Upland Country Day School

420 W Street Road,
Kennett Square, PA, 19348-0193
     Tel: (610)444-3035
Grades: PK - 9 | 134 students
Upland Country Day School’s mission is to develop independent and lifelong learners.
We want our students to be courageous, to appreciate the uniqueness of self and others, to be good citizens, and to demonstrate good stewardship.
Our academic program, enhanced by current computer technology, the arts, and athletics, is designed to promote the intellectual, moral, and physical potential of each child.
To that end, Upland aims to create a nurturing environment with small classes and a dedicated faculty who care deeply about children.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools (PAIS)
Delaware Association of Independent Schools
Association of Delaware Valley Independent Schools
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 9
Year Founded 1948

Student Body

Total Students 134 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 11%
State avg.: 26%
Students by Grade Upland Country Day School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 28 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 60%
Average Class Size 16 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(dress pants/skirts, collared shirts)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $18,375
Tuition Notes $10,200 to $22,470
% on Financial Aid 35%
Admissions Director Patrick Manahan

Sports

Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Cross Country, Field Hockey, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Winter TrackCross CountryField Hockey,
Ice HockeyLacrosse,
SoccerWinter Track,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Student Council, Yearbook, Chorus, Vocal Ensemble Yearbook,  Chorus, Student Council,
Vocal Ensemble,

School Notes:

Small classes, a solid curriculum, strong test scores, highly credentialed teachers… You expect these things from any good school. But at Upland Country Day, you should expect much more for your child. You should expect her to be known as an individual and valued as a member of a dynamic school community. You should expect him to be surrounded with a wealth of artistic, athletic, and character building opportunities so he discovers his own strengths and his own path. You should expect to be surprised how comfortable and confident she is and how easy it is for her to take risks and try things she never thought she would try. You should expect him to gain an appreciation and understanding of his world – locally and globally. And, you should expect her to become not just her smartest self, but also her best self. When your child leaves here, he or she will be ready for anything. That’s what you should expect from Upland Country Day School. 

Profile last updated: 11/11/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Centreville Layton School (4.4 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Ducklings Early Learning Center (1.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Patrick School (3.2 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Kennett SquareDucklings Early Learning Center
    Daycare / Preschool
    700 Old Forge Lane
    Kennett SquarePA19348
    (610)388-1520
    Daycare / Preschool
    1.2 mi | 12 students | Gr. K                      
  • Kennett SquareSt Patrick School
      (Roman Catholic)
    210 Meredith St
    Kennett SquarePA19348
    (610)444-3104
      (Roman Catholic)
    3.2 mi | 171 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • WilmingtonCentreville Layton School
    Special Education School
    6201 Kennett Pike
    WilmingtonDE19807
    (302)571-0230
    Special Education School
    4.4 mi | n/a students | Gr. PK-12                      
  • West ChesterThe Goddard School
    Daycare / Preschool
    630 Sugars Bridge Rd
    West ChesterPA19380
    (610)431-1330
    Daycare / Preschool
    5 mi | 13 students | Gr. PK-K                      
  • Kennett SquareLondon Grove Friends Kindergarten
    Daycare / Preschool  (Friends)
    500 W Street Rd
    Kennett SquarePA19348
    (610)268-8466
    Daycare / Preschool  (Friends)
    5.3 mi | 28 students | Gr. K                      

School Reviews

Recommended
1 month ago
To this day, my favorite teachers still reside at Upland. I attended from K through 9, and I cannot speak highly enough about the people at Upland who helped mold me into a successful graduate. They were sensitive to my learning style, they took a vested interest in my success, they challenged me to try new things, and they have always enthusiastically supported my life after graduation. It is a special place, and one where I love to return each and every year to say "thank you".
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
2 months ago
Upland Country Day School is more than just a school. It is a wonderful community of warm and loving faculty, students and families. We recently transferred here from a large public school and have been blown away by the changes we have seen in our daughters. My "artist" is loving and embracing sports. My "I hate school" kid is up, dressed and excited to get out the door to Upland. The campus is beautiful. The teachers are friendly, enthusiastic and accessible. The parents are welcoming and kind. Yoga in the classrooms, sports, arts & academics...Upland is cultivating not just awesome students but well-adjusted, balanced citizens. We love it here!!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
9 months ago
I feel indebted to Upland Country Day School for the education both my son (attended grade 4-9) and my daughter (K-9) received. They both learned solid study habits, reinforced with academic excellence which gave them the opportunity to attend excellent prep schools (St. Andrews in DE and Pingree in MA) with confidence and success. Additionally, they were able to pursue sports and arts in a fun, learning school community. My daughter''s favorite sport was ice hockey and she has continued to play in her new school thanks to Uplands excellent start. The faculty, facility and community make Upland a wonderful place to be!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
9 months ago
I have put 2 kids through Upland Country Day School and presently have my 3 and last child enrolled. We are very happy with the school and highly recommend it. I love the small class sizes and the personel attention my kids recieved. The parent community are involved and the teacher care for the school and the kids. Best kept secret for the value paid.All the kids get involved with sports and the arts. I watched my shy daughter blossem out of that mold due to 100%of student participation.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
We have one graduate and one current Upper School student. Upland''s 4 A''s (Attitude, Academics, Arts & Athletics) is a well-rounded program which gives students the opportunity to experience and excel in areas which they might not otherwise attempt in a larger public school. Both our children discovered their strengths, talents and interests from trying new things, both in and out of the classroom at Upland Country Day School. Our graduate was confident in moving on to 10th grade & college and we continue to see our Upper School student becoming a mature leader in school. Would highly recommend the school for its supportive, creative and engaging teachers and the strong sense of community.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Upland has done an amazing job for all 4 of my children, who are each very different learners and personalities. My oldest two children have graduated, and they were able to dictate where they went on to high school as they were so well prepared. My younger two are still at Upland and loving it. It is challenging and nurturing and the faculty is completely committed. Great campus, too!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Upland is really an amazing school. My kids moved over from the local public school this year and it has been the best decision we have ever made. My daughter was shy and intimidated to try sports or anything out of her comfort zone. The teachers and the school community were so welcoming and encouraging -- This year she sang a solo in the the holiday show, played (and loved) field hockey, ice hockey and lacrosse and has become confident in herself as a young woman. My son thought of himself as an athlete, and academics and the arts were just not cool for a middle schooler. With Upland''s full participation program, he discovered that he was more than an athlete, though he is still excelling in sports. He found an interest in and talent for art and, because of the encouragement of his outstanding teachers, he enjoys school and even made the honor roll for the first time. I am so proud of and happy about the growth and confidence in my children because of their Upland experience!
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Don't assume you cannot afford private school. Don't assume that you make too much money to be eligible for financial aid. Ask. Always ask.
Cristo Rey Schools: A Different Kind of School
The Cristo Rey Network of schools currently comprises some 26 schools in 17 states and the District of Columbia. Truth is they are just getting started.
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Chester County, PA is $8,235 for elementary schools and $27,925 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Chester County, PA is 80% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos