Providence Christian Academy

4575 Lawrenceville Hwy,
Lilburn, GA, 30047-0300
Tel: (770)279-7200
Providence Christian Academy is a unique mid-sized K-12 interdenominational Christian school in the Atlanta area, offering an accredited program that rivals larger schools while providing more personal attention and the comfortable fit of a smaller student body.
As a parent-sponsored school, Providence Christian Academy is more than an academic institution, but a community of believers, consisting of Christian parents in partnership with Christian educators to help young people develop their God-given gifts and abilities.
High standards in academic, athletic, and fine art achievements and spiritual growth have been the hallmarks of Providence for more than 20 years. For more information, please call 770-279-7200 or visit www.providencechristianacademy.org.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Georgia Accrediting Commission
Religious Affiliation Christian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Mild Learning Differences; ADHD
Year Founded 1991

Student Body

Total Students 646 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 25%
State avg.: 23%
Students by Grade Providence Christian Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 77 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 42%
Average Class Size 17 students
Number of AP Courses 12 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Chemistry, AP English Lit & Composition, AP European History, AP Portfolio Art/Drawing, AP Spanish IV, AP US History, Honors Algebra I, Honors Algebra II, Honors American Lit & Compostion, Honors Biology, Honors Chemistry, Honors Economics, Honors English 9, Honors English Lit & Composition, Honors Geometry, Honors Government, Honors Physics, Honors Pre-Calculus, Honors Spanish II, Honors Spanish III, Honors World Lit & Composition  
Average SAT score 1751
Average ACT score 24
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Uniform from the waist up and dress code from the waist down)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes $9,000-$13,000
% on Financial Aid 20%
Admissions Director Mrs. Kim Miller

Sports

Total Sports Offered 14 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Equestrian, Football, Golf, Gymnastics, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
EquestrianFootball,
GolfGymnastics,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 26 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Advanced Ensemble, Alpha Upsilon, Axis, Beta Club, Boy's Discipleship, Chess Club, Choir, Drama Club, Dream Team, French Club, Girl's Discipleship, High School Band, International Thespian Society, Juggling Club, National Honor Society, Orff Ensemble, Outdoor Club, Patrols, Pep Band, Praise Band, S.P.E.E.D., Seventh Grade Band, Sixth Grade Band, Spanish Club, Student Council, Yearbook Alpha Upsilon, Axis, Beta Club, Chess Club, Choir, Drama Club, Dream Team, French Club, Juggling Club, Orff Ensemble, Outdoor Club, Patrols, Pep Band, Praise Band, S.P.E.E.D., Spanish Club, Yearbook, Advanced Ensemble,
Boy's Discipleship,
Girl's Discipleship,
High School Band,
International Thespian Society,
National Honor Society,
Seventh Grade Band,
Sixth Grade Band,
Student Council,

School Notes:

    • Facilities include elementary and high school buildings, two gymnasiums, athletic fields and a field house located on 35 acres.
    • Providence uses the Orten-Gillingham multi-sensory program in the elementary school. Admissions decisions are based upon the application process, standardized test results, previous academic records and an interview.
    • Students grades 7-12 receive iPads for use as an academic tool. Grades K-6 use an iPad mobile lab in preparation for eventual use in later grades.
    • Students who graduate from PCA complete a rigorous, traditional college-prep curriculum, which includes fine arts, the humanities, the sciences and four years of Biblical studies.
    • In addition, each student contributes to the community by providing fifteen hours of service.
    • A full range of guidance services are provided to help students with class scheduling, scholarship opportunities, college applications, standardized testing, academic records and effective counseling.

    Profile last updated: 09/09/2013

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Killian Hill Christian School (1.4 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is City Of Knowledge Islamic School (0.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Legacy of Purpose Preparatory Academy (1.4 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Lilburn City Of Knowledge Islamic School
    Special Program Emphasis (Islamic)
    4255 Lawrenceville Hwy Nw
    Lilburn , GA , 30047
    (770)638-1899
    Special Program Emphasis (Islamic)
    0.4  mi  |  47  students  |  Gr.  K-5
  • Lilburn
    Legacy of Purpose Preparatory Academy
    Special Program Emphasis
    675 Pleasant Hill Road
    Lilburn , GA , 30047
    (770)797-5246
    Special Program Emphasis
    1.4  mi  |  19  students  |  Gr.  PK-5
  • Lilburn
    Killian Hill Christian School
    (Baptist)
    151 Arcado Road Sw
    Lilburn , GA , 30047
    (770)921-3224
    (Baptist)
    1.4  mi  |  365  students  |  Gr.  K-12
  • Lilburn
    Parkview Christian School
    (Christian)
    4875 Lilburn Stone Mountain Road Sw
    Lilburn , GA , 30047
    (770)279-8702
    (Christian)
    1.9  mi  |  50  students  |  Gr.  K-8
  • Lilburn
    Harmony Grove United Methodist School
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Methodist)
    50 Harmony Grove Road
    Lilburn , GA , 30047
    (770)921-7747
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Methodist)
    2.6  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-PK

