St. Rose Of Lima School

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
Tel: (203)426-5102
  • St. Rose Pre-K through 8 Roman Catholic School educates children by providing a foundation for individual academic excellence in a faith-based community that is committed to fostering personal spiritual growth, physical development,responsibility, and service to others.
  • St. Rose of Lima School is a top performing, award winning Roman Catholic School.
  • From preschool to eighth grade, we have an exemplary curriculum enveloped by a strong faith and service-based environment that educates the whole child.
  • St. Rose of Lima School inspires every student to reach their fullest potential and the opportunity to excel in their intellectual and spiritual growth.
  • We emphasize service to others and create a total learning environment with exceptional results.
  • St. Rose of Lima School is the only elementary school in Newtown to be nominated (2008 and 2009) and to have received the National Blue Ribbon Award (2009).
  • St. Rose of Lima School ranks nationally in the top 10% of all schools academically.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Other school association(s)
New England Association of Schools and Colleges
National Middle School Association
Religious AffiliationRoman Catholic
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-8
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedResource Teachers K-8
Year Founded1957
Awards Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2009

Student Body

Total Students286 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
2%
State avg.: 22%
Students by GradeSt. Rose Of Lima School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio11:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
99%
Average Class Size22 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(Land)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$5,559
Tuition NotesPlease visit school website for tuition, uniform and registration information. Preschool rates fluctuate by by program selected. www.stroseschool.com
% on Financial Aid
18%
Average Financial Aid Grant$1,000
Acceptance Rate
98%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorMrs. Karen Cappola

Sports

Total Sports Offered5 sports
SportsBasketball, Cheering, Flag Football, Soccer, Track and FieldBasketballCheering,
Flag FootballSoccer,
Track and Field

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.18 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.After School Care Program, After School Theater Program, Art Club, Chess Club, Cooking Club, Dodgeball, French Club, Homework/Tutoring Club, Mandarin Club, Math Club, Mindful Movement, Mock Trial, Model U.N. Club, National Junior Honor Society, Rocket Club, Scout Programs, Student Council, Yearbook Club Art Club, Chess Club, Cooking Club, Dodgeball, French Club, Mandarin Club, Math Club, Mock Trial, Rocket Club, Scout Programs, Yearbook Club, After School Care Program,
After School Theater Program,
Homework/Tutoring Club,
Mindful Movement,
Model U.N. Club,
National Junior Honor Society,
Student Council,

School Notes

  • Our Mission: St. Rose of Lima Catholic School provides children in presechool through eighth grade a foundation for individual academic excellence in a faith-based community.  We educate the whole child, fostering in each student personal spiritual growth, responsibility and Christ's message of service to others.St. Rose of Lima School is a top performing, award winning Roman Catholic School. From preschool to eighth grade, we have an exemplary curriculum enveloped by a strong faith and service-based environment that educates the whole child. St. Rose of Lima School inspires every student to reach their fullest potential and the opportunity to excel in their intellectual and spiritual growth. We emphasize service to others and create a total learning environment with exceptional results.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bethel
    Grades: PK-8 | 216 students
    5.4 miles
    24 Dodgingtown Rd
    Bethel, CT 06801
    (203)744-2922
    5.4PK-8
    216
  • Washington
    Grades: K-9 | 322 students
    18.3 miles
    201 Romford Rd
    Washington, CT 06794
    (860)868-0535
    18.3K-9
    322
  • New Haven
    Grades: 7-12 | 710 students
    18.3 miles
    986 Forest Road
    New Haven, CT 06515
    (203)397-1001
    18.37-12
    710
  • Easton
    Grades: PK-12 | 222 students
    9.9 miles
    660 Morehouse Road
    Easton, CT 06612
    (203)268-5530
    9.9PK-12
    222
  • Waterbury
    Grades: PK-8 | 217 students
    15.7 miles
    386 Robinwood Rd
    Waterbury, CT 06708
    (203)756-5313
    15.7PK-8
    217

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
I registered my son at St. Rose School with hesitation--a faith-based education was never something I considered. Yet, the small community, warm welcome, as well as the great reputation made me move forward--and I haven't turned back. We now have our two children attending the school, and are very involved with the community on a regular basis, because we choose to, and have so many opportunities to do so. My top three reasons for continuing my children's education here is for one, communication--the doors are always open. The administration and staff are always willing and able to sit and discuss any concerns I have. As a parent, it is my responsibility to voice my concerns and opinions, and I have always been able to do that, respectably. Second, academics, and my children's individual needs are not ever in question. As my son moves up in grades, the responsibilities and expectations are greater and challenging--and I have no words to express how he's blossomed this year with a teacher who has made him believe in himself and his abilities. Third, the faith-based education is more then I thought it would be for my kids, as well as for myself, as a parent. They amaze me with the stories, the choosing of right or wrong because "that's what God would do" attitude, as well as the true understanding of their faith and how to use it every day. Communication. Academics. Faith. It's why I stay.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our daughter recently entered St. Rose School after attending several years at our local public elementary school. I can honestly tell you that the transition has been very smooth and that we are all extremely happy. We are particularly thrilled with the greater intimacy a smaller more familial setting provides. The teachers and administration have been stellar . In this setting our daughter is comfortable with being herself while at the same time receiving an excellent education. She's happy and we''re ecstatic.
- Posted by
5  2/27/2013
My two children have attended St. Rose School since kindergarten (grades 8 and 5). St. Rose as been terrific. My children have different personalities and learn styles. Both have thrived at St Rose. The principal is an exceptional leader and the teachers are top notch. The principal and teachers work in concert to ensure individual student achievement. St. Rose sets high standards that have helped my children develop into outstanding learners, friends and community members.
- Posted by
5  2/27/2013
We moved our kids to St. Rose from local public schools that also have great reputation. We are absolutely thrilled with the academics at SRS. The teachers are some of the best we have ever seen. The faith based education they are receiving has been incredible. Teaching these children to be strong citizens who treat others with kindness and respect. The leaders (principal, teachers, clergy) are the hardest working people I know. Can not say enough GOOD things about this amazing school. Best decision we ever made was moving our kids to this incredible school.
- Posted by
5  2/14/2013
By far, the best choice in Newtown. The school community is strong, the atmosphere is welcoming and nurturing. The outstanding teaching staff is lead by the strongest principal in the diocese and the town. I have 3 children at St. Rose and feel blessed to be a part of the family there. So much misconception about teacher qualification requirements in Catholic schools - the teachers are stellar! The PreK is the best the town has to offer. High expectations, but the support in place to get our children there. Academically beyond any of the public schools in the district - students graduating from St. Rose are consistently the highest achievers at the High School level. Wisdom, grace and integrity - priceless.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
September 29, 2017
Here are a dozen or so girls' schools' public thoughts about themselves and their missions.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Fairfield County, CT is $13,421 for elementary schools and $21,179 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fairfield County, CT is 71% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).