Cascadia Montessori School

4239 162nd Ave Ne
Redmond, WA 98052-0980
Tel: (425)881-1026
Grades: K-4 | 71 students
Cascadia Montessori School is a private elementary school, founded in 1977, focusing on kindergarten through grade 5, with a supporting pre-kindergarten group for children who will be four years old when the school year starts.
Cascadia's mission is to provide education with the depth and individual caring that enables our students to have good lives.
Cascadia has an advanced academic program, well rounded with music, performing arts/dance, art, physical education, and French.
Teachers are dedicated professionals focusing on the learning and success of each student.
There is a sense of a strong community of students and parents at Cascadia.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other Montessori association(s)
State or regional independent school association
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-4
Year Founded 1977

Student Body

Total Students 71 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 27%
Students by Grade Cascadia Montessori School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 8 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $12,920
Admissions Director Marilyn J. Franklin

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is Brightmont Academy (1.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Eton School (1.1 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Eton School (1.1 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bellevue
    Eton School
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-8 | 246 students
    1.1 miles
    2701 Bellevue-Redmond Rd
    Bellevue, WA 98008
  • Redmond
    Spectrum Academy
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-1 | 51 students
    1.3 miles
    2576 152nd Ave Ne Apt B112
    Redmond, WA 98052
  • Redmond
     Brightmont Academy
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: 6-12
    1.5 miles
    7345 164th Ave NE, Ste I-135
    Redmond, WA 98052
  • Redmond
    Overlake KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-PK
    1.5 miles
    2060 152nd Ave. Northeast
    Redmond, WA 98052
  • Bellevue
    Grades: PK-8 | 643 students
    1.6 miles
    14600 Ne 24th St
    Bellevue, WA 98007

