Saint Stephen's Episcopal School

315 41st St W,
Bradenton, FL, 34209-0342
     Tel: (941)746-2121
Grades: PK - 12 | 650 students
One of the most respected college preparatory private schools in the nation, Saint Stephen’s Episcopal School offers a unique combination of world-class education and nurturing environment that enables children to thrive.
Located in Bradenton, Florida in Manatee County, Saint Stephen’s is committed to helping students pre-kindergarten through grade 12 the crucial mixture of academic rigor and character development in which children learn, grow and succeed.
In 2012 alone, our students have been accepted at colleges such as Brown, Duke, Yale, Wellesley, Northwestern, University of Pennsylvania, University of Chicago, Davidson, and Vassar College

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Florida Council of Independent Schools (FCIS)
Florida Kindergarten Council (FKC)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Year Founded 1970

Student Body

Total Students 650 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 4%
State avg.: 32%
Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 90 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 50%
Number of AP Courses 17 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Average SAT score 1213
Average ACT score 28
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Uniforms through the 6th grade, dress code 7th - 12th grade)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Linda G. Lutz

Sports

Total Sports Offered 17 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Diving, Football, Golf, Lacrosse, Sailing, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
DanceDiving,
FootballGolf,
LacrosseSailing,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Wrestling

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Queen Of Angels Academy, Inc. (1.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is The Moore School (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Bowen Primary Academy (0.6 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • BradentonThe Moore School
    Montessori School
    1212 43rd St W
    BradentonFL34209
    (941)746-8594
    Montessori School
    0.6 mi | 28 students | Gr. K-4                      
  • BradentonBowen Primary Academy
    1116 35th Street West 1202
    BradentonFL34205
    (941)748-6648
    0.6 mi | 10 students | Gr. PK-4                      
  • BradentonQueen Of Angels Academy, Inc.
    Alternative School  (Roman Catholic)
    611 19th Street, West
    BradentonFL34205
    (941)907-2088
    Alternative School  (Roman Catholic)
    1.3 mi | 25 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • BradentonSunshine Academy
      (Church of God)
    2520 43rd St W
    BradentonFL34209
    (941)794-3143
      (Church of God)
    1.4 mi | 25 students | Gr. PK-4                      
  • BradentonFamily Life Community School
      (Christian)
    1616 59th Street West
    BradentonFL34209
    (941)792-7911
      (Christian)
    1.4 mi | 71 students | Gr. PK-9                      

School Reviews

Recommended
2 months ago
My son attended Saint Stephen''s from Pre-K through high school. It was a wonderful experience for him and indeed for the whole family. The teachers are dedicated and determined to help their students succeed. Classes are small and one-on-one attention is always available. My son''s university experience was enhanced by his years of training and learning at Saint Stephen''s and he is now working for a Fortune 500 company. I attribute much of his success to the teachers and administrators of Saint Stephen''s. It was worth every cent.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
3 months ago
I attended two weeks of the summer camps at St. Stephens Episcopal School. The subjects were math and writing. They''re really awesome ! I totally loved math and writing after this Camp!
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
3 months ago
Our child, Bam, attended every week of St. Stephen''s Summer Camp and it was amazing. Bam loved every week. The teachers were excellent! Every week there were different themes and so information packed into the week. He learned a ton and made so many friends. This was our first experience with St. Stephen''s and a perfect way to transition him into his first year of Fledglings. Love it and so did Bam! Thank you teachers for putting so much thought and effort into your careers.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
3 months ago
Great school! We moved here 3 years ago and found this "gem of a school". My boys (who have always attended public school in the past) acclimated well due to the friendly, caring staff and students. They have both found a great set of friends and have excelled in school in-spite of the challenging curriculum. The small class sizes are wonderful and the students get one-on-one attention from the well-educated teachers, as needed. Also, the College Counseling office has been great, they are incredibly knowledgable and well-connected to the college world. We are very happy with our decision to send our children to Saint Stephen''s!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
5 months ago
Our children attend Saint Stephen''s and we couldn''t be happier! The faculty/staff truly know each of our three children and embrace their individual qualities. The PK3-12 campus creates a unique and caring community that develops, challenges and supports each child at the appropriate level. I highly recommend Saint Stephen''s.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Saint Stephen''s offers an education that is 2nd to none in this area. Not only are the academics world class but the athletics and arts are excellent. My son graduated from Saint Stephen''s in 2007. His college experience was wonderful and so much of that can be attributed to the education he received at Saint Stephen''s. He learned how to speak confidently in front of a large group, how to entertain during school assemblies, how to study and succeed and how to be part of a team. After graduating from college he was hired by an excellent company and is continuing to use his Saint Stephen''s skills to succeed in his career. Thank you to all the teachers and administrators that made such a positive difference.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
You can not find a better school in this area. If you want your child to have the best education this is the school. My son loves it and my daughter will be going next year. There are no second thoughts this is the best school.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
great school for talented students - lots of input of teachers our two sons went on to get a PhD in two of Europe''s top universities - King''s College in London and University of Cambridge they loved the academic environment and the caring teachers
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Homeschool or Private School?
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Religious Schools: An Overview
Your religion matters to you. You want your child to attend a school which will combine academics and religious education. Here is an overview of what is available together with some links to denominational web sites.
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!