Walnut Creek Christian Academy

5.00 (6 reviews)
2336 Buena Vista Avenue
Walnut Creek, CA 94597-0945
Tel: (925)935-1587
Grades: PK-8 | 272 students
Your child's education is about much more than academic achievement.
It's about the perspectives he forms as well as the person he will become.
With this in mind, WCCA strives to educate the "whole" child by cultivating the mind,heart, body, and soul for Christ!.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Religious Affiliation Baptist
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dyslexia/Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1949

Student Body

Total Students 272 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Walnut Creek Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 23 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 12:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 22 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director School Office


Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Basketball, Flag Football, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballFlag Football,
Track and FieldVolleyball,


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Band, Strings Orchestra, Piano, German and American Sign Language, Junior High Interscholastic Sports, Science, Computer and Cooking Clubs, WCCA Club (Before & After-School Care) Band, Strings Orchestra, Piano,
German and American Sign Language,
Junior High Interscholastic Sports,
Science, Computer and Cooking Clubs,
WCCA Club (Before & After-School Care),

School Notes

  • Low student/teacher ratio
  • Biblically based curriculum
  • Violin, drama, art, choir, foreign languages, Junior High interscholastic sports
  • Spanish is part of the curriculum in Elementary and an elective in Jr. High
  • Extended care, summer school, and learning assistance program
  • On campus library
  • Daily hot lunch program
  • Gym and Sports Field
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Walnut Creek Christian Academy also viewed these schools: The Dorris-Eaton School, Contra Costa Christian Schools, Pleasant Hill Adventist Academy, Diablo Valley School and The Seven Hills School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • San Ramon
    Grades: PK-8 | 400 students
    10.9 miles
    One Annabel Lane
    San Ramon, CA 94583
  • Walnut Creek
    Grades: PK-12 | 266 students
    1 miles
    2721 Larkey Lane
    Walnut Creek, CA 94597
  • Pleasant Hill
    Pleasant Hill Adventist Academy
    (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    Grades: K-12 | 148 students
    2.8 miles
    796 Grayson Rd
    Pleasant Hill, CA 94573
  • Concord
    Diablo Valley School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: NS-12 | 36 students
    6 miles
    2924 Clayton Rd. No. B
    Concord, CA 94519
  • Walnut Creek
    Grades: PK-8 | 393 students
    1.7 miles
    975 N San Carlos Drive
    Walnut Creek, CA 94598

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (6 reviews)
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
I attended WCCA for 9 years (K-8). I loved it so much that my children are now attending. I wouldn't want them to go anywhere else. The academics are great--I was well-prepared for high school. The teachers and staff are absolutely amazing! They truly love the students and care about them. There are plenty of extracurricular activities to suit any child's interest: sports, languages, cooking, music, computers.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
We are incredibly happy with our decision to send our son to WCCA. The kindergarten curriculum is outstanding, well-balanced, interesting, instructional, spiritual and fun for the kids. Ours son is thriving in the WCCA environment. He is excited to go to school everyday and comes home talking about all the new things he has learned. We love seeing him so engaged, comfortable and confident about his school. The teachers and staff at WCCA are caring, welcoming and they truly care about their students. It's an environment that fosters personal and spiritual growth. We feel blessed to be a part of WCCA.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
I cannot say enough about our school! My children have been attending WCCA for 4 years now. When we first came, our son was shy and had a hard time keeping up with class work. Through the teaching from the great staff at WCCA, he has learned wonderful time management skills and self discipline. Our school has taught my kids about having good Character, and has provided many opportunities for Sports, Leadership, Spelling Bee's and Speech competitions. I would recommend our school to anyone who asks. The Teachers have all been teaching at WCCA for a long stretch of time so there is a lot of stability. The staff is clearly dedicated to making a difference in my children. We are very blessed to have found this school!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   02/09/14
I am so happy with our experience at Walnut Creek Christian Academy. The teachers do a wonderful job working with my child, building him up, and helping him succeed. I see a lot of encouragement and opportunity for my child here at the academy. My son seems to be thriving here, and I can see the teachers preparing him well for High School. We are very thankful we found WCCA for our son. His character is being shaped while he learns strong work ethic. We are very happy!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/18/13
My two children have attended WCCA for 4 years now. The school is such a family friendly environment, and the teachers really go out of their way to build up my child. I feel like the school has a very realistic homework load, leaving time for my children to be involved in after school sports and church activities. They have made the Honor Roll and have been taught excellent time management through their WCCA experience. My kids enjoy going to school and look forward to it everyday. WCCA has been a safe and nurturing environment for my kids to grow and thrive. I recommend our school to anyone!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/02/13
This school is amazing! My kids have been going to WCCA for the last 6 years and they really love going here. The teachers are absolutely wonderful and care deeply about every student. They truly show the love of Christ through their interactions with the students. This school is very warm, safe, and welcoming, and you can tell that the students are really taught to treat each other lovingly. We especially love the junior high. The academics, sports, art, drama, music, foreign languages, science programs, gifted programs, and special needs programs are all top-notch. Every subject is taught from a Christian perspective. Best of all, the gospel is clearly taught in every grade level: the message that we can be reconciled to God by trusting in His Son. It is clear here that our sins are forgiven only because of the perfect life and sacrificial death of Jesus in our place: our good works cannot earn us favor with God; Jesus is the only way. The vast majority of parents I speak with are extremely satisfied with our school! Please come visit and talk to real students, teachers, and parents here; they''ll tell you how great it is! We would not want our kids going anywhere other than WCCA!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 20, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Contra Costa County, CA is $10,764 for elementary schools and $21,743 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Contra Costa County, CA is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).