School Reviews

I am now 16 years old and I have to say Cascadia was one of the best things that happened in my life. The teaching is absolutely amazing and the teachers go out of the way to make classes interesting and innovative. Words can't express how much I cherish my 6 years here. I think the person I am now and my great academic success is all because of my years in Cascadia, and I would encourage everybody to enrol their children here. Cascadia was an unbelievable experience and as a result I doubt any alumni of Cascadia is anything below brilliant now. Apart from academics, I made great friends in our small class of eight. Also the field trips, visits to the library, performing arts classes, and holiday celebrations are something I could never forget. Cascadia is something no parent should ever miss, it will be a memorable journey for the kids :)
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 10/08/15
Cascadia is a unique and special place. The teachers at Cascadia are experienced and don''t just teach the curriculum. They are creative and find ways to help each child flourish. The key in the curriculum is the fact that the director teaches second grade herself. This is the time when the child is prepared for the intense writing skills and complex math, like pre algebra, that are taught in the next two grades. She steps in at 2nd grade to provide each child individualized attention to assure successful transition to 3rd and 4th grade. The students are respectful and supportive of each other. Kindness, respect and a love of learning are fostered here. My son is now 15 years old and he is academically successful at a college prep private school because of the foundation that Cascadia has given him. Socially, the eight kids from his graduating class still keep in touch and recently united to spend time with the director. Cascadia guarantees not only academic success, but it encourages bonds that last beyond the elementary years. My son tells me that Cascadia years form some of the most powerful memories of his childhood. Cascadia produces impressive long lasting effects.
- Posted by Parent, 11/20/14
Cascadia Montessori School is hands-down one of the best private elementary school on Eastside. We have 2 kids - one in 4th grade and the other one in 2nd. Both have been in Cascadia from Pre-K and absolutely love it. Some of the things we really like and appreciate about Cascadia: 1. Academically focused. The curriculum is very focused, advanced and rigorous. It is amazing to see the classwork (and homework) covered by these young minds every month. 2. Solid foundation: The school provides a very strong foundation and teaches the kids to be eager to learn. They are respectful, focus on thought process and understand the reasoning behind the learnings. 3. Small class and school size fosters life-long relationships, individualized teaching plans, strong bond between students and teachers. 4. Reading and Writing: A very strong emphasis is placed on reading, writing and penmanship. Almost every kid is reading and writing at least one (if not two) grade levels above. 5. Community: The students are taught and encouraged from an early age to help the community around them and outside the school. Whether it is a food drive, cleaning parks in the neighborhood or donation drive for building a school in Africa, the students eagerly participate in every activity and proudly help. Mrs. Franklin, the Director, knows each child personally. She interacts with each one of them, guides them, and is just simply wonderful. She has dedicated her life in building this school and maintaining the standard and guiding principles. We truly respect and admire her dedication. Every single teacher at Cascadia is wonderful and a delight to interact with. They are very accessible, always provide detailed feedback and shape our children into wonderful human beings - Social, academically sharp and well-rounded kids. From kid?''s perspective: They want to reach very early in the morning and help out the teachers in preparing the classroom. And of course, they do not want to be picked up early. According to them, they would like to spend the time after school in finishing the homework and play with friends. To summarize, there are many great schools in this area. But from our perspective, Cascadia Montessori School is the best school for preparing your child for the future from all angles.
- Posted by Parent, 11/12/14
Cascadia Montessori School is one of the finest schools on the eastside of Seattle. We have both our children studying in Cascadia. They have grown to be loving, caring and academically focused individuals. We are impressed with the quality of education at Cascadia Montessori School. The credit goes to the Director Mrs. Franklin who has invested in the school''s success, as well as to the dedicated teachers at Cascadia. In addition to the education, Cascadia looks at all around growth for children through field trips, music, dance, and other age appropriate activities. Volunteering at the school is available to parents and is a great way to observe the high quality education and care the children receive at Cascadia. The school has a vibrant, clean, and nurturing environment inviting for the children. As parents we are very happy with our experience with Cascadia and highly recommend this school for your children.
- Posted by Parent, 11/05/14
My daughter started at Cascadia in Kindergarten and graduated this year from 4th grade. Cascadia has been the biggest blessing for our daughter these past five years. The school helped her grow not only academically but also helped her become a confident, mature, responsible and ambitious young girl. Cascadia has a rigorous academic curriculum and the school has helped her blossom into a fabulous writer, the language arts curriculum at Cascadia is one of the best in this area in my opinion. That said, the rigorous academic program is balanced with a fine arts emphasis that helps round out the kids. This combination and balance helps the kids in this school be really successful in some of the most competitive private middle schools in this area. My daughter has developed a love for the theater, all thanks to Cascadia. During her time at Cascadia she had plenty of opportunity to participate in plays and public presentations and these really helped draw out her personality. When you do a school tour at Cascadia and compare that to other school tours, it quickly becomes evident to you that the Principal of the school, Mrs. Franklyn, is committed to teaching and preparing children for their future. Her heart and soul is dedicated to helping these kids be the best they can be. I knew it when we did the tour and it has been confirmed through the years at Cascadia. My daughter will be starting at Lakeside this fall, confident that she has had the best education possible in elementary school, ready to face the rough and tumble of middle school and compete with the best and brightest kids in this area.
- Posted by Parent, 09/03/14
This is simply an awesome school!! Both my kids attended Cascadia Montessori. Older one finished last year and younger one still attending. We happened to send our kids to three different private school in the area, and I can definitely say that this is the school we needed from the beginning. Cascadia has a perfect balance of discipline, academics, and fun. The part that I valued most is, the confidence that my daughters have in their teachers. I can see teachers are so truly involved and committed to the students. Students have great connections with each other as well. It?''s not unusual to see 4th grader pushing 1st grader on swing or students giving each other spelling tests during after school period. Our experience with school is extraordinary.
- Posted by Parent, 09/03/14
Both my kids have attended Cascadia. My older one finished several years there starting at Pre-K thru the 4th grade and my younger one is still a student there. I have found that both my kids have really blossomed in the environment there, despite they being very different kids. One thing that really differentiates Cascadia is that the staff and director REALLY care about the kids and do the very BEST for them always. They are able to provide an extremely caring and nurturing environment for the kids. Given that most of the teachers have longevity in the school, they are able to KNOW each individual child to a depth, that is frankly unmatched by other larger schools. They then use this deep insight and knowledge that is built over several years to provide for the best for the children. The results speak for themselves in terms of the stellar achievements that the graduating kids go on to achieving in middle school and beyond. Nearly 100% of the graduating class for the past several years has gotten admission into elite programs at the surrounding public/private middle schools. At the end of the day, that''s the most important characteristic that you want out of a school.
- Posted by Parent, 08/26/14
There couldn?''t be a more idyllic setting for a school than Cascadia Montessori. Nestled in a residential area with tall fir trees, yet just a stone?''s throw away from the Microsoft main campus, Cascadia provides a safe and nurturing environment with the added plus of convenient drop off and pick up for Microsoft parents. Each kid receives one-on-one attention that caters to their learning style and their comfort level as they advance through the curriculum. As an added bonus, Cascadia incorporates science, music, dance (hip-hop!) and a school play through partnerships with prominent organizations. Field trips to the Woodland Park Zoo and the Seattle Children?''s Theater provide a fresh venue for learning. After school care is available at a nominal rate, with optional extra-curricular classes such as chess, Lego and Bollywood dancing. But most importantly, Cascadia boasts a solid academic program. Each year, the graduating class (4th grade) enters high ranking independent schools in the area and the Quest program in the public schools. Cascadia?''s kids stand out in a class of their own, showing enormous amounts of confidence, clarity in thought, and teamwork, all with a sense of community. We couldn?''t be more pleased and grateful to have our kids at Cascadia.
- Posted by Parent, 08/04/14

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
November 24, 2015
Many parents search for an answer to the question "How do I provide the kind of religious education I want for my child?" Religious education is a very personal, subjective matter. We explore some of your options.
November 19, 2015
Myths, urban legends and just plain misinformation abound concerning private schools. We shed some light on the facts you may not have known.
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Redmond, WA is 66% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).