St. James' School

625 S. St. Andrews Place
Los Angeles, CA 90005-0900
Tel: (213)382-2315
Grades: NS - 6 | 324 students
St. James’ Episcopal School is an Episcopal day school in the heart of Los Angeles, serving children in preschool through grade six.
We believe that a balanced program focusing on essential skills and spiritual development will help our students develop into global citizens and leaders.
We are proud of our strong tradition of high standards and academic excellence.
Our program challenges students to become independent, resourceful learners and encourages them to discover new ideas, talents and interests.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Institute for Independent Education
Western States Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
California Association of Independent Schools (CAIS)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 6
Year Founded 1968

Student Body

Total Students 324 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 60%
State avg.: 45%
Students by Grade St. James' School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 29 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 11:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 52%
Average Class Size 22 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(School Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Dec. 12 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $21,450
Tuition Notes Tuition includes all supplies, field trips, and before and after-school care until 6:00 p.m.
% on Financial Aid 24%
Admissions Director Joan Hester
Admissions Associate Kimberly James

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Academics, Athletics, Community Service, Dance, Drama, Languages, Music, Robotics Academics, Athletics, Dance, Drama, Languages, Music, Robotics, Community Service,

School Notes:

  • At St. James' Episcopal School we aim for students to:
  • Enjoy school and all it has to offer
  • Develop a love of learning
  • Develop a strong academic foundation
  • Learn that they are responsible for their actions
  • Learn to interact well with others

Profile last updated: 09/11/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Green Pastures Cultivation Academy (0.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. Andrews Preschool & Kindergarten (0.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Enopi Academy (0.7 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Los Angeles
    Grades: K-1 | 54 students
    0.4 miles
    845 S St Andrews Pl
    Los Angeles, CA 90005
    (213)385-0905
    0.4K-1
    54
  • Los Angeles
    Lily Preschool
    Daycare / Preschool (Christian)
    Grades: K | 40 students
    0.5 miles
    610 S Kingsley Dr
    Los Angeles, CA 90005
    (213)739-5744
    0.5K
    40
  • Los Angeles
    Grades: K-8 | 311 students
    0.5 miles
    238 S Manhattan Pl
    Los Angeles, CA 90004
    (213)382-7401
    0.5K-8
    311
  • Los Angeles
    Grades: 8-12 | 10 students
    0.6 miles
    Po Box 741399
    Los Angeles, CA 90004
    (661)268-1973
    0.68-12
    10
  • Los Angeles
    Grades: 1-8 | 160 students
    0.7 miles
    911 S Norton Ave
    Los Angeles, CA 90019
    (323)936-2542
    0.71-8
    160

School Reviews

Strong, traditional, academic orientation, updated for today''s modern world. My son is in second grade and he is happy and challenged.
- Posted by Parent, 07/16/14
Our Sixth grader graduated from St James last year after going all the way through from kindergarten. He was so well served by this school, that we cannot express enough gratitude and love to the faculty who nurtured him. There is a wonderful warm atmosphere from the minute you walk through the doors, and the teaching staff feel like friends. It is an episcopalian school, but opens its doors to all religions and creeds. That makes it quite a special place. I have had friends with children at other private schools express their envy to me at the racial and socio-economic diversity of the school. And it really is something to be envied. I would recommend this school whole heartedly to anyone.
- Posted by Parent, 01/28/12
My 2 children go to this school. They love this school and so do we. When you walk around the school, you see teachers who love their work and the children they teach, administration who care about the children and parents who are down to earth and are a wonderful part of this culturally diverse community. When we drop off our children, we know that they are in a loving and safe place where they are able to play and learn. On top of that, they learn "how to" learn, not just how to memorize facts. The children are curious, respectful and caring. For working parents, the school offers child care before school starts and after school ends as part of their tuition!!
- Posted by Parent, 01/05/12
Saint James is a fantastic elementary school. Our daughter loves learning and St. James caters to the student as an individual while maintaining it's high academic rep. The parent community is warm and inviting and can do! We love the faculty and staff. The new head of school is a leader in education who is a joy to know.
- Posted by Parent, 01/05/12
This school is a gem. It's a competitive school with heart, soul and strong academics. We are very very happy.
- Posted by Parent, 01/05/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Los Angeles, CA is $12,049 for elementary schools and $18,504 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Los Angeles, CA is 74% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos