The New School

     Tel: (207)985-3745
        
   
Grades: 9 - 12 | 36 students
The New School is a small independent high school where students take charge of their education.
Our approach builds confident, self-directed learners and a solid foundation for college and careers.
Students who thrive at The New School are often unusually creative and enjoy active, hands-on learning.
Small class sizes, integrated courses, independent studies and opportunities for travel & adventure all yield rich learning that ignites students’ talents and passions.

School Overview

Grades Offered Grades 9 - 12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Programs Supported Yes
Year Founded 2000

Student Body

Total Students 36 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 4%
State avg.: 10%
Students by Grade The New School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 10 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes 2 tiers of tuition -- please visit website for details. TNS is a School of Choice for Acton & Arundel students.
Admissions Director Lee Sullivan

School Notes:

The New School is a small independent high school where students take charge of their education. Our approach builds confident, self-directed learners and a solid foundation for college and careers. Students who thrive at The New School are often unusually creative and, enjoy active, hands-on learning. Small class sizes, integrated courses, independent studies and opportunities for travel & adventure all yield rich learning that ignites students’ talents and passions.

Profile last updated: 01/05/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Veritas Academy (1.8 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Cocoons Day School (1.8 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Cocoons Day School (1.8 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • KennebunkCocoons Day School
    35 Heath Rd
    KennebunkME 04043
    (207)985-6022
    1.8 mi | 41 students | Gr. PK-1                      
  • WellsVeritas Academy
      (Non-sectarian)
    2700 Post Rd
    WellsME 04090
    (603)965-6171
      (Non-sectarian)
    1.8 mi | 8 students | Gr. 9-12                      
  • KennebunkportSchool Around Us
    Special Program Emphasis
    281 Log Cabin Rd.
    KennebunkportME 04046
    (207)967-3143
    Special Program Emphasis
    3.3 mi | 27 students | Gr. K-8                      
  • BiddefordThe Master's House
      (Christian)
    551 Alfred Rd
    BiddefordME 04005
    (207)283-3858
      (Christian)
    6.9 mi | 51 students | Gr. K-6                      
  • BiddefordSaco Island School
    Special Education School
    Po Box 516
    BiddefordME 04005
    (207)283-1435
    Special Education School
    7.2 mi | 2 students | Gr. 10                      

School Reviews

1 month ago
The New School has provided two of my children an amazing adventure in learning. They have entirely different learning styles and interests, yet both are thriving in this democratic school that is teaching them to honor their selves and their community. The core faculty and incredible community teachers provide a wide range of skills and allow for a student driven curriculum including critical thinking courses like philosophy, women''s studies, and public policy. Additionally, the students have access to music, art, photography, yoga, outdoor leadership, sailing, and much more!
- Posted by Parent
1 month ago
The New School is a perfect fit for our daughter. The New School has rigorous academics and fully integrates hands on learning. For example learning marine navigation with the school?''s sail boat was fully integrated in traditional class studies. As a sophomore our daughter is in her 2nd internship which she loves. The internship allows her to pursue her passions, learn valuable technical skills, learn workplace responsibilities and have fun. The New School is a great community of students, teachers and local community involvement.
- Posted by Parent
1 month ago
The New School has been a godsend to our family. Our son was miserable as a freshman at the well-regarded public high school in our town. He felt he didn''t fit into the fast-paced sports and academic scene. Every day he moaned that he didn''t want to go to school. After a few weeks at The New School, he felt at home in the cozy, casual, welcoming environment. One day he had to miss school at TNS because he was sick. For the first time in his academic career, he was upset because he had to miss class. He was a recluse for years. At TNS, he''s come out of his shell.
- Posted by Parent
1 month ago
The New School has been wonderful for my son. He is a motivated learner and sets strong goals for himself. The school has allowed him to reach his full potential by treating him with respect and caring about him as an individual. I love how he has the ability to take any concerns directly to his teachers. They listen and help him find solutions. He has develop leadership skills that will aide him for the rest of his life. He knows how to get a long with a diverse group of people, as the students are expected to learn to work with one another. I cannot recommend The New School enough. It is unlike any other school I know. The students learn to participate in a Democracy, what better prep is that for their future.
- Posted by Parent
2 months ago
I have been an educator since 1963 and this school is the best place I have ever taught. There is excitement, creativity, challenge and just plain fun here. Students really like being here. I have been delighted that in the last 15 years every student but one has gotten into their first choice college and many have been accepted at all the schools to which they applied. Having the students recognized for their strong self direction, their social and environmental awareness and their ability to work cooperatively takes them far. Being a democratic school is pretty significant as it has taught them to negotiate, take both initiative and responsibility and problem solve.
- Posted by Teacher
8 months ago
My son, Nick, 17, is a student at The New School. The word I would use describe the kids there is "content." They all love the school. It''s the combination of incredible teachers, a safe environment where there is no bullying or cliques, small classes where each students gets individualized attention, and lots of adventure and fun times. NIck is not a typically academic learner and we were worried that he would flounder and be miserable in high school. Thanks to this school he is gaining confidence, maturing and really figuring out who he is. We don''t worry about him anymore, we know that by the time he graduates he''ll have a sense of direction and the skills to succeed at whatever he does. We feel incredibly lucky to have found this school.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
The New School is a school that fosters the individual and allows each student to have a voice in their education. It is a democratic school where high school students learn to be active participants in their education and the community beyond their school. It is a place where teenagers are allowed to be who they are.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Facebook Page Essentials
Facebook Page Essentials
Small private schools often feel that they cannot afford to market their schools. Facebook is free. Here is how to use it effectively.
Attributes Which Make Military Schools Special
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
Don't Forget These Admissions Deadlines
Getting into a private school is a time-consuming process. We look at the various deadlines involved.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Maine is $7,648 for elementary schools and $28,949 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Maine is 80% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).