Bridges Academy

3921 Laurel Canyon Blvd.
Studio City, CA 91604-0914
Tel: (818)506-1091
Grades: 4 - 12 | 170 students
Bridges Academy is a college preparatory school dedicated to educating "twice-exceptional" students-gifted and highly-gifted with learning differences—in grades 4-12.
Bridges empowers its students to thrive academically and socially through small classes, differentiated instruction, and tolerance, creating an environment in which both gifts and differences are recognized and respected.
Individual learning profiles are created for each student.
The Bridges educational model is strength-based and talent-development driven.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. California Association of Independent Schools (CAIS)
California Association for the Gifted
Grades Offered Grades 4 - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported AD/HD, NLD, learning differences
Year Founded 1994

Student Body

Total Students 170 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 3%
State avg.: 45%
Students by Grade Bridges Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 48 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 7%
Average Class Size 8 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Doug Lenzini

Sports

Total Sports Offered 3 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Track and FieldBasketballCross Country,
Track and Field

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Band, Creative Writing, Debate, Music Composition/Production, Robotics, Studio Art, Sustainability, Theatre Tech Band, Debate, Robotics, Studio Art, Sustainability, Theatre Tech, Creative Writing,
Music Composition/Production,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Campbell Hall School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Abc Little School (0.7 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Abc Little School (0.7 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Studio City
    Abc Little School
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: PK-KG | 103 students
    0.7 miles
    11728 Moorpark St
    Studio City, CA 91604
    (818)766-5557
    0.7PK-KG
    103
  • Valley Village
    Grades: K-12 | 1108 students
    0.9 miles
    4533 Laurel Canyon Blvd
    Valley Village, CA 91607
    (818)980-7280
    0.9K-12
    1108
  • Studio City
    Emerson Academy For Arts & Sciences
    Special Education School
    Grades: 3-12 | 14 students
    1 miles
    12749 Ventura Blvd.
    Studio City, CA 91604
    (818)761-4898
    13-12
    14
  • Studio City
    Grades: 7-12 | 1593 students
    1.1 miles
    3700 Coldwater Canyon Avenue
    Studio City, CA 91604
    (818)980-6692
    1.17-12
    1593
  • Valley Village
    Grades: PK-KG | 24 students
    1.1 miles
    12150 Riverside Dr
    Valley Village, CA 91607
    (209)543-7860
    1.1PK-KG
    24

School Reviews

Bridges Academy has change our life for the better. We feel so lucky to be party of the Bridges Family. For the first time in 8 years, our son looks forward to going to school. He has friends, he no longer feels different and most importantly he can learn and thrive in an environment where is completely understood.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 11/20/14
Every day, I thank heaven that my son attends Bridges -- and so does he. While our local elementary school tried hard, it simply didn''t have the resources to deal either with his giftedness or with the social, emotional and behavioral problems that emerge when you try to force an idiosyncratically shaped peg into a standard-sized hole. Bridges adapts the environment to fit the kid, and the result is transformative. With its small class sizes, staff that knows how to deal with sensitive and quirky kids, and teachers who are committed to nurturing brilliant minds, Bridges has transformed our lives.
- Posted by Parent, 11/05/14
If you have a 2E child (twice exceptional child = gifted with a learning or behavioral disorder), Bridges Academy is the school for you!!! This school changed our lives! Although our son is "highly gifted", he scored so low on the ISEE exam that he was not accepted to 6 private middle schools. He was already on medication for ADHD, but we subsequently learned he has learning disorders as well (working memory and processing speed). We found this school through LA School Scout, Sandy Eiges. What a perfect fit! Our son began last year in 6th grade and has blossomed at this school. He''s now with kids that are like him, teachers that understand him and an education plan made just for him! WE LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!
- Posted by Parent, 09/30/14
Bridges is a one of a kind school, much like it students. Before discovering Bridges, my son''s day was consumed with unraveling all the things that went wrong with it. He was misunderstood and often bullied by students and teachers alike. His gifted qualities singled him out as "different" and "strange". My son has been at Bridges for 3 years and our whole lives have changed. No longer do we "unravel" at the school days end. Bridges celebrates my son''s talents and embraces them as well as understanding the complex challenges that a 2E student faces . It has enriched all of our lives and given my son a safe place to thrive and move forward with confidence in. I highly recommend Bridges Academy.
- Posted by Parent, 06/01/12
Bridges is a school for quirky, gifted kids which enables them to thrive, socially and academically. The individual attention each student gets is impressive. Academic programs, while rigorous, are inspiring to the kids, and the school's lack of bullying, drugs, and peer pressure enables kids to focus on social, emotional and intellectual development, instead of this week's popularity crises. The facility, recently purchased, is lovely, with room to grow. I wouldn't say Bridges can compete with a 1,000 student school for variety of after school programs, or sports teams, but the low teacher/student ratio and sense of community more than make up for these deficits. A student here can feel more relaxed, and yet intellectually challenged. Most of my fellow Bridges parents have stopped agonizing about their child's quirkiness. Here these quirks are perceived as potential assets, not deficits.
- Posted by Parent, 04/09/12
Bridges Academy is a school for twice exceptional children. It is an amazing school -- one that teaches by using each student's strengths to overcome their weaknesses. It has been an unbelievably good experience to have teachers understand our child. This is a school that truly individuates its curriculum for each student. They have used what our son liked and got our son to take an interest in writing (which used to be a struggle despite being incredibly bright) and in other subjects. Bridges follows through and achieves an education that reaches, engages and fulfills the potential of its students. We are still astounded that Bridges actually does what it promises to do for our son. We could not be happier.
- Posted by Parent, 04/09/12
Bridges is outstanding! My son spent most of his school life before Bridges feeling alone and mis-understood. When he entered in 6th grade he was embraced and celebrated for his gifts and given a safe place to learn and grow. The small class size and teacher qualifications for working with 2e kids has made the classroom an entirely different place for my son. Every parent at Bridges understands the unique and often challenging issue's they must face with a 2e child. The parent body is supportive and understanding. I highly recommend this school.
- Posted by Parent, 04/09/12
Bridges Academy has been a perfect fit for our son. The classes are small and the teachers don't overburden the students with homework. He is thriving both academically and socially in a school that understands gifted students with learning differences. They also have a wonderful theater program that has helped him overcome his shyness. In just a few short years, he has gone from being painfully shy to belting out a solo in the school musical. And for the first time in his life he actually enjoys going to school.
- Posted by Parent, 03/16/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Los Angeles County, CA is $10,184 for elementary schools and $15,070 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Los Angeles County, CA is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).