Lexington Montessori School

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
130 Pleasant Street
Lexington, MA 02421-0217
Tel: (781)862-8571
Grades: NS-8 | 215 students
The Lexington Montessori School community works to create an environment that inspires children to develop inner discipline, self-assurance, and a love of learning.
We respect the uniqueness of each student by helping each child to develop skills at periods of greatest readiness and sensitivity.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded 1963

Student Body

Total Students 215 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
48%
State avg.: 25%
Students by Grade Lexington Montessori School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
96%
Average Class Size 21 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 20 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $25,000
Tuition Notes Tuition costs vary by level. Financial aid is available.
% on Financial Aid
30%
Average Financial Aid Grant $16,000
Acceptance Rate
60%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Rebecca Blake
Admissions Associate micha Beckmann

Sports

Total Sports Offered 7 sports
Sports Archery, Basketball, Cross Country, Rock Climbing, Soccer, Swimming, Ultimate FrisbeeArcheryBasketball,
Cross CountryRock Climbing,
SoccerSwimming,
Ultimate Frisbee

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess, Chorus, Drama, Drumming, Guitar, Piano, Scrabble, Violin, Zumba Chess, Chorus, Drama, Drumming, Guitar, Piano, Scrabble, Violin, Zumba,

School Notes

  • Education at LMS is based on the theories and work of Maria Montessori. This child- centered approach views the primary task of education as allowing children to discover knowledge--and ultimately, themselves--by engaging in meaningful, self-directed activity in a stimulating and nurturing atmosphere. The aim is to help children grow socially, emotionally, cognitively, aesthetically, and physically while also developing self-awareness and an understanding of themselves as members of the world community. We view children as active participants in their learning. Children discover for themselves how to use their intellects and temperaments, how to see and understand and remember. By working to master the carefully prepared classroom environment--both individually and in concert with other students--the children develop the concentration, self-confidence, independence, and self-discipline that will enable them to become life-long learners and problem solvers.

Profile last updated: 01/11/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Lexington Montessori School also viewed these schools: Waldorf School Of Lexington, Shady Hill School, Thacher Montessori School, HARBORLIGHT MONTESSORI and Andover School Of Montessori.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Lexington
    Grades: NS-8 | 244 students
    1 miles
    739 Massachusetts Ave
    Lexington, MA 02420
    (781)863-1062
    1NS-8
    244
  • Cambridge
    Grades: PK-8 | 511 students
    5.1 miles
    178 Coolidge Hill
    Cambridge, MA 02138
    (617)520-5200
    5.1PK-8
    511
  • Milton
    Thacher Montessori School
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-8 | 237 students
    14.4 miles
    1425 Blue Hill Ave
    Milton, MA 02186
    (617)361-2522
    14.4PK-8
    237
  • Beverly
    HARBORLIGHT MONTESSORI
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-8 | 296 students
    20.6 miles
    243 Essex Street
    Beverly, MA 01915
    (978)922-1008
    20.6NS-8
    296
  • Andover
    Grades: PK-8 | 160 students
    14.9 miles
    400 S Main St
    Andover, MA 01810
    (978)475-2299
    14.9PK-8
    160

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
We have had three kids go through LMS and they have had amazing experiences. The school has a terrific culture and is truly child-centered. The curriculum is also well put together. Can't say enough good things.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Lexington Montessori School (LMS) is a truly amazing place. The school has helped my three children become confident learners. They truly love coming to school - even my middle schooler! Teachers create a safe environment where my kids feel respected and appropriately challenged. There are a lot of good schools out there but LMS is a unique community of teachers and administrators dedicated to continually looking for ways to enrich my children's learning experiences.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
The Lexington Montessori School (LMS) is a truly wonderful school! Having had two very different children attend from pre-school through 8th grade, I can attest to the school’s excellent academics as well as its emphasis on educating the “whole” child. In the hands of caring teachers, my children blossomed intellectually, emotionally, and socially. They each graduated with a strong sense of self, an appreciation for their individual learning styles, and an understanding of their place in this vibrant community. I am grateful to this school for 1) its emphasis on critical thinking and creative problem-solving. Both my children attend a rigorous private high school where their teachers have noted with admiration their analytical and problem-solving skills. 2) its diversity. 48% of the students at LMS are children of color and 40% of the teachers are people of color. My children will be operating in a multi-cultural world and I am grateful that they grew up respecting different ethnicities and religions in this diverse school environment. 3) its focus on sustainability. In weaving environmental and social sustainability into the curriculum, LMS taught my kids about stewardship of the earth and the impact that their actions can have on the planet and others. 4) its strong sense of community. LMS is a caring community where my children learned tolerance and respect for others. They learned to collaborate and to resolve conflicts. They have formed deep and lasting connections with classmates and teachers.
- Posted by
5.0  4/10/2015
Both my children are LMS students and have been for eight years now. They both have very different learning styles and the curriculum, philosophy and support of the teachers have served them both well. They are now independent learners, who know their weaknesses and strengths and take charge of their own learning. They are also very respectful people who understand their place in a community. They see themselves as a important, but yet one, piece of a bigger entity. They care for others and want to do well. They also love going to school everyday. We are happy to have found LMS.
- Posted by
5.0  4/10/2015
Lexington Montessori is an excellent place for a child to grow and thrive. With a strong Toddler through 8th grade program, LMS gives your child the gift of stability and community in a warm yet challenging environment. The school offers strong academics along with an emphasis on self-direction, community values, and caring for those around us. A diverse community and strong Sustainability Curriculum round out LMS'' strengths.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Lexington, MA is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).