Birches School

Tel: (781)728-5438
Grades: K-5 | 32 students
Birches School, a co-educational, independent, non-sectarian elementary school, offers vigorous, interdisciplinary academic subjects within a nurturing environment of multi-aged classes.
The nature- and community-based, student-centered curriculum is designed to meet each child’s individual needs and perspectives.
The school encourages students to be curious, self-reliant, resourceful, and empathetic.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Independent Schools in New England (AISNE)
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-5
Year Founded 2012

Student Body

Total Students 32 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 25%
Students by Grade Birches School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 8 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 15 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $15,700
Acceptance Rate
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Elizabeth ten Grotenhuis

School Notes:

  • Located on the edge of conservation land in Lincoln, a woodland walk away from the deCordova Sculpture Park and Museum, Birches School affords close, daily contact with nature. Students come to understand the world as an interconnected place through STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Mathematics) and literacy, including Spanish literacy. They learn about their responsibilities to the natural world, to their community, and to fellow beings. Yoga is offered as a component of the physical education program. Birches uses the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) as the floor, but there is no ceiling. Students work individually or in groups depending on the inquiry-based projects. Offering Grades K-3 during the 2013-2014 school year and adding a new grade each year, Birches will grow to become a K-6th Grade school.

Profile last updated: 06/17/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Walden Street School (3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Carroll School (1.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Bartlett School (1.8 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Lincoln
    Carroll School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 1-9 | 405 students
    1.4 miles
    25 Baker Bridge Road
    Lincoln, MA 01773
  • Waltham
    Grades: PK-6 | 92 students
    1.8 miles
    1841 Trapelo Road
    Waltham, MA 02451
  • Lexington
    Community Therapeutic Day School
    Special Education School
    Grades: KG-6 | 25 students
    2.7 miles
    187 Spring St
    Lexington, MA 02421
  • Concord
    Walden Street School
    All-girls  | Special Education School
    Grades: 7-12 | 20 students
    3 miles
    160 Walden St
    Concord, MA 01742
  • Lexington
    Grades: NS-PK
    3.2 miles
    429 Marrett Rd.
    Lexington, MA 02421

School Reviews

I am so grateful for this school. My children LOVE to go to school each morning and rush me out the door because they don''t want to miss even one minute of arrival time! What a change from our last school. I marvel at the quality of the teachers and how they inspire each student. The STEAM curriculum is fabulous, and I sometimes wish I could go back to school myself!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
The Birches School is truly a gem! We have been so pleased with the dedicated and talented teachers, the responsive classroom model in which children work cooperatively and respectively together, the challenging and individualized curriculum, the way in which the children are actively and joyfully expressing themselves and learning both individually and cooperatively and the parent community which is warm, welcoming and encouraged to work together and contribute. The school setting is particularly lovely and peaceful as it borders conservation land in Lincoln. Hiking, walks to DeCordova and the library and visiting local farms keeps the children close to nature and active in the local community. It has been well researched that children learn best when in nature and while exploring the outdoors, The Birches School strives to do this and does it beautifully. It is obvious to me that the children are filled with genuine wonder and are truly inspired in this school. I am truly grateful to have found a place in which my child can be accepted for who he is as he joyfully learns and grows!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My wife and I discovered the Birches School in the fall of 2012, as we became progressively more and more dissatisfied with our son''s kindergarten in nearby Lexington. The enthusiasm for school that he had in pre-school years, and which he took with him initially to kindergarten, had totally disappeared. And two months into the school year, neither my wife nor I had any idea what the kids did all day in school. Then we discovered the Birches. Our son''s enthusiasm is back, and our enthusiasm is back and continues to grow. In our son''s first week of school, he positively lit up telling me about his day in STEM class, which involved exploring owl pellets. He has developed a passion for birds s that has been a part of their curriculum the past month. And each Friday night after dinner, he show us the new yoga moves that he learned that day! There are too many good things to write--about the teachers, the parents who are building the school, and the kids who are experiencing real joy exploring their worlds.
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/13
This is a miracle of a school where the joy of learning is readily apparent. My son is excited to go to school each day, and doesn''t want to leave at the end of the day. Some of his favorite activities are reading workshop, Spanish, and nature exploration. He loves his teachers and I marvel in the mutually supportive atmosphere where no child is ever left out, or bullied. The quality of the teachers is unparalleled in an elementary setting--the stem specialist has a PhD! And the atmosphere of the school is warm, nurturing, and intellectually stimulating.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
Our son is very happy at Birches School. The most important thing to me has been the individualized academics -- last year, he learned little at local public school (coloring more and more worksheets). At Birches, he is engaged intellectually, is excited to be doing math at his own level, eager to read (and delighted with the amazing in school library), and is challenged daily with writing assignments. Birches has plenty of recess and outside time (much more than he did last year) and includes regular nature walks in the nearby conservation areas -- students get to take full advantage of the school''s beautiful location (which is across the street from the public library!) I appreciate that Birches has optional parent helping times built in which has been helpful to my husband and me as we try to get a sense of how his time at school is and also feel a part of the greater school community. My son loves the multi-age experience, his wonderful teachers, and the frequent fun Spanish infusions. I also appreciate the importance of the social curriculum at Birches -- guidance on how to treat others fairly and with dignity is so important and Birches'' staff does this well also.
- Posted by Parent, 10/27/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
The A to Z of Private Schools
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Is Your Skill-set Still on Release 1.0?
September 20, 2015
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
5 Reasons You Might Be Looking At The Wrong Schools
September 07, 2015
Choosing the right school for your child is a major project. We look a five reasons why you might be looking at the wrong schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Middlesex County, MA is $15,135 for elementary schools and $32,844 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Middlesex County, MA is 62% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos