Community Montessori School

5.00 5 1 (9 reviews)
Tel: (859)277-4805
  • Community Montessori School has served the Lexington community since 1970.
  • Community Montessori with MMSK, is a non sectarian school and welcomes children of every race, color, or national origin.
  • The school maintains the highest standards of academic excellence and dedication to the individual needs of children.
  • The principles of Dr. Maria Montessori provide the framework for program development in all areas.
  • The school holds the total development of the child as our foremost consideration. The school is approved by the Kentucky State Department of Education as well as the Association Montessori Internationale.
  • The school accepts students from toddler through the 8th grade.

School Overview

School TypeMontessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association Montessori International (AMI)
Other Montessori association(s)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded1970

Student Body

Total Students150 students
Student Body Typen/a
% Students of Color
13%
State avg.: 8%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers10 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio15:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesPlease contact school directly for tuition information.
Admissions DirectorAnne Gray
Admissions AssociateKatie Toffey
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Lexington
    Grades: PK-12 | 1460 students
    0.5 miles
    450 W Reynolds Rd
    Lexington, KY 40503
    (859)422-5700
    0.5 PK-12
    1460
  • Lexington
    Grades: PK-6 | 68 students
    2.8 miles
    319 S Broadway Park
    Lexington, KY 40504
    (859)254-7034
    2.8 PK-6
    68
  • Lexington
    Grades: K-7 | 231 students
    4.1 miles
    1209 Texaco Rd
    Lexington, KY 40508
    (859)255-7330
    4.1 K-7
    231
  • Lexington
     Ss Peter & Paul School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: NS-8 | 490 students
    3.9 miles
    423 West Short Street
    Lexington, KY 40507
    (859)254-9257
    3.9 NS-8
    490
  • Lexington
    Grades: NS-8 | 594 students
    2.4 miles
    1050 Lane Allen Road
    Lexington, KY 40504
    (859)278-0501
    2.4 NS-8
    594

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  12/17/2016
I have two children at Community Montessori and have been so pleased with what I am seeing in their progress socially, emotionally, and intellectually. . My Children have many friends and get along well with others when completing tasks. They have an eagerness to learn and really look up to their teachers and aspires to be just like them. My son has been reciting math facts in the car because he is interested not because it is homework or he has to. He came home with a booklet of math he had created and told me that he had worked so hard that when he was done he just, "hugged it" because he was so happy he could do it.The values my children hold in helping others, being a role model, caring for animals and the environment are directly aligned with what they are learning at school and home.
- Posted by
5  12/17/2016
I have two children at CMS, and they both love it there.Both are still in the pre-Kindergarten program, but they are advancing well academically for their age.We plan to continue on with this school once our kids reach traditional school age (Kindergarten) and beyond because we feel the school helps in the development of happy, kind, well-rounded children.
- Posted by
5  10/29/2016
Both of my children attend Community Montessori School. My son has progressed through lower elementary into upper elementary, and my daughter has progressed through upper elementary and is currently attending the middle school program at CMS. We have been thrilled with their progress, their ability to problem solve, work independently and with a group, and their test scores have been above average. The school has a real sense of family. There is a focus on the arts (there is a band program as well as opportunities to perform in plays, something that is lacking at other small private schools).One of the things that attracted us to the school initially was the ability for children to work at their own pace. My daughter was given busy work at her previous school whenever she would complete things before the other students so that all students would be at the same level. Now she can forge ahead and do the next lesson or get extra help if she is struggling with something. Children who learn at a slower pace don't hold the rest of the class back, and children who are excelling aren't held back by the rest of the class.I truly believe that Montessori education is the way we were meant to learn, and I wouldn't want my children to experience it anywhere other than Community Montessori.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
This is one of Lexington's treasures with excellent staff and a strict adherence to the true Montessori pedagogy. The sense of community and attunement to each child's unique needs is a valuable part of this school's offerings. Highly recommended!
- Posted by
5  5/23/2013
As a parent of a primary student, the school has been absolutely ideal for learning. Despite some difficulty this past year with a teacher who was not following the Montessori method and had to be asked to leave, the classrooms have continued to provide the best possible learning environments for our kids. The teachers remain both professional and personable providing individual attention as needed and leading our children to learn all subjects following the AMI approved and research supported teaching methods. We look forward to many years to come at CMS and recommend it highly to interested parents seeking the best Montessori education possible!
- Posted by
5  4/14/2013
We love this school! What an amazing environment for our children to learn and grow. Thanks to CMS, our children love learning and are actually excited about school! This AMI-accredited montessori school provides a beautiful place for our children to learn. There is excellent communication, all teachers are AMI certified and most importantly, the children absolutely love it! We could not be happier. Recently, one of the teachers was fired from the school and I can personally tell you that the quality of teaching that is now taking place in that class is absolutely excellent and we are extremely happy with this situation. We highly recommend this school!
- Posted by
5  4/12/2013
One of the best decisions I ever made was to send my kids to CMS! After looking at several other Montessori schools in the area, I chose CMS because of their dedication to the children both in and out of the classroom. I observed several classrooms and was very impressed with the teaching methods and environment, and my "interview" of the administration staff confirmed all of the good things I had been told about CMS. One of my children is more of a tactile learner, and the Montessory method and teachers at CMS helped my child learn at their own pace and yet enter middle school at a level above most other students! I highly recommend CMS to those parents that want to see their child excel in their education.
- Posted by
5  3/29/2013
Great teacher credentials and caring, educated, child-centered staff. Would highly recommend this true to the original Maria Montessori plan for school programs to other parents!
- Posted by
5  3/29/2013
I am an actively involved grandparent of a child at CMS and have also done volunteer work there. I am also a researcher in human behavior studies. I have been greatly impressed with the degree to which the learning environment and approach conforms to what we now know about neurodevelopment. Plus, the emphasis on courtesy and kindness in human interactions is a big plus here. The non-sectarian humanism may not be what everyone wants, but for liberal minded parents and grandparents, this is an ideal school for young minds.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
July 13, 2018
Schools for the artistically gifted child are in short supply.
July 07, 2018
As you’ve been doing your boarding school research, you’ve likely seen ISEE/SSAT score submission requirements for your target schools, and understand how important scores are to the admissions process. Unfortunately, tremendous candidates can get bypassed because they were not able to demonstrate what they knew on test day.
June 26, 2018
Many people thought vouchers would never amount to much. Not only have they amounted to a great deal more than anybody could have thought, but vouchers have encouraged several more education choices to flourish.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Lexington, KY is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).