School Reviews

  • Recommended February 22, 2014 - This is our second year in elementary school at PCA and our two kids love it! PCA is a great partner in our quest to raise our children to know and love the Lord. The teachers, staff, curriculum and after school activities are first class. While it is a sacrifice, it is worth every penny! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 10, 2014 - This school is awesome! A great environment for learning, for social development (athletics and fine arts) and for service to others. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - As a mom of an only child, I went thru an extensive search to find the right school for my daughter. I was one of those crazy parents that had a checklist and looked at everything at a school including sitting in the classroom. That was a long time ago as my daughter is now a junior in high school, and has been at Providence Christian Academy since she was in Kindergarten. We are so blessed to be at Providence. Whether you are looking for strong academics, a variety of extra- curricular activities, and/or a strong faith based education, you will find all of these and more. The more for us has been teachers that love my daughter and want her to be the best she can be. The more for us is the love and care from teachers and parents who are now my friends. The more is a community that prays for each other and celebrates the good, but helps you walk thru the bad. I wish you the best as you begin your journey for finding the right school for your family. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Our family has been a part of the PCA family for 8 years now. We have an 8th grader, 4th grader and 2nd grader. PCA is a wonderful, loving, Christian environment where my children learn and exceed in academics. PCA also comes along side our family and instills the biblical and Christian beliefs we as a family cherish. It truly is an extension of our home and we partner with our kids teachers to grow our children academically and spiritually. PCA is a financial sacrifice, but it is a sacrifice that will have eternal payoffs. PCA teaches children to be the hands and feet of Jesus by doing projects that help less fortunate and teaches our students love and compassion for all. PCA is without a doubt the best choice we ever made for our family. If you are looking for a academically strong and spiritually bible based education, PCA is for you. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - So grateful for the rigor of academics but the feel of a community. We would not want our boys anywhere else.!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - We love Providence. We are VERY PLEASED with the academically challenging classes, caring teachers and administration, the strong Christian influence over my children and a variety of athletic/arts activities. There are opportunities for children with all kinds of interests, gifts and strengths to excel. We are so thankful to be a part of this great school family. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I have found Providence a great value in educating my two daughters. My eldest is graduating and was accepted and granted academic scholarships to several schools. Most importantly the Biblical World View has given my girls the ability to excel in life. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 10, 2013 - Solid academically, spirirtually strong. I have an 11th grader and a 5th grader. We are so blessed to have our children in a school that partners with us, to grow them up in their faith as well as prepare them academically for the challenges at the next level including college. Both of my children have been involved in school sports and extra curricular enrichment type activities. The quality of these programs is excellent, from fine arts to sports. Having teachers and coaches who love your children and want them to be successful in school and in life makes a huge difference. We are thankful to be a part of the Providence Family. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 26, 2013 - Best decision we ever made! Went to tour for middle school in the future (daughter was only 5 at the time). Was in tears in minutes and felt God was calling us there starting in kindergarten. Don''t let the financial side prevent you from looking into PCA, if He is calling you there, He will provide a way! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 26, 2013 - Providence is a wonderful place. It has an excellent faculty who academically challenge my children. They pray for my children and direct them in true life issues. I highly recommend this school as an extension of your Christian home. My children have grown academically and spiritually because of this school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 26, 2013 - Providence is an outstanding school that promotes academic excellence and spiritual growth on equal footing. Students are loved for who they are, yet they are challenged to continue to become the person Christ intends for them to be. Every day is not perfect--anywhere-- but in the culture of Providence, students learn work through the bumps in the road. The teachers are wonderful and always available to partner with parents. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - Love this school. Strong educational standards. Watching my children grow in their faith and academics is amazing. The faculty love my children, pray for them, and do a great job partnering with us. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - Awesome school. Academically rigorous. The teachers love on my children. They even helped them through the passing of a pet! I would not trust children to any other school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 21, 2013 - I have two children in the Elementary School at Providence. The quality of the teachers and academic program has exceeded my expectations, and I highly recommend it. The culture of Providence encourages relationships and is built on trust and respect. This school does exactly what it says it will do - serve as an extension of my home where I can trust teachers, staff, other parents, and students. Without hesitation, I can say that Providence delivers on its promise to serve as an extension of my home. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
 Why Did You Select That School?
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Getting Involved With Your Child's School
Getting involved with your child's school benefits both you and the school. It's a win-win for all concerned.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!