Congressional School

5.00 5 1 (9 reviews)
Tel: (703)533-1064
previous
next
  • Congressional School is a co-ed independent day school for infants to eighth graders in Falls Church, VA. Through academic and summer programs, students are encouraged to explore, engage, and embrace challenge in a diverse, inclusive community.
  • Graduates develop confidence, a sense of ethics, leadership and collaboration skills, and the desire to question, collaborate, create, and lead.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
AdvancED
Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS)
Religious AffiliationNonsectarian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded1939

Student Body

Total Students341 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
41%
State avg.: 26%
Students by GradeCongressional School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers37 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
47%
Average Class Size13 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Classroom Dress CodeFormal
(School Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesVisit our website to view our tuition fee schedule.
Admissions DirectorGretchen Herbst
Admissions AssociateJackie Rose

Sports

Total Sports Offered9 sports
SportsBasketball, Climbing, Cross Country, Equestrian, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballClimbing,
Cross CountryEquestrian,
LacrosseSoccer,
SoftballTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Model UN, Robotics

Arts and Music Programs:
Congressional Chorale

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Volleyball

School Notes

  • The mission of the Congressional School is to  ignite the spark in young learners to become great thinkers and leaders who will positively impact our world. We seek to provide provide an inspirational and challenging student-centered educational experience within our diverse and supportive community where children question, collaborate, create, and lead. We seek to provide a safe and stimulating environment in which children can develop academically, physically, creatively, socially, and emotionally; foster a climate which emphasizes traditional values of citizenship, service, personal responsibility, self-discipline, and respect and compassion for others; challenge students with an accelerated, interactive, and age-appropriate curriculum; provide supporting educational materials and integrate technology throughout the curriculum; maintain a structure and philosophy which assures attention to the unique needs of each child; attract and retain outstanding teachers who actively pursue on-going professional development; sustain a partnership between school and home in the education of the children; encourage all parents to play an active role in the life of the schools; take advantage of the many opportunities afforded by the diverse character of the Schools and of the surrounding metropolitan area; and acknowledge each child's special gifts and contributions.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Annandale
    Grades: NS-8 | 271 students
    2.1 miles
    3819 Gallows Road
    Annandale, VA 22003
    (703)256-3620
    2.1NS-8
    271
  • Alexandria
    Grades: NS-8 | 198 students
    6.5 miles
    5917 Telegraph Rd
    Alexandria, VA 22310
    (571)451-1006
    6.5NS-8
    198
  • Alexandria
    Grades: PK-8 | 275 students
    5.8 miles
    3700 Burgundy Road
    Alexandria, VA 22303
    (703)329-6968
    5.8PK-8
    275
  • Herndon
     Nysmith School for the Gifted
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: PK-8 | 570 students
    14.4 miles
    13625 EDS Drive
    Herndon, VA 20171
    (703)713-3332
    14.4PK-8
    570
  • Mc Lean
    Grades: K-12 | 1054 students
    5.4 miles
    1301 Potomac School Rd
    Mc Lean, VA 22101
    (703)749-6313
    5.4K-12
    1054

