St. John's Episcopal School

Each day at St. John's, your children will enter an environment of cross-curricular learning with teachers who work collaboratively to inspire and challenge them in a safe and nurturing community. Choosing St. John's means your child will learn the importance of moral character and global citizenship.
Selecting St. John's means your child will be inspired each day. Call today to set up at tour of our campus, 301-774-6804.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES)
Association of Independent Michigan Schools (AIMS)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded 1961

Student Body

Total Students 142 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 34%
Students by Grade St. John's Episcopal School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 30 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 12 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(School uniform)

Finances and Admission

% on Financial Aid
Acceptance Rate
National avg.: 85%


Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Lacrosse, Soccer, Winter TrackBasketballCross Country,
Winter Track


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Club, Drama Club, OASIS - Olney Arts School in a School, Robotics Club Art Club, Drama Club, Robotics Club, OASIS - Olney Arts School in a School,

School Notes

  • Welcome to St. John's!  We are delighted you are considering St. John's Episcopal School for your family!  St. John's believes in a purposeful education for your child by taking intentional steps to ensure they are challenged to become confident learners, and to prepare them for what comes next.
  • Our rigorous, research-based academic program, featuring small class size and an accelerated curriculum, coupled with our strong belief in faith-based character education and community service, truly is the model for a balanced and transformational education.  Each day, your child will enter an environment of cross-curricular learning, with teachers who work collaboratively to inspire and challenge them.
  • Choosing St. John's means your child will learn the importance of moral character and global citizenship in a safe and nurturing community environment.  Choosing St. John's means your child will be inspired each day.But, don't take my word for it, come and see for yourself.  To begin the application process, I encourage you to schedule a personal tour of St. John's. 
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed St. John's Episcopal School also viewed these schools: Evergreen Montessori School, Oak Chapel School, Resurrection-St. Paul School, St Mary Of The Mills School and Barrie School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Silver Spring
    Grades: NS-3 | 180 students
    8.6 miles
    10700 Georgia Avenue
    Silver Spring, MD 20902
  • Silver Spring
    Grades: PK-8 | 93 students
    4.2 miles
    14500 Layhill Road
    Silver Spring, MD 20906
  • Ellicott City
    Grades: PK-8 | 415 students
    15.5 miles
    3155 Paulskirk Drive
    Ellicott City, MD 21042
  • Laurel
    Grades: KG-8 | 413 students
    11.7 miles
    106 Saint Marys Pl
    Laurel, MD 20707
  • Silver Spring
     Barrie School
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-12 | 303 students
    5.4 miles
    13500 Layhill Road
    Silver Spring, MD 20906

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (11 reviews)
5.0 Stars   06/03/16
We were so excited to join St. John's Episcopal school. Our two sons enrolled last year and we immediately saw great academic progress. The staff has been very supportive since we arrived. They provide a global perspective as they embrace all denominations and their students display self respect and respect for others. Great Job St. Jes!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/21/16
The purpose of reviews is to give the reader an insight that they may not receive from reading a website. Well as a current parent, let me give you a brief insight as to why I initially enrolled my daughter at St. John's Episcopal School and will continue to do so until 8th grade. First, let's look at how technology has changed the world. So having a school that incorporates technology as part of every grade (including preschool) was important to me. I chuckle when my daughter is "teaching" me what she has learned like "swiping" and the concept of "downloading"! Second, I wanted an academically superb school and St. John's is that and more. Please take a look at the unique programs at ... these programs truly are unique. However, St. John's Episcopal School nourishes not only the student intellectually, but nourishes them spiritually and physically as well. When all is said and done, it's important to me that my daughter is well rounded human being. That she is wise. That she is a good person. That she does the right thing (most of the time:-). That she cares for others. That she needs a healthy body and mid to do good works for others. There unique programs truly lay a foundation in developing a well rounded human being. Third, the teacher/student ratio is small. For me this was important because my daughter is shy. Small class sizes allow the students to get to know the other students - well. Also, the teachers get to provide more one-on-one attention, so that her teacher can build on her strengths and work on her weaknesses. Fourth and final, there is an opportunity for leadership in each class - including the Preschool 3! Each day, a student gets to be the "person of the day". They get to lead the line , help the teacher, lead in the prayer, etc. On the days that my daughter is the "person of the day", she bounces with great pride because she knows that as a leader, she has to set a good example. So she knows that she can't be the line leader and run down the hall! So these 4 insights are just a few examples. I would strongly encourage you to visit the school and have your child participate in an orientation activity or shadow will be well worth it! I hope this review has been helpful and good luck in your endeavor in finding that "right" school (hopefully it is St. John's Episcopal School:-) to enroll your child!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/21/16
My daughter is currently enrolled in the Preschool 4 class and I am amazed at how rich and fulfilling her experience has been at St. John's; from the kind and inclusive student body all the way up to the caring and accessible head of school. Academically rigorous, character-building, and empowering for all students are just a few of the reasons why we can see her continuing at St. John's through the 8th grade. We love the small class sizes and personalized attention when needed too. You just can't get that at most schools and it has completely been worth it to send her there even though most days she doesn't want to leave!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/20/16
St. John's Episcopal School is a wonderful caring and nurturing environment where students are gently pushed to their fullest academic potential by teachers who instill values that build confidence, social skills, and the importance of giving back to the community. This is our ninth year as part of the STJES community and we are very pleased with the well-balanced education our children are receiving we've observed our son and daughter stretch themselves academically and socially and spiritually. Opportunities to participate in declamation day, MAESA Fair, National Spanish Exams, Maryland State Solo and Ensemble Music Festival, International Festival, weekly Chapel Service, Model United Nations, and community service trips abroad to New Mexico, Costa Rica and Belize and more to help develop the whole child. STJES is vitally committed to graduating students of character and faith, and prepares and inspires students for life-long success. Our son is very well prepared to attend Georgetown Preparatory High School in the Fall. Our children have blossomed at STJES!! You have to visit the school to understand what a truly wonderful place it is.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
My daughter has been at St John's for 6 years now starting in Kindergarten. The school has provided a great education, but more than that it is a safe, environment where my daughter is loved and known. It also provides a strong program in arts and has an International program as well. The faculty is outstanding, and the overall sense of community is great. I highly recommend the school.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
I have been a St John's parent for 6 years. Both my daughters have thrived in the environment and that is hugely because of the great caring teachers who truly enjoy what they do. We know our daughters are getting a great education when we see their enthusiasm in learning and sharing all that they learn everyday. The art and music programs are wonderful and the global/international studies focus is exactly what our kids need today to become the well rounded young adults of tomorrow. We love this school and highly recommend it to friends and family.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
St John's is not only a terrific place for my child to get an education, but It is also a warm and inviting environment where there are many opportunities to explore and grow. My child has been at St John'''s for 8 years now starting in Kindergarten. The faculty is a dedicated and wonderful group and my decision to send my child to St John's is validated on a daily basis.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
St. John's has exceded our expectations! The tuition is completely worth the quality of academics, amount of personalized attention, extra curricular offerings and overall philiosphy of the school. Our child is florishing under expert educatonal instruction and the genuine nurturing values of the faculty and administration. The STJ community of families are wonderful too. Best decision ever!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/12/16
Our sons have been at STJES since 2009. We are very pleased. They have both grown academically and benefit from the small class size and accelerated instruction. They have also grown as young men, which I think comes partly from STJES's emphasis on character. Our older son went to Costa Rica last year with his class and will go to Belize this year. We are confident that STJES has prepared him well for high school.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/12/16
We decided to enroll our daughter in the St. John's Pre-K 3 class when traditional child care was not working for us. I assumed we would enroll her in St. John's for two years of Pre-K, and when the time rolled around for kindergarten, we would place her in a Montgomery County public school. However, the teachers and staff at St. John's have made our decision to stay with St. John's well worth it. Our daughter has had a wonderful time meeting new friends, and doing the activities that the teachers and staff painstakingly take the time to plan. We appreciate the small class sizes, and love that the teachers make our daughter comfortable and happy. We have also witnessed firsthand the success of the school's work on character development, as all of the students seem exceptionally polite, and friendly. Not only has St. John's provided a warm and fun environment, but it does not hurt that our daughter has really learned a lot in the course of her education. I never thought I would send my kids to a private school, because I could not understand the extra cost, but after two wonderful years, my husband and I have decided that no matter what, our daughter will stay for the long run.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   10/24/15
The teacher's at St. John's Episcopal School are very nurturing - each child is known, loved, inspired and challenged. The school holds high standards for academics and moral character development. The classroom is a place of inquiry and collaboration where a life-long love of learning is instilled. The school community is diverse and very welcoming.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 20, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.