Northwest Yeshiva High School

5017 90th Avenue Se,
Mercer Island, WA, 98040-0980
Tel: (206)232-5272
Grades: 9 - 12 | 76 students
Northwest Yeshiva High School is the Pacific Northwest's only college preparatory, dual curriculum, co-ed high Jewish high school.
Our students have opportunities for advanced academic courses as well as specialized instruction for those with special learning needs.
Students at NYHS place into top colleges and universities around the US and the world.
Most recently, the Classes of 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 were admitted to : New York University, Tulane, University of Pennsylvania, Barnard, Brandeis, Northwestern University, University of Michigan, Washington University of St. Louis,George Washington University, Sarah Lawrence, Stern College, Yeshiva University,  UCLA and more.

Over the past 3 years, 20 out of 21 students who applied to the University of Washington were admitted.
Four were admitted into the honors program.
 

Students spend the day in rigorous and inspiring  academic studies.
The mornings are spent learning Judaic studies.
Central to our mission is our love for and support of the State of Israel.
Many students study in Israel before continuing on to college or university.

We invite you to visit us and get a feel for the NYHS family!

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Northwest Association of Accredited Schools
Religious Affiliation Jewish
Grades Offered Grades 9 - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Year Founded 1974

Student Body

Total Students 76 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 3%
State avg.: 24%
Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 20 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 90%
Average Class Size 8 students
Number of AP Courses 9 courses
Advanced Courses Astronomy, Language Arts, US History, Biology, Physics, Calculus  
Average SAT score 1800
Average ACT score 28
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Collared shirts for men, skirts or dresses for women, modest, neat attire for all)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 3 / Mar. 15
Yearly Tuition Cost $16,000
Tuition Notes We offer a third party tuition assessment program to families who need a reduced tuition.
% on Financial Aid 50%
Average Financial Aid Grant $8,568
Admissions Director Rabbi Yona Margolese & Melissa Rivkin
Admissions Associate Melissa Rivkin

Sports

Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports BasketballCross CountryTrack and FieldVolleyballBasketballCross Country,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Student Council,  Community Service,  Spirit Club,  Drama,  Choir  Spirit Club,  Drama,  Choir, Student Council,
Community Service,

School Notes:

  • Our Mission:
    Northwest Yeshiva High School:
    Provides a dynamic Judaic and college preparatory program for Jewish students of diverse backgrounds and abilities.
    Prepares our students to become intellectually engaged and committed to their communities and to the State of Israel.
    Promotes integrity, character, and adherence to traditional Torah values.

