Hillside Student Community

5027 159th Place Se
Bellevue, WA 98006-0980
Tel: (425)747-6448
Grades: 5-12 | 50 students
Hillside provides a rigorous college preparatory program for students grades 5 -12, in a strong, supportive community. In small classes, students build critical thinking, creativity, joyful curiosity, and the courage to take risks.
They discover the value of both process and product and that mistakes are for learning. They learn to write with fluency, power and imagination. From mathematics to Molière, physics to fencing, and through literature, history, and art, our students round out their lives and excel.
They win awards, achieve high SAT scores, and are accepted into top tier colleges and universities. Since its creation in 1969, Hillside students have followed the call to adventure.
They have become thinkers and citizens, participants in a world that increasingly needs the gifts each of us has to offer.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. State or regional independent school association
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades 5-12
Year Founded 1969

Student Body

Total Students 50 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
23%
State avg.: 27%
Students by Grade Hillside Student Community Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
54%
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
% on Financial Aid
23%
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bellevue
    Forest Ridge School Of The Sacred Heart
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 5-12 | 395 students
    1.4 miles
    4800 139th Avenue Se
    Bellevue, WA 98006
    (425)641-0700
    1.45-12
    395
  • Sammamish
    Eastside Catholic School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 6-12
    5.6 miles
    232 228th Avenue SE
    Sammamish, WA 98074
    (425)295-3000
    5.66-12
    n/a
  • Redmond
    Grades: NS-12 | 767 students
    9 miles
    8905 208th Avenue NE
    Redmond, WA 98053
    (425)898-1720
    9NS-12
    767
  • Bellevue
    Grades: NS-5 | 242 students
    1.5 miles
    4211 W Lake Sammamish Parkway Se
    Bellevue, WA 98008
    (425)653-3970
    1.5NS-5
    242
  • Bellevue
    Grades: PK-8 | 643 students
    5.2 miles
    14600 Ne 24th St
    Bellevue, WA 98007
    (425)649-0791
    5.2PK-8
    643

School Reviews

My daughter has been at this school for just over a year and we don't have one complaint! While the school may not have a bunch of new high-tech gadgets, it has enough fun, compassion, learning, and friendship to far outweigh any deficiencies. My daughter has absolutely thrived at this school - academically and socially. I would recommend it to any parent looking for a balance between high-end learning and real-life lessons.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
Looking for the next step after Seattle Country Day for our two daughters my wife and I knew what we wanted in a school, but not where to find it. It was important that both go to the same school. One was very strong in math but needed help with her writing. The other was the exact opposite. We were looking for a strong foundation in basic skills, not frills or current educational fads. Although I was initially very skeptical based on the size and appearance of the campus by the end of the first year both my wife and I were completely won over. Hillside has a gifted teaching staff that offers a flexible approach and attention to each individual student, meeting them at their current level. While the small size of the student body does limit some opportunities it also promotes a level of cooperation, respect, individual responsibility and tolerance that won't be found in more conventional schools. If looking for a school today we would make the same choice. Involvement with the running Start program is a plus. The results speak for themselves- the older daughter is a mechanical engineering major at Stanford, the younger a biology/anthropology double major at Bowdoin.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
I''m a Hillside Alumni. I was there from 4th grade (they no longer have 4th grade) to graduation. As a 3rd grader coming from a terrible public school experience, Hillside was exactly what I needed. The teachers and staff genuinely care about the students. I felt safe and looked out for by not only the staff and teachers, but students as well. These are the kind of people you want your kids around. I was struggling with school confidence and I was able to get the 1:1 help I needed to help with the school subjects I was lacking in at the time and my personal confidence too. If your child goes into the upper school grade levels, they will learn how to write a quality college paper. I graduated from BC (AA degree) and UW (BA degree) and was amazed how a scary portion of my peers didn't know how to write a quality paper. I helped edit a lot... Other graduates from Hillside (who are still my best friends today) also experienced this at their college. There are at least 3 more qualities (block system, art, plays!) I wish I could list that I loved about it but I''m rapidly running out of room. So to sum up, if you''re not sure. Win and doubt check it out!
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 05/17/16
I am a happy Hillside Student Community graduate who just recently graduated from Seattle University with the highest GPA in his graduating class. Hillside's very personal teaching style was able to give me the individual attention I needed to prepare me for success at institutions of higher learning, and it's non-clicky social environment helped me to have understanding and respect for all kinds of people, as well as developing my own personality and self in a non-oppressive, non-restrictive environment. Years later I am still grateful for my decision to attend Hillside Student Community.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 05/17/16
I went to Hillside for five years, from 5th grade to 10th grade. When I first went there in fifth grade, I absolutely loved it. It was such a cool environment and I really enjoyed going to school each day. I am now going to a very large public school and the differences are very much highlighted. Hillside's academics are absolutely fantastic and I had a extremely high GPA for all of my years there. Because I was there so long, I really got to watch Hillside evolve. It's a great school, but you might not enjoy it as much if you are more crowd oriented. It has a small atmosphere, and for me, I loved it for many years, but leaving after 10th grade was the right choice for me; I needed to be in a larger environment. Hillside will always hold a special place in my heart and I''m very grateful for my years there.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 05/17/16
I have 2 daughters who attended Hillside for several years before they had to leave due to our moving out of the area. Hillside was a fabulous experience for them, and they were sad to leave the school. Both girls got an excellent education there with tons of individual attention. Some of the classes were practically like having a personal tutor. The teachers care about each student and are responsive to each student's individual needs, strengths and weaknesses. They spend a lot of time on each student. For example, the high school humanities teacher spends hours going over all writing assignments from his students with copious comments and revisions and really teaches them how to write. Best of all, Hillside nurtures each student's individual gifts. They place great importance on everyone in the community treating each other with kindness, respect and appreciation for who each person is, and there is no expectation like in many public schools to conform. Everyone is accepted for who they are. As far as how students treat each other, bullying is absent, as is exclusive behavior. All that plus rigorous, high quality academic instruction. Students form close relationships with each other because the student body is small. While this smallness would not be for every student, many thrive with it, as did my girls. My husband and I heartily recommend Hillside.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
I have two boys currently at Hillside Student Community. My oldest started in 9th grade and will graduate in 2016. My youngest started in 5th grade and is now in 8th grade. Hillside has been a great experience for both of them. The environment is caring and encouraging and helps each student to bring out his/her best. The curriculum is rigorous, but because of the small class size, everyone gets personal attention and the help they need. The community is really welcoming and accepting both for students and parents. My 12th grader is at Bellevue College this year for Running Start, as well as taking two classes at Hillside. Running Start has been a really nice way for him to get a taste of college life while still at home. It's been a helpful experience for him this year. My younger son is getting a much better math education than my older son did at his previous school. If a student is so inclined, there are no restrictions to how far or how fast they can move along in math. Another very strong point about Hillside is the student's ability to write papers. They really can write very, very well by the time they graduate. I am very grateful for Hillside Student Community and highly recommend that you check it out : )
- Posted by Parent, 02/24/16
I currently have two children at Hillside. My kids could not be more different, introvert and extrovert, gifted and average, loves drama, loves physics, and yet somehow Hillside is exactly the right school for both of them. Amazing staff, warm community, we are so happy to be a part of this wonderful school.
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Bellevue, WA is $15,150 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Bellevue, WA is 74% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).