Long Island Lutheran Middle & High School

131 Brookville Road
Glen Head, NY 11545-0115
Tel: (516)626-1700
Grades: 6 - 12 | 596 students
Serving approximately 600 students in grades 6-12, Long Island LUtheran offers a college preparatory program of academic excellence and Christian distinctiveness within the Lutheran tradition.  Students come from more than 50 schol districts throughout Long Island, creating a school community that is rich in cultural, ethnic and religious diversity.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
New York State Association of Independent Schools (NYSAIS)
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Religious Affiliation Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod
Grades Offered Grades 6 - 12
Year Founded 1960

Student Body

Total Students 596 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 25%
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Long Island Lutheran Middle & High School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 60 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 77%
Average Class Size 18 students
Number of AP Courses 14 courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Microeconomics, AP Physics
Average SAT score 1720
Average ACT score 24

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $12,100
Tuition Notes middle school: $10,875 high school: $12,100
% on Financial Aid 24%
Average Financial Aid Grant $1,700
Acceptance Rate 66%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Barbara Ward

School Notes:

Long IslandLutheran's admission process is designed to help identify students who will thrive in our school environment.  We wselcome applications from students who are bright, creative and motivated.

Families interested in admission are encouraged to attend an open house beginning in September (for admission the following fall).  In addition to submitting an applciation for admission, records release, and application fee, students are required to successfylly complete our entrance examination.  A review of previous school records and a personal interview with each candidate are also required.

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Harmony Heights School (1.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Harmony Heights School (1.7 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Brookville Center For Childrens Services (1.7 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • East Norwich
    Harmony Heights School
    All-girls  | Special Education School
    Grades: 8-12 | 61 students
    1.7 miles
    60 Walnut Ave
    East Norwich, NY 11732
    (516)922-6688
    1.78-12
    61
  • Glen Head
    Grades: PK | 232 students
    1.7 miles
    189 Wheatley Rd
    Glen Head, NY 11545
    (516)626-1000
    1.7PK
    232
  • Syosset
    Grades: PK-KG | 301 students
    2.5 miles
    47 Humphrey Dr
    Syosset, NY 11791
    (516)921-7171
    2.5PK-KG
    301
  • Syosset
    Grades: K-9 | 268 students
    2.5 miles
    2 Teibrook Ave
    Syosset, NY 11791
    (516)921-7767
    2.5K-9
    268
  • Syosset
    Grades: PK-1 | 101 students
    2.6 miles
    247 Jackson Ave
    Syosset, NY 11791
    (516)921-4949
    2.6PK-1
    101

School Reviews

My daughter attended LuHi for 7 years and has just completed her first year of college. I can''t say enough about the school. The faculty and staff are fabulous, the environment is nurturing and the campus is absolutely beautiful. The curriculum is excellent and prepared her very well for the intense pace of collegiate academics. She made a lot of friendships that will last a lifetime. The sports program is awesome, offering many different teams. They also have a wealth of clubs and activities that appeal to all types of children. LuHi embraces tolerance and cultural diversity. As a parent, the environment was socially pleasing and many parents like myself continue on with LuHi many years after their children have graduated and moved on. I honestly don''t think that you can make a better choice for your child!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We have sent all our nine children to this tremendous school due to its excellence in its academic program, the wonderful opportunity it presents for athletics and other extracurricular activities, and its strong Christian philosophy and world view.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Long Island Luheran is a great school of passionate learning environment coupled with a deep spiritual foundation. Student involvement is huge, and students are always involved in something, whether it is being on a team, attending a game or charity event, or community service. These three factors -learning, spirit, and involvement- offer a foundation that would cultivate a well rounded young adult, who would be more than ready to enter the next chapter of their life in college. I graduated this year, and I know ill be successful with LuHi as a part of my life
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 08/23/13
AN EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR MY SONS! If you are looking for an alternative to test-driven public education in a warm, small, caring setting ... LuHi is for your child!
- Posted by Parent, 07/03/13
When my son was in public school he was becoming a behavior issue and started getting in trouble. He was very smart, but not being challenged. He began 7th grade at LUHI and will be entering 10th grade in the fall. It has been a blessing. The entire staff gets to know each student on an individual basis. They are so professional and work hard to help with the individual needs of each students. When you walk through the front door, you can feel the calm, friendly, fun atmosphere that surrounds the school. It is a beautiful place and I will be so happy when both my children are there this fall.
- Posted by Parent, 06/25/13
Wonderful Christian environment with personal attention, caring staff, and great students. The curriculum allows for individual attention with high academic standards. Many opportunites for students to be involved in extracurricula activities while still keeping that small school feel. I feel confident that my daughter will be prepared to excel in college after she graduates from LuHi in 2014.
- Posted by Parent, 06/25/13
I am thrilled with LuHI as the middle school and high school choice for my three kids. My kids couldn''t be more different as people, yet all three feel connected, supported and successful. Perhaps the most impressive trait I have found, is the staff commitment to the children and families who attend. Academics are strong and opportunities exist for advanced placement and personal challenge. The athletics and extracurricular activities are numerous and all three of my children have found their own niche despite different interests. As a parent, I would have to say that the greatest gift LuHi offers to its families, is the commitment to help foster kind, inquisitive and confident young adults. LuHi is a blessing.
- Posted by Parent, 12/11/12
Great school!! My daughter attended for 7 years and thrived..The academic program is challenging, teachers are nuturing and the facilities are small and inviting. The school is very spiritual and tolerance is a main theme. If you''re looking for a warm nuturing environment for your child, look no further!!
- Posted by Parent, 12/11/12
LuHi is a wonderful Christian school located on a beautiful campus. The caring staff provide students with a high quality education! As a teacher, I am extremely pleased with my son''s middle school and high school experience at Long Island Lutheran!
- Posted by Parent, 12/11/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Nassau County, NY is $15,100 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Nassau County, NY is 74% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).