Covenant Christian Academy

901 Cheek Sparger Rd
Colleyville, TX 76034-0760
Tel: (817)281-4333
Grades: PK - 12 | 733 students
previous
45k sq ft educational space opened in 2010.  Houses grades PreK through 4th.
next
45k sq ft educational space opened in 2010.  Houses grades PreK through 4th.
The mission of Covenant Christian Academy is to provide a biblically based, classical, college preparatory education that inspires a passion for excellence, a heart of grace, and the character of Christ.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Mild learning differences
Year Founded 1979

Student Body

Total Students 733 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 11%
State avg.: 37%
Students by Grade Covenant Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 80 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 30%
Average Class Size 17 students
Number of AP Courses 8 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Biolobgy, AP Calculus, AP English, AP French, AP Spanish, AP German, AP History
Average SAT score 1635
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Uniforms - Required from Parker Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes $7,000 - $13,800. No hidden fees. No registration fee. No athletics fee. No fine arts fees. No campus enhancement fees.
Acceptance Rate 70%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Brenda Huckins

Sports

Total Sports Offered 11 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. ACSI Math Olympics, ACSI Speech Meet Competitions, Cougar Cub Cheerleading, National Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society, Science Club, Student Council Science Club, ACSI Math Olympics,
ACSI Speech Meet Competitions,
Cougar Cub Cheerleading,
National Honor Society,
National Junior Honor Society,
Student Council,

School Notes:

  • Premier Classical Education; Distinctly Biblical Worldview
  • Fully accredited through ASCI and SACS
  • 99% of graduates attend college
  • The 38 graduates from the class of 2014 received over $3.8 million in college scholarship offers for academics and athletics
  • Non-denominational Bible Curriculum
  • Classical model of teaching instills a life-long love for learning as we study the example of the greatest thinkers of Western Civilization
  • Full sports programs with 25 State Championships since 2005
  • Competitive sports programs begin in 5th grade
  • Comprehensive Fine Arts program that includes music, theater, art, video production, strings, and worship ensemble
  • Fully staged drama and musical productions
  • A community of shared spiritual and moral values
  • Voted "Best Private School" by area residents numerous times since 2007

Profile last updated: 10/06/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is EA Young Academy (3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Primrose School Of Mid-cities (0.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is North Park Christian Academy (0.9 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Hurst
    Grades: K-1 | 124 students
    0.4 miles
    500 Mid Cities Blvd
    Hurst, TX 76054
    (817)485-8993
    0.4K-1
    124
  • Fort Worth
    Grades: PK-3 | 35 students
    0.9 miles
    7025 Mid Cities Blvd
    Fort Worth, TX 76182
    (817)498-8456
    0.9PK-3
    35
  • Colleyville
    Waypoint Montessori
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-8 | 203 students
    2.2 miles
    1513 Hall Johnson Rd
    Colleyville, TX 76034
    (817)354-6670
    2.2PK-8
    203
  • Bedford
    Primrose School Of Bedford
    Alternative School
    Grades: K | 48 students
    2.4 miles
    3916 Central Dr
    Bedford, TX 76021
    (817)545-5485
    2.4K
    48
  • Hurst
    Red Apple School At Peace Lutheran Church
    Daycare / Preschool (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    Grades: PK-K | 239 students
    2.7 miles
    941 W Bedford Euless Rd
    Hurst, TX 76053
    (817)284-7833
    2.7PK-K
    239

School Reviews

CCA provides a quality Christ centered education. I feel the administration and the teachers all share these same goals. My children are getting a consistent message at home,school and church. The school provides all the programs I would want for my kids. We love CCA.
- Posted by Parent, 04/27/15
Child safety including: 1. Social = Reasonable presumptions can be made concerning social views of classmates. The school rejects those without proper moral codes of conduct, otherwise I can send my son to any magnet school. 2. Physical = Caring, vigilant adults (staff) who are not overwhelmed or outnumbered to the point of complacency. A male headmaster who is over 6 foot provides the impression that physical issues will be dealt with if needed. Scholastic: Those with the best education obtain the best jobs and by result, can have the best lives and become leaders. The program develops minds with knowledge/skill far superior to most college graduates. I am particularly pleased to see science shown to complement biblical teachings instead of the either/or battle that makes no sense to me. Combining this with the Latin program, I feel my challenge as a parent will be to find a college that can do my child justice once he graduates. (he is only in 6th, but I know he could already pass the entrance exams to the college I attended.) Social Development: I do not know how they do it, but all H.S. students appear satisfied and purposeful.
- Posted by Parent, 12/19/14
CCA provides a very safe environment for the students, the curriculum is top-notch, and the teachers truly care about their students. (Obviously, a Christian environment is extremely important to us.) The CCA School of Fine Arts is amazing, including art classes, private instrumental lessons after school, and an incredible musical theater program. CCA isn''t just a school. It''s a loving community of families. This makes all the difference. Our son has attended CCA since Pre-K, and is now in 6th grade. He has flourished in every way -- academically, socially, emotionally, physically, and in his spiritual development. He feels safe, cared for, and well-taught at home and at school. What more could we ask for?
- Posted by Parent, 11/20/14
We have been so impressed with everything! We love how all things at CCA are sprinkled in love, prayer and the desire to honor the Lord. Our son''s teacher is such a blessing as she has really reached into his heart and brought out some amazing fruit in him as he transitioned to a new environment with new friends and surroundings. We love the family feel to the school, also! I am very impressed and in awe at what our son has come home with as far as curriculum, learning activities, etc... He is sight reading, learning to write his letters, and at 4 years old I think he''s already been given such an advantage.
- Posted by Parent, 11/20/14
We are in our 3rd year at CCA and are extremely pleased. The teachers are caring, the class sizes are small, and the school has an excellent sense of community. It has a solid Christian foundation and has quite a rigorous academic program that provides an appropriate challenge for our daughter. We are blessed to have found CCA.
- Posted by Parent, 11/12/14
My son has been at CCA for 8 years and has been tremendously blessed academically, spiritually and socially. There is truly no other place that he rather be... The school truly cares about the student as a whole and continuously challenges the student to reach his or her highest potential. The teachers partner with parents and the parents partner with teachers to form a great community. I love that the school is very selective in who they enroll as maintaining the culture and reputation of the school is important to all. The greatest component of CCA is that God is placed first in everything. God is truly praised, honored and welcome at CCA and it shows in so many ways. We love CCA and recommend all to explore this great school.
- Posted by Parent, 11/12/14
Three of our children have graduated from CCA and our youngest will graduate in 2016. Each began at CCA in Pre-kindergarten. Our children have been enrolled at CCA for each of the past 28 years. CCA has been an incredible blessing to our family. Two of our children had learning differences and succeeded. All of our children have received classical educations and have been grounded in truth, goodness and beauty. Our oldest son is now an Air Force JAG Officer, recently returned from deployment in Afghanistan. CCA prepared him well for an undergrad degree in political philosophy and for Law School. One of our most academically challenged children graduated Summa Cum Laude from The Savannah College of Art and Design with a degree in Photography. She received the highest art scholarship awarded by SCAD. CCA was instrumental in helping her discover her giftedness. Our youngest daughter is studying abroad in Japan in her 3rd year at Calvin College. She received the highest merit scholarship awarded by Calvin College. We would highly recommend CCA to any like-minded family who wishes to invest in their children.
- Posted by Parent, 11/05/14
We moved to the school this year with high expectations. We were a little worried that with such high expectations the school would not be able to live up to our expectations. After a couple of months, I can say that CCA has not only met our high expectations but has actually exceeded them. We are blown away by the teachers, staff, school communication, students and overall environment of CCA.
- Posted by Parent, 11/05/14
As a parent, I value the Christian influence as well as the classical educational approach.
- Posted by Parent, 11/05/14
We have all 3 of our kids here and have been a part of this community for 13 years. With one of them being a Senior, we see clearly that the financial sacrifice was worth it as he is so grounded and well-rounded in his beliefs, academics, social skills, athletics and arts training. He is definitely prepared for college! The teachers here care about training the whole child and my children have felt loved and accepted here. It is an extension of our family!
- Posted by Parent, 10/10/14
As a retired public school teacher, I am extremely pleased with the level at which the subjects are taught! The students'' brains are intellectually stimulated and intelligence is encouraged and appreciated. The students are taught the word of God as part of their curriculum each year. The teachers, students, coaches, and staff of CCA provide a learning environment where each child feels safe. My daughter is involved in soccer, track, cross country, music, and art for her extracurricular activities. I am pleased with the level of expertise exhibited! She loves CCA and I KNOW she is getting a quality, well- rounded, Christian education! I believe, God is looking down from Heaven and is smiling at CCA!
- Posted by Parent, 07/30/13
We love Covenant Christian Academy in Colleyville! The teachers and staff are spectacular, the education is amazing and the facility is beautiful. It is a fabulous place!
- Posted by Parent, 07/30/13
We have been at CCA for 6 years and it has been a great experience for our family. I have had my kids as young as 1 first grade and now my oldest will be in11 th grade. We had a sudden loss of my husband, kids father, after our first year at CCA and we overwhelmed by the outpouring of support that ministered to our physical, spiritual and emotional needs. It has been a much more than a school to us but have dear friends at CCA. Academically my kids thrive and are excelling at high level on the standardize tests which speaks to the education at CCA. We particularly like the classical model of education with the Biblical world view. I highly recommend the school.
- Posted by Parent, 07/15/13
My daughter has been in the preschool program at CCA and I could not be happier. The warm loving environment that they have provided has helped my daughter develop a love of learning that I see grow stronger every day. I strongly recommend the early education program at CCA.
- Posted by Parent, 07/12/13
The curriculum, academic programs, teachers, administrators, facilities and all top notch. CCA offers excellent music and art enrichment as well as extracurricular activities. The coaching staff is excellent and so are the sports programs offered. We highly recommend Covenant Christian Academy as it is a well rounded school that offers an excellent education.
- Posted by Parent, 07/12/13
I am a part time teacher at the school and love it. The teachers are genuine. The facilities are great in the grammar and logic schools and improving in the rhetoric building. The academic and behavior standards are high. It is important to know that going in to the school. The rules will not be bent. They are what they are. Teachers are very willing to help students and parents but it is not a school for remedial learners. Because of its size, there are ample sports, arts and extracurricular activities and everyone can do one or more of them. I especially love the community feel.
- Posted by Teacher, 07/12/13
I recommend CCA - quality teachers, challenging curriculum, opportunity to participate in sports and other activities, & the chance to examine their beliefs & Christian world views. All 4 of my children have or are attending. The oldest transferred in 10th grade. It was time for a change after frustrating # of yrs with some teachers in the public school allowed to be mediocre w/ no expectations for improvement or ramifications for poor performance. He was able to participate in sports and welcomed into CCA family by students & teachers alike. Because of the positive experience, we decided to move our other 3 children. It required financial sacrifices to make it happen, but well worth the investment. Our children have participated in varsity sports, choir, art as well as student organizations & functions where they could grow and develop. Lastly, CCA has given my children a chance to look at world views & see them from a Biblical perspective - another way CCA prepares students for the next steps after graduation.
- Posted by Parent, 07/12/13
We couldn''t be more pleased with our experience at CCA. Strong academics, caring teachers, administrators that take time to know each and every child, motivating coaches sports, and a wonderfully supportive family community. It is truly a gem, and the decision to enroll my child in CCA has been one of my prouder parenting moments.
- Posted by Parent, 07/12/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Tarrant County, TX is $8,159 for elementary schools and $9,327 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Tarrant County, TX is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos
Covenant Christian Academy 0:27

Covenant Christian Academy
2 years ago

Covenant Christian Academy 8:02

Covenant Christian Academy
4 years ago

View more school videos