bridges Academy has change our life for the better. We feel so lucky to be party of the Bridges Family. For the first time in 8 years, our son looks forward to going to school. He has friends, he no longer feels different and most importantly he can learn and thrive in an environment where is completely understood.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
3 weeks ago
Every day, I thank heaven that my son attends Bridges -- and so does he. While our local elementary school tried hard, it simply didn''t have the resources to deal either with his giftedness or with the social, emotional and behavioral problems that emerge when you try to force an idiosyncratically shaped peg into a standard-sized hole. Bridges adapts the environment to fit the kid, and the result is transformative. With its small class sizes, staff that knows how to deal with sensitive and quirky kids, and teachers who are committed to nurturing brilliant minds, Bridges has transformed our lives.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 month ago
If you have a 2E child (twice exceptional child = gifted with a learning or behavioral disorder), Bridges Academy is the school for you!!! This school changed our lives! Although our son is "highly gifted", he scored so low on the ISEE exam that he was not accepted to 6 private middle schools. He was already on medication for ADHD, but we subsequently learned he has learning disorders as well (working memory and processing speed). We found this school through LA School Scout, Sandy Eiges. What a perfect fit! Our son began last year in 6th grade and has blossomed at this school. He''s now with kids that are like him, teachers that understand him and an education plan made just for him! WE LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Bridges is a one of a kind school, much like it students. Before discovering Bridges, my son''s day was consumed with unraveling all the things that went wrong with it. He was misunderstood and often bullied by students and teachers alike. His gifted qualities singled him out as "different" and "strange". My son has been at Bridges for 3 years and our whole lives have changed. No longer do we "unravel" at the school days end. Bridges celebrates my son''s talents and embraces them as well as understanding the complex challenges that a 2E student faces . It has enriched all of our lives and given my son a safe place to thrive and move forward with confidence in. I highly recommend Bridges Academy.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Bridges is a school for quirky, gifted kids which enables them to thrive, socially and academically. The individual attention each student gets is impressive. Academic programs, while rigorous, are inspiring to the kids, and the school's lack of bullying, drugs, and peer pressure enables kids to focus on social, emotional and intellectual development, instead of this week's popularity crises. The facility, recently purchased, is lovely, with room to grow. I wouldn't say Bridges can compete with a 1,000 student school for variety of after school programs, or sports teams, but the low teacher/student ratio and sense of community more than make up for these deficits. A student here can feel more relaxed, and yet intellectually challenged. Most of my fellow Bridges parents have stopped agonizing about their child's quirkiness. Here these quirks are perceived as potential assets, not deficits.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Bridges Academy is a school for twice exceptional children. It is an amazing school -- one that teaches by using each student's strengths to overcome their weaknesses. It has been an unbelievably good experience to have teachers understand our child. This is a school that truly individuates its curriculum for each student. They have used what our son liked and got our son to take an interest in writing (which used to be a struggle despite being incredibly bright) and in other subjects. Bridges follows through and achieves an education that reaches, engages and fulfills the potential of its students. We are still astounded that Bridges actually does what it promises to do for our son. We could not be happier.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Bridges is outstanding! My son spent most of his school life before Bridges feeling alone and mis-understood. When he entered in 6th grade he was embraced and celebrated for his gifts and given a safe place to learn and grow. The small class size and teacher qualifications for working with 2e kids has made the classroom an entirely different place for my son. Every parent at Bridges understands the unique and often challenging issue's they must face with a 2e child. The parent body is supportive and understanding. I highly recommend this school.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Bridges Academy has been a perfect fit for our son. The classes are small and the teachers don't overburden the students with homework. He is thriving both academically and socially in a school that understands gifted students with learning differences. They also have a wonderful theater program that has helped him overcome his shyness. In just a few short years, he has gone from being painfully shy to belting out a solo in the school musical. And for the first time in his life he actually enjoys going to school.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Homeschool or Private School?
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Religious Schools: An Overview
Your religion matters to you. You want your child to attend a school which will combine academics and religious education. Here is an overview of what is available together with some links to denominational web sites.
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Los Angeles County, CA is $10,289 for elementary schools and $14,927 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Los Angeles County, CA is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).