Ho'ala School

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
Tel: (808)621-1898
1067 California Avenue A
Wahiawa, HI 96786
  • Ho`ala is a small, independent, college-preparatory school with100% college matriculation rate that is nationallyrecognized as a model for character education.
  • The core of theHo`ala philosophy is found in its "implicit curriculum,"emphasizing that adults teach children how to behave by the exampleof their own actions and attitudes, both in the classroom and athome.
  • Ho`ala's "crowning achievement" is its school environment.Teachers create an extraordinarily safe, dynamic learningatmosphere in which students feels that are needed, listened to,and taken seriously.
  • Such an environment empowers students to begintaking true responsibility for their lives.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Hawaii Association of Independent Schools (HAIS)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedMild Learning Differences
Year Founded1986

Student Body

Total Students70 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
5%
State avg.: 62%
Students by GradeHo'ala School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers11 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
50%
Average Class Size12 students
Number of AP Courses7 courses
Advanced CoursesAmerican History, Civics, English and Composition, Honors: English, Honors: Math, Honors: Science, Honors: Social Studies
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Polo shirts, khaki pants )

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$10,255
Tuition NotesFinancial Aid Available Monthly payments Credit cards accepted HS Scholarships Available
% on Financial Aid
45%
Average Financial Aid Grant$3,000
Acceptance Rate
95%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorDarlene Dela Cruz
Admissions AssociateDarlene Dela Cruz

Sports

Total Sports Offered11 sports
SportsBasketball, Bowling, Cross Country, Dance, Golf, Indoor Soccer, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, WeightliftingBasketballBowling,
Cross CountryDance,
GolfIndoor Soccer,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Weightlifting

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.5 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Chess Club, Hula Lessons, Lego Club, Private Piano Lessons, Taiko Drumming Chess Club, Hula Lessons, Lego Club, Taiko Drumming, Private Piano Lessons,

School Notes

  • Ho`ala is a small, independent, college-preparatory school
  • 100% college acceptance
  • An environment where confidence and independence are instilledin every child
  • A welcoming, inclusive community that values acceptance anddiversity
  • Offering a high level of individualized atttention that adaptsto a wide range of student abilities and produces acceleratedlearning opportunities
  • Caring, committed, highly experienced teachers
  • Our values-based educaiton results in respectful,compassionate, critical thinkers
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Mililani
    Grades: PK-12 | 711 students
    3.5 miles
    94-294 Anania Drive
    Mililani, HI 96789
    (808)625-0737
    3.5PK-12
    711
  • Honolulu
    Sacred Hearts Academy
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-12 | 973 students
    20.2 miles
    3253 Waialae Avenue
    Honolulu, HI 96816
    (808)734-5058
    20.2PK-12
    973
  • Honolulu
    Grades: PK-12 | 1552 students
    18.9 miles
    2445 Ka'ala Street
    Honolulu, HI 96822
    (808)973-5005
    18.9PK-12
    1552
  • Honolulu
    Grades: K-12 | 295 students
    16.8 miles
    224 Queen Emma Square
    Honolulu, HI 96813
    (808)536-6102
    16.8K-12
    295
  • Honolulu
    Grades: 6-12 | 181 students
    21.1 miles
    2933 Poni Moi Rd
    Honolulu, HI 96815
    (808)922-2744
    21.16-12
    181

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  9/10/2017
Testimonial from grandparents of a former student Our granddaughter attended Ho`ala School for her kindergarten year 2013-2014. She has since relocated to the East Coast where she excels at the very competitive private schools that she is enrolled in. We know that the Ho`ala School experience has played a key role as it gave her a solid foundation to expand upon to which we are very grateful. First, Ho`ala School`s philosophy and the dedicated, team-oriented efforts by the teachers and front office staff made for a healthy, fun, and well-organized environment. Second, the many class walks to the neighborhood library to encourage reading, and learning how to check out/return books taught her the personal responsibility of book care and returning them on time. Third, notable school excursions included places such as Haleiwa town to board the legendary Hokule`a voyaging canoe docked in the harbor, visiting the ancient Hawaiian fish ponds, agricultural gardens and swimming at the nearby beach. The excursion to the Dole Pineapple Plantation and participating at a gymnastics club for children were also very enjoyable. Fourth, our granddaughter learned the basic skills of hula dancing, piano playing, and Spanish language lessons. Fifth, they celebrated our national holidays and cultural events with skits, dress-ups, singing, etc. Finally, her kindergarten teacher, Ms. Carolyn Brown, provided a loving, healthy, and positive learning environment. She also emphasized the importance of reading, numbers, artistic creativity, physical health along with having good character, proper personal expression and child safety. We definitely recommend that Ho`ala School be considered for anyone looking for a good private school. Thank you very much,Randy & Flora
- Posted by
5  6/12/2017
It is my pleasure to write a testimonial for Ho'ala School located in Wahiawa, HI. As you may know, children must be five years old by July 31st in order to be eligible for kindergarten entry in the Hawaii Public School System. Unfortunately for us, our daughter was ineligible because she was born in September. My husband and I had to decide whether to keep her at home, or enroll her into preschool because we thought that the July 31st cut off date applied to all schools in Hawaii. Fortunately, this was not the case at Ho'ala School which has extended their cut off date to December 31st. Ho'ala provides a safe and stimulating environment where children can make mistakes without judgment, develop confidence and a sense of belonging. Ho'ala also encourages parents and teachers to complete a 5-week Parenting Workshop to ensure that what is taught in the classroom is duplicated at home. At first, my husband and I were skeptical with the thought of attending a parenting class. However, we have learned how to effectively communicate with our daughter while at the same time, making her feel significant and taken seriously.We owe quite a bit of gratitude to Ho`ala School. Ho'ala has been such a blessing to our family. Our daughter was such a timid little girl who lacked self-confidence at the beginning of the school year. Thanks to her kindergarten teacher, Ms. Carolyn Brown and the supportive staff at Ho`ala, she has become a lot more trusting, outspoken, and confident. We would like to thank Ms. Carolyn for her love, patience, and understanding. Our daughter has grown so much as an individual and we are confident that she will continue to thrive no matter where she goes.
- Posted by
5  6/16/2016
I cannot express enough how unique and special Ho'ala School is. My daughter has just completed Kindergarten and the learning experience she had was invaluable. The small class sizes make it possible for each child to receive the individualised attention needed to help them succeed. The dedication and commitment from all staff members is what helps to make this school what it is. A safe educational environment that promotes character development with the philosophy of respect, responsibility and resourcefulness. One in which I cannot fault. Not only has my daughter achieved so much academically but also how to be respectful of others and responsible for the decisions she makes. A school where both students and teachers help one another in the best possible way
- Posted by
5  6/2/2016
I am currently enrolled as a college junior at an East Coast University and attended Ho`ala from 6th-12th grade I can certainly say that it was an extraordinary place to receive an education. I believe that the small class sizes allowed for an individualized learning experience and invaluable connections with both teachers and peers. Before Ho`ala, I attended a public elementary school in central O`ahu and was extremely shy and introverted. Over the years, through various experiences, I was able to open up and become the confident person that I am today. I am extremely thankful for many things that Ho`ala provided, namely the student-teacher bonds, the community service opportunities, and the unparalleled art program. They also did a wonderful job preparing me for college by offering multiple AP and Honors courses as well as a comprehensive senior project internship class and college application advising. Teachers and Staff at Ho`ala want to see each and every student succeed in all aspects and will go above and beyond to support their students. I am grateful and proud that I am a Ho`ala graduate.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Ho''ala School is like an amazing hole-in-the-wall restaurant; once you find it, you wonder where it's been your whole life. I am a Ho''ala alumni (1st grade thru 12th) and so grateful for all the opportunities the school gave me, tiny as it may be. Where else can you go to receive an education (that fully prepared me & took me through college graduation), and have amazing experiences with your whole school instead of just your class? Scuba certification as part of a Marine Science course? Did it. Community Service trips to learn the importance of giving back and how much a small school can impact a community? Ho''ala does that, and more. Students in combined classes are something of the future, and something I think is helpful; it teaches a child that they are part of a group, that everyone working together in a respectful and responsible manner equals more efficient, intelligent and patient children. The school's principal was a former Ho''ala teacher and former Ho''ala parent, which I think adds to the sense of community and the well-oiled machine that is Ho''ala. I am grateful to my parents for sending me to Ho''ala and I continue to carry the values of Ho''ala with me into adulthood.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Ho'ala School far exceeded our expectations. My daughter attended Ho'ala School from K-4th grade. We recently underwent a military move to the mainland and my daughter started 5th grade, middle school, in a premier school district. We received her first progress report at her new school and she received all A's and a B. I then went to a parent/teacher conference and was told by the teachers that they don't know why I came in for a conference- She's doing GREAT!?" I explained our recent move and one teacher stated How can she possibly be doing so well coming from Hawaii " I nodded and explained that this is why I chose to send her to Ho'ala School. Hoala's investment in each child's development and well-being has allowed my daughter to thrive at her new school! She was definitely well prepared and ahead of the curve for this huge middle school transition due to Hoala's emphasis on respect, responsibility, responsiveness and resourcefulness. Ho''ala's emphasis on character education enriches the WHOLE child! She was not only prepared academically but given life skills through their character education program that are tools she will take with her forever.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
At age 10 our daughter is excited about school and has come to value her education. She has become an introspective person who can act upon her feelings of empathy in the absence of coercion or self-centered conformity. Parent involvement in any school is vital to student success as well as to the success of the school community. We wish for every child and their family the opportunity of a Hoala education that has brightened every aspect of our daily lives and changed how we live in the world. The academics are updated, well rounded and solid.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
My son has grown so much as a student at Ho`ala. You all have done more to heal his self-esteem and confidence than I was able to do while homeschooling him. We are so grateful. He has become responsible & his anxiety about doing academic work, including homework, has disappeared. The level of work expected at Ho`ala was a big leap for my daughter. That she has risen to the challenge cheerfully and achieved is, of course, a credit to her but also a credit to the school and her teachers. I am so impressed with the teachers'' performance and their level of commitment to the school and to each child. They encourage and challenge every child. But my children would not follow where they lead if they did not have integrity and love. The teachers would not be as good as they are without the support and strong leadership of the administration and Head of School. There is something really special going on at Ho`ala. It is so different from all their previous schools, and thank heavens! It feels like love not the sentimental version; rather, the version that sees and believes in the best of each child & gives them the tools to realize it for themselves.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
October 18, 2017
The Seattle area is home to many fine private schools as well as to major companies such as Microsoft, Boeing and Starbucks.
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Honolulu County, HI is $8,411 for elementary schools and $15,470 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Honolulu County, HI is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).