  • Profile last updated: 01/29/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Privett Academy (0.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. Monica Parish School (0.8 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St. Monica Parish School (0.8 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Mercer Island Privett Academy
    Po Box 42
    Mercer Island , WA , 98040
    (206)232-0059
    0.1  mi  |  135  students  |  Gr.  7-12
  • Mercer Island
    St. Monica Parish School
    (Roman Catholic)
    4320 87th Avenue Se
    Mercer Island , WA , 98040
    (206)232-5432
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.8  mi  |  268  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Mercer Island
    Children's Institute For Learning Differences (CHILD)
    Special Education School
    4030 86th Ave SE
    Mercer Island , WA , 98040
    (206)232-8680
    Special Education School
    1.2  mi  |  49  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Mercer Island
    French American School Of Puget Sound
    Special Program Emphasis
    3795 East Mercer Way
    Mercer Island , WA , 98040
    (206)275-3533
    Special Program Emphasis
    1.5  mi  |  395  students  |  Gr.  NS-8
  • Mercer Island
    Yellow Wood Academy
    Special Program Emphasis
    9655 SE 36th Street, #101
    Mercer Island , WA , 98040
    (206)236-1095
    Special Program Emphasis
    1.5  mi  |  225  students  |  Gr.  K-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended September 07, 2013 - The best thing I''ve ever done for my son was taking him out of public school and putting him in into North west Yeshiva High School. Taking him out of a big pond with 30-50 students in a classroom and moving him into a small pond with 8-10 students in a class was what was needed to get him ready for college. He learned how to think as opposed to just memorizing answers. The quality of the teachers at NYHS was top tier and it showed . All the teachers offer tutoring after school for no extra charge and they really care about the students. His GPA went up to a 3.6 and he is now attending a top college. Thank you NYHS. Sincerely Jack Becker - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 23, 2013 - I am a sophomore at NYHS. The camaraderie of the student body is amazing -- it is like we are all part of one big family. The teachers are fantastic, challenging the students according to their skill level. There are many honors classes that can be taken for an extra challenge and some teachers even offer after school help with their class. I love going to school everyday because NYHS has made learning enjoyable. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - We are so happy with NW Yeshiva. Every teacher my child has had has been excellent. They go the distance to make sure students are succeeding. My child has always struggled in math but now it is her best subject thanks to the after-school math help offered by Mrs. Cathcart. My daughter is a more confident, savvy learner since joining yeshiva. The Jewish studies teachers are accessible and warm hearted. They open up their homes to the students for shabbat dinners and after school study sessions. The secular studies teachers are also attentive. This is our 3rd year at the school and we cannot believe how lucky we''ve been with the outstanding teachers our daughter has had. Another aspect of the school I love is that administrators teach too. This keeps them in touch with the students. It is so important for teens to have so many wonderful role models. Thank you Rabbi Fox and yeshiva! For a small school there are many extra curricular and sports activities. Big emphasis on community service. Students and teachers do special service days at food banks together technology seems to be a big focus too. This is probably the best deal in the state for private schools. We consider it a real gift for our child. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 20, 2012 - I am going to be graduating from NYHS shortly. These have been the best four years of my life! I was welcomed with open arms even though I had some academic challenges. The school created a personal learning plan for me which guided me toward success. In my Junior and Senior years I was ready to participate in all grade level classes due to the amazing support I received. I am proud to say I am entering University in the fall. I extend my sincere gratitude to the staff and teachers of NYHS! I am ready for success in college and beyond thanks to YOU! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - My son is getting ready to graduate and we feel very blessed that he had the opportunity to go to Northwest Yeshiva High School. This is a school very focused on academic achievement but not at the expense of nurturing students and creating a warm and loving Jewish environment for all students. I agree with the above reviewer. The diversity of Jewish background and instructor perspectives is very unique in the orthodox world. Students art Northwest Yeshiva are not pigeon holed but rather given the tools to think critically and share their ideas and thoughts. The administration is very keen on making sure each student finds success. My son entered with many special learning needs and we were worried in the beginning if the school would be too rigid and challenging for him. We worried needlessly. From the start, the administration met with us and our son and charted out a course of study for him that took into account his educational needs. Our son found success in areas he had previously shied away from. As he is preparing for college next year, I find that I am not worried about this next step since he is so much better prepared for college than most kids. He will be leaving the small warm atmosphere of Northwest Yeshiva but with wonderful tools and knowledge to succeed at college and beyond. The academic program is second to none. There are team sports. Basketball, volleyball, golf, cross country and track and field. For a small school, the sports teams do well. They also offer drama and art and a range of electives like film, forensics and psychology. The facilities are small and older. It would be great if Northwest Yeshiva had a building and facilities to reflect the high caliber education and experience they give our kids. If I win the lottery..... - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 05, 2012 - This school is great!Since it is the only Jewish high school with a college prep. focus in the area, we were pretty much sold on sending our child here from the beginning. Now that we are approaching the second semester, I feel as though all our expectations were met and so much more. The academics are second to none. The students get into very prestigious universities. The school does like to show that. For a small school, there is an impressive number of national merit scholars and students get into impressive schools at a high rate. But what I wasn't expecting was the warm and family like atmosphere. The teachers and administration care about each student. The student body also cares about one another. The school's diversity in the Jewish community is unusual, especially in the orthodox community. Some may find that threatening but I find it uplifting. Jewish students amd their families of all backgrounds show respect and care for one another. Recently, we attended the all school family Friday night dinner and it was on display there. Teachers really want the students to succeed. My child was having difficulty in a class and the teacher not only encouraged our child to meet with her during lunch or afterschool, she would celebrate any success she found and the result has been very positive. I feel very lucky to live in a community with a school like this. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
3 Tips for an Effective Private School Job Search
Use these tips to tweak your job search strategies as you seek employment in a private school.
5 Financial Aid DOs and DONTs
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!