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  12/8/2017
While we believe our child would have been fine at most schools we looked at, we have no doubt that because we chose Congressional, our child is thriving. The small class size, up-to-date teaching methods, community support, opportunity to be outside and explore, and focus on character development make this school one of a kind in this area. It seemed that most schools in the DC area focus on either academics or character development, leaving parents with the impossible choice of picking what they want their children to spend their days focusing on. With Congressional, we strongly feel that our child is supported and challenged in both areas equally.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
This is my daughter's first year with Congressional (Fourth Grade). We transferred her from a Fairfax County Public School because we were unhappy with the lack of communication from the teacher and staff. Additionally, our daughter had become increasingly anxious about her previous school due to unresolved bullying issues. This year at Congressional has been a night and day difference for her, and for us. The exceptional attention from her great teachers and staff, the degree of communication we receive weekly, and the accessibility of Congressional Staff has been tremendous. Our daughter went from dreading every day at school to looking forward to it; from crying over challenging homework to tackling it head on right after school. While I certainly can't say enough about the quality of the education she is receiving, even it is over-shadowed by the increased confidence, security, and positivity our daughter has already developed within this, her first year.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
When I was looking for a new school for my children, I approached each school with a list- Is the average class size acceptable? Does the school offer "specials" (art/PE/music, etc.) and, if so, do they offer them frequently enough? Do students from this school matriculate to good high schools? Does this school have the ability to handle my children if they turn out to be geniuses, or if it`s discovered that they struggle and need extra help? Are the teachers well qualified? Do the students seem happy? Is there a lot of parent involvement? Blah, blah, blah. I was so smug- I had a LIST, and if I could answer each question with a YES, then I won the prize of sending my children to the best school! Many of the independent schools I visited met most of the criteria on my super special list, and I felt like I had some good options. Then I visited Congressional School, and I realized that while my list was a good start, I had NO IDEA what I COULD be asking for in a school. It`s like drinking instant coffee and being perfectly happy with it- until someone introduces you to a French press. Or those really cute videos of babies who get glasses for the first time and giggle uncontrollably at the sight of their parents` faces. They had no idea what they were missing, and neither did I. I had no idea that a school could be so amazing! Needless to say, Congressional has far exceeded my expectations. My children are excited and happy every morning to go to school, and I ALWAYS feel that the faculty and staff are excited and happy to have them there. It`s hard to adequately describe the community at Congressional. I heard a lot about it during the application process, but I didn`t really get it until I was there to see the day to day operations. It`s truly special supportive and friendly, but not annoying or intrusive. The campus is unreal. It`s 40 acres of fun (a creek, horses, ropes course, pools), and the teachers do an excellent job of using it to reinforce what they teach in the classroom. I`m also thrilled that they offer a great extended hours program and after school activities. For families with two working parents, it`s nice to have "one stop shopping", where children can go straight from school to horseback riding/chess club/soccer without having to find a nanny to transport them from one place to another. It`s also great for parents with multiple children, because we all know it`s impossible to be driving your daughter to ballet while your son is expected at karate AT THE SAME TIME.We ended up looking at independent schools mostly because we weren`t thrilled with our public school option. I am so happy that we didn`t move to a neighborhood that had a public school that I liked, because we probably would have gone that route and would have no idea what we were missing at Congressional. I feel lucky to be part of such a remarkable place.
- Posted by
5  9/10/2017
My son is a rising kindergartener, and he has attended Congressional since the age of 3. He genuinely loves the school. I think Congressional School is a great value with its sprawling campus and small classes. The principal and staff are a dedicated team. Some of the buildings could use a healthy refreshing, but overall it is a solid choice through 8 grade. It ends at 8th grade but the staff will help each student get placed in a great high school.
- Posted by
5  11/25/2016
My child has been enrolled at Congressional School from the age of three months and I can't imagine a better experience. The faculty is so nurturing, the facilities combine a quiet-campus setting with state-of-the art tools to offer everything a child needs to grow and develop, and the campus feels every bit as safe and secure as one's own home. But most importantly, my child comes home happy every day and always eager to go back tomorrow ... perhaps the most meaningful endorsement of all. So if you're looking for a top school and an unbeatable location, you should definitely put Congressional School at the top of your list.
- Posted by
5  11/3/2016
Congressional School is an amazing school. We have 3 children enrolled. We had our choice of many private schools in Northern Virginia and this was our first choice. The academics, teachers, and extracurricular offerings are all fantastic. In addition, the families are down to earth and vested in the success of the school and their children. Highly recommend!
- Posted by
5  8/16/2016
I am a parent of a middle school student who has attended Congressional since pre-school. I have been thrilled with the caring attitude of the teachers and administration throughout. There are a number of exceptional teachers, and I cannot be more pleased with how our child has done academically, which has included very good results in standardized tests and national academic contests.
- Posted by
5  8/16/2016
Congressional School is an exceptional school. I can tell you a lot about their strong record of academic excellence and their curriculum, but there`s more to this school than just that. What`s most important to me is that my two girls are always excited in the mornings when they arrive at school and are always smiling when I pick them up. It`s a very dad-friendly school too, and the teachers and extended hours staff are very helpful in keeping me straight since I`m the one who drops off and picks up every day. My children have learned so much over the last 8 years, and their good grades and high scores on standardized testing reflect the quality of their education. Congressional is just