The Haverford School

The Haverford School, a nonsectarian college preparatory day school for junior kindergarten-grade 12, provides a superior liberal arts education for qualified boys of differing backgrounds.
We are committed to developing the full intellectual, artistic, athletic, and moral potential in each boy, and we aim to graduate young men with strong character who possess a passion for learning and the necessary problem-solving skills to make a difference in the world.
The Haverford School prepares boys for life.

School News

  • An artful education - 10/15/2015 - Rooted in a tradition of academic excellence, Haverford offers boys the opportunity to pursue their passions in myriad arenas, including performing arts. In this blog post, Theater Department Chair Darren Hengst shares the value of performing arts.
  • Boys as makers - 11/10/2015 - Art department chair Chris Fox presented at the 2015 International Boys’ Schools Coalition Conference in Cape Town, South Africa on the topic of Boys as Makers
  • Character & Citizenship Day - 11/27/2015 - In October, ninth graders were immersed in a day of alternate programming exploring the topic of character and citizenship. The boys were introduced to a conceptual model that identified several arenas the boys inhabit and are responsible to: My Self, My Schoo...more
  • The confluence of creativity and color - 12/03/2015 - Middle School art teacher Nathan Pankratz recently opened his second show at the Bridgette Mayer Gallery: “So many ways to say I love you, I think I’ll try every one.” A painter and color enthusiast fueled by the process of creating, Mr. Pankratz gives u...more
  • Making magic in the science classroom - 12/09/2015 - How did you learn the basics of electricity? Second graders work with Upper School boys to wire the rooms of a doll house. Celestial navigation? Boys get inside the 15-foot inflatable planetarium to chart the constellations. Read how Lower School science teach...more
  • Mapping The Aeneid - 01/11/2016 - If you were a tourist in the Roman Empire, where would you visit? How long would it take you to travel around? And how much would it cost? Those are the questions that my Latin IV Honors students answer for their capstone project, entitled Mapping The Aeneid.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Association of Delaware Valley Independent Schools (ADVIS)
Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools (PAIS)
International Boys' Schools Coalition
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1884

Student Body

Total Students 981 students
Student Body Type All-boys
% Students of Color
24%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade The Haverford School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 120 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
60%
Average Class Size 16 students
Average SAT score 1910
Average ACT score 28
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(See school website)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition ranges from $22,300-$37,500. $6.4 million is granted in need-based tuition assistance, with 32% of families receiving aid.
% on Financial Aid
32%
Average Financial Aid Grant $20,000
Acceptance Rate
40%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Kevin Seits
Admissions Associate Jennifer Miles

Sports

Total Sports Offered 18 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Crew, Cross Country, Diving, Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Squash, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Ultimate Frisbee, Water Polo, Winter Track, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CrewCross Country,
DivingFootball,
GolfIce Hockey,
LacrosseSoccer,
SquashSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Ultimate FrisbeeWater Polo,
Winter TrackWrestling,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 13 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Clubs include: DECA, Debate Team, Diplomacy Society, Diversity Alliance, Economics Club, Guitar Club, Mock Trial Team, Pegasus (literary & arts magazine), Robotics Team, Stage Crew, The Haligoluk (yearbook), The Index (student newspaper), and more. Debate Team, Economics Club, Guitar Club, Robotics Team, Stage Crew, and more., Clubs include: DECA,
Diplomacy Society,
Diversity Alliance,
Mock Trial Team,
Pegasus (literary & arts magazine),
The Haligoluk (yearbook),
The Index (student newspaper),

School Notes

  • "At Haverford, we create a culture that celebrates boys. We recognize their innate competitiveness, their boundless energy, their need to learn with their hands and by doing, their sense of humor, their sense of justice and fairness, and their age-appropriate learning needs, and we teach accordingly. We develop compassion and empathy, and teach that such traits are the full expression of being a man." John A. Nagl, D.Phil, Headmaster.
  • Boys' schools enjoy a superior opportunity to help young men reach their full potential: Non-threatening environment for self-expression * Wider range of individual expression * Safe atmosphere in which to explore sensitive gender and sex-related issues * Conducive to intellectual risk-taking * Male development expertise * Faculty experienced in teaching and coaching boys * Instruction tailored to style and tempo of boys' learning * Absence of cross-gender distraction * Heightened focus on academic tasks, on learning * Atmosphere of frank, direct communication * Absence of posturing, gender stereotyping * Camaraderie and friendships * Positive male role modeling * Distinctive esprit de corps * Special depth of friendships for life * 
  • At The Haverford School, boys are talented scholars, artists, and athletes and so much more. Our extraordinary educators challenge and inspire every student, while our best-for-boys programs and facilities empower students to reach their full potential. The Haverford School is committed to developing our students` academic, artistic, and athletic skills. As importantly, the School focuses on creating young men of character with the confidence to lead, the resilience to endure setbacks, and the empathy to understand and contribute to their world.

Profile last updated: 02/03/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed The Haverford School also viewed these schools: The Shipley School, Friends Central School, Devon Preparatory School, The Episcopal Academy and Abington Friends School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bryn Mawr
    Grades: PK-12 | 840 students
    0.8 miles
    814 Yarrow Street
    Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
    (610)525-4300
    0.8PK-12
    840
  • Wynnewood
    Grades: PK-12 | 890 students
    3 miles
    1101 City Ave
    Wynnewood, PA 19096
    (610)649-7440
    3PK-12
    890
  • Devon
    Devon Preparatory School
    All-boys (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 6-12 | 268 students
    6.8 miles
    363 N. Valley Forge Road
    Devon, PA 19333
    (610)688-7337
    6.86-12
    268
  • Newtown Square
    Grades: PK-12 | 1223 students
    6.4 miles
    1785 Bishop White Drive
    Newtown Square, PA 19073
    (484)424-1400
    6.4PK-12
    1223
  • Jenkintown
    Grades: NS-12 | 568 students
    11 miles
    575 Washington Ln
    Jenkintown, PA 19046
    (215)886-4350
    11NS-12
    568

School Reviews

My son has been at Haverford for 9 years, starting in kindergarten and he is very excited about starting in the upper school next year. The Haverford School really understands boys and embraces the unique aspects of teaching boys and channeling their energies. On daily basis, they bring out the best in my son and his classmates - in the classroom, the art studio, the debate stage, the robotics arena and sports fields. The teachers, coaches and administrators indeed know boys, but they also know my son individually as well as his classmates and the faculty and staff are always accessible to my wife and me.
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Montgomery County, PA is $12,333 for elementary schools and $23,697 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Montgomery County, PA is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).