Tarbut V'torah Community Day School

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
5 Federation Way
Irvine, CA 92603-0926
Tel: (949)509-9500
Grades: PK-12 | 605 students
Tarbut V'Torah is dedicated to providing its students with a program of academic excellence in secular and Judaic studies.
While Tarbut V'Torah's mission is to create an atmosphere that challenges students in core curricula, such as math, science, and the arts, it also seeks to provide a nurturing atmosphere that fosters confidence and memories that last a lifetime.
In addition, Tarbut V'Torah strives to instill in our students a strong sense of Jewish values, ethics, and identity.
Students graduate from Tarbut V'Torah with commitment to the Jewish community, strong knowledge of our history and traditions, and a deep love of learning.
Upon completion, they are leaders and effective communicators, who can use their knowledge to think clearly and creatively providing a future for our community.
TVT`s mission is to teach our children to think creatively, challenge them to achieve to their fullest potential, prepare them to be leaders, strengthen their sense of Jewish identity and community, and equip them to live a joyous and meaningful Jewish life.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Institute for Independent Education
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
California Association of Independent Schools (CAIS)
Religious Affiliation Jewish
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Year Founded 1981
Awards  Blue Ribbon School - Selected in n/a

Student Body

Total Students 605 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Tarbut V'torah Community Day School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
54%
Average Class Size 16 students
Number of AP Courses 17 courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP English Literature, AP Environmental Science, AP European History, AP Government, AP Music Theory, AP Psychology, AP Spanish, AP Statistics, AP Studio Art: 2D, AP U.S. History, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Physics B, Physics C: E & M, Physics C: Mechanics
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Bryonna Fisco
Admissions Associate Lara Mouritzen

Sports

Total Sports Offered 13 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Flag Football, Golf, Rock Climbing, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
Flag FootballGolf,
Rock ClimbingSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Tarbut V'torah Community Day School also viewed these schools: Fairmont Preparatory Academy, San Diego Jewish Academy, La Jolla Country Day School, Acaciawood School and Crean Lutheran High School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Anaheim
    Grades: 9-12 | 625 students
    16.7 miles
    2200 W Sequoia Avenue
    Anaheim, CA 92801
    (714)701-8528
    16.79-12
    625
  • San Diego
    Grades: NS-12 | 550 students
    59.3 miles
    11860 Carmel Creek Road
    San Diego, CA 92130
    (858)704-3717
    59.3NS-12
    550
  • La Jolla
    Grades: NS-12 | 1155 students
    63 miles
    9490 Genesee Avenue
    La Jolla, CA 92037
    (858)453-3440
    63NS-12
    1155
  • Anaheim
    Grades: 1-12 | 120 students
    17.1 miles
    2530 W La Palma Ave
    Anaheim, CA 92801
    (714)995-1800
    17.11-12
    120
  • Irvine
    Crean Lutheran High School
    (Lutheran Church Missouri Synod)
    Grades: 9-12 | 787 students
    7.3 miles
    12500 Sand Canyon Ave.
    Irvine, CA 92618
    (949)387-1199
    7.39-12
    787

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
World class. Parents routinely burst into tears after visiting the school, saying, "I wish I could have gone here." Beautiful facilities; outstanding, dedicated faculty and staff. The ability to focus on the specific needs of every single student. My 4th grader actually said, "I wish it weren't Sunday. I wish I had school today." He never said that at his previous school. This school is as good as it gets.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
My three boys attend. All started in kindergarten. The academics are amazing! Top 5 SAT scores in Orange county for the class of ''14. More Advanced Placement program awards then any other school OC school per student in "14. Completing many AP's is feasible as the homework burden is not nearly as great as at other local private and public schools. My eldest son is a top 5000 test taker both SAT and AP nationally and I attribute much of the success to the school and the individualized programming that allows gifted students to accelerate. Even more important, the school instills values and life skills that will pay dividends in the years to come. A great community of parents and individualized programming. The special needs learning center is amazing and I have personal experience with this as well. Advanced Institutes allow after-school programming for working parents until 4:30 pm 4 days a week in Math/Science, Arts/Music, Jewish Studies all currently built into the price of admission. Middle school and Upper school athletics programs allow for participation for all of those interested regardless of ability. I can't imagine a better place to send my children!
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
My Daughters started TVT in Kindergaten and both have had an amazing experience to date. Once we started our first daughter at TVT we knew we could go nowhere else. Each year the girls have had an amazing experience with excellent teachers that help them soar. The girls thrive in TVT's academically and Judaic rich environment that helps them achieve academic success but also reinforces our family's Jewish values and help them to be a "mench". Our girls are receiving an excellent education where they are becoming critical thinkers. TVT offers an amazing lesson plan which provides the children not only the basics, but also includes as part of their curriculum, a robust science program, music, art, computers, foreign language, and Jewish Studies. We have one more child who just joined the TVT family in 2012 when she started kindergarten, and I am confident that her experience at TVT will be the same as her siblings. TVT's kindergarten set the stage for children to have a passion for learning that will stay with them for the rest of their lives. If you are looking for a private school please take a tour. You will see why I am so excited by TVT!
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
As an alumnus of the class of 2009, I look back on my 13 years at TVT with a sense of eternal gratitude for the teachers, administrators, staff and life long friends I made at this school. TVT truly became a second home to me, a place I grew up surrounded by people who forever positively impacted my life. Even though 5 years have passed since graduating, some of my closest friendships and professional relationships have their roots in Tarbut. For me, the community of exceptional people speaks volumes about why every Jewish child in Orange County would be fortunate to experience a TVT education. The curricular and extracurricular opportunities positioned me for success far beyond my developmental years. Whether it was inside the classroom, participation in clubs like ASB and Mock Trial or service trips to New Orleans and Kenya, TVT instilled in me a sense of discipline, a powerful work ethic and strong Jewish values that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. TVT is a timeless investment into your child's future.
- Posted by
5.0  2/14/2013
Our daughter started Kindergarten this year and we have had a wonderful experience. The teachers are caring and nurturing while encouraging the kids to do their best. The differentiated approach to learning allows students to learn at their own pace and keeps them challenged. The campus is beautiful and is set up in villages so it feels small and intimate for each grade. The school does a great job of integrating students of all ages together for example the kindergarteners were taught cheers by the high school cheerleaders for a school spirit night. The school has been warm and welcoming to our entire family and we look forward to spending many more years at TVT.
- Posted by
5.0  1/31/2013
This is our 9th year at this wonderful school. Our 3 boys are thriving and have grown to feel TVT is their family. The teachers are warm and caring, and our boys each get the attention and educational instruction they need. I feared when we left pre-school that I would miss being an environment that felt safe and special but TVT has maintained that all the way through 12th grade. I feel so fortunate to be a part of this community.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Irvine, CA is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).