St. Roch School

5.00 5 1 (12 reviews)
Tel: (314)721-2595
  • St. Roch School has been enriching the lives of its students, their families, and our community through dedication to the principles of faith, discipline, service, and education since 1911.Our diverse student body is composed of children from over twenty different St. Louis area zip codes.
  • These students benefit from a progressive, faith based and supportive school setting, designed to foster academic achievement.
  • St. Roch School prides itself on being a tight community that is both racially and economically diverse.As a Catholic school, Christian values are fundamental to the foundation of all our programs, ensuring every child learns to value God, themselves, and others.
  • St. Roch is dedicated to develop the whole person. Our rigorous academic program prepares children for high school and beyond.
  • When our students graduate, they possess the confidence, compassion, and character to make their future and ours the best it can be.Offering grades Pre K through 8th grade. Please contact us for a tour and more information any time throughout the school year.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Religious AffiliationRoman Catholic
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-8
Year Founded1911

Student Body

Total Students212 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
34%
State avg.: 19%
Students by GradeSt. Roch School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio18:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
90%
Average Class Size20 students
Classroom Dress CodeFormal

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: K-8 | 193 students
    4.9 miles
    3022 Oregon Ave
    Saint Louis, MO 63118
    (314)776-0883
    4.9K-8
    193
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: KG-12 | 282 students
    3.6 miles
    4257 Magnolia Ave
    Saint Louis, MO 63110
    (314)776-6473
    3.6KG-12
    282
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: PK-8 | 173 students
    3.7 miles
    4720 Carter Ave
    Saint Louis, MO 63115
    (314)389-0401
    3.7PK-8
    173
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: K-8 | 136 students
    5.3 miles
    1435 Mallinckrodt St
    Saint Louis, MO 63107
    (314)231-9014
    5.3K-8
    136
  • Saint Louis
    Grades: 5-8 | 109 students
    4.5 miles
    1106 N. Jefferson
    Saint Louis, MO 63106
    (314)531-9820
    4.55-8
    109

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (12 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
As a young family living in the Central West End, the school has exceeded my expectations. Although the facility is not the most impressive that we saw, it was apparent that the dedication of the teachers was enormous: they know every child by name (even those not in their grade). The commitment to technology was strong. We have found a very strong community outside of the walls of the building which I don't think you find at many other schools - certainly not public ones. I am proud that my kids will be graduates of this school !
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
St. Roch is an incredibly diverse community, socially, racially, economically, and even religiously. We really value that for our kids, and it's hard to find at many independent schools of this caliber. While the physical buildings aren't as attractive as many others out there, the academics are very accelerated and highly competitive with schools costing $10k more. Finally we also love the values taught and practiced here. Good luck finding the right school for you!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
St. Roch is a fantastic school with high academic standards, caring teachers, and a diverse and kind student body. It is truly a hidden gem, and I''m so glad my children are there. Even if we won the lottery and could afford any of the $20,000 a year schools in the area, I wouldn't even consider moving them.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
My husband and I reviewed and visited 4 finalist schools to send our oldest son to kindergarten. We toured St. Roch, two magnet public schools, and a private school. What was most important to us: strong academics, diversity of student body, parental involvement, extracurricular opportunities, and sense of community. None of the other three schools had all these characteristics. Five years later, we still believe we made the right decision. St. Roch's size, relative affordability, top-notch teachers, diversity (in terms of race, income, and yes, religion!), and strong supporting neighborhood are major assets. We have been extremely satisfied with St. Roch.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
When my kids started at St. Roch, someone told me we would never find diversity in a St. Louis parochial school. They were so wrong! We have found a great treasure in the diversity of St. Roch's student body. We have a learning consultant as well as accelerated programs. The faculty is outstanding and very much part of this strong community. St. Roch is very focused on technology and preparing the students for high school. Come visit!
- Posted by
5  1/29/2015
I have four children who are attending St. Roch or have graduated, and two more on the way. The teachers are first rate, the families are diverse, and the community is supportive and encouraging. But what really sets St. Roch apart is its culture. Students respect each other and their teachers, and they expect each other to work hard and act responsibly. The seventh and eighth graders mentor the students in the younger grades and give them models to emulate. The faculty and curriculum teach Catholic values but welcome any denomination or faith. St. Roch would be a bargain at twice the price.
- Posted by
5  1/29/2015
St. Roch grade school is an asset to the community, teaching great children to be great adults. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants their children to be focussed on not only being their best as a student, but learning to be a part of a community that cares about and respects all people. Kids learn that pride comes from within, that there are more important things than a big beautiful school, or brand new "everything".
- Posted by
5  1/17/2015
I am the parent of three current St. Roch students and one graduate. St. Roch is academically challenging and those challenges have served our graduate well. I credit St. Roch with preparing him for a vigorous high school career. The faculty is outstanding and there are many extracurricular activities offered for every age group. One of the best assets to St. Roch is the community. The St. Roch extended family is diverse in may ways. This is a community that welcomes others from all walks of life. The community is supportive and loving to the entire family. The people of St. Roch are a family. St. Roch is a great education and it is a supportive and loving community for all.
- Posted by
5  1/17/2015
I am proud to say that my children attend St. Roch. The school is academically challenging with above average test scores. It is socially diverse giving kids balance culturally, spiritually, and economically. Above all the community of St. Roch is well-rounded. The school places value where it should be--on the child and their future success in life.
- Posted by
5  1/17/2015
Great school and community. From preschool up. My kids love it, the education is quality, and it is a diverse tight knit community. Love love love.
- Posted by
5  1/17/2015
We love the community at St Roch! This is our first year at the school (pre-k) and we have had a wonderful experience. The teachers are engaging. The principal and secretary know every child and parent. Our child is getting a great start to his education. Highly recommended!
- Posted by
5  1/17/2015
Traditional but progressive academics! This is a hidden gem in a great part of the city. I am so happy I found this school for my children.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
April 20, 2018
Sending your children to a summer program or camp keeps them active in fun-filled settings. We explore your options.
April 19, 2018
We take a detailed look at the three popular early childhood methods to help you determine which one best suits your needs and requirements.
April 10, 2018
There's much more to running a small private school than offering great academics and teaching. Be sure to check under the hood regularly to make sure everything keeps running smoothly.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Saint Louis, MO is $11,326 for elementary schools and $16,809 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Saint Louis, MO is 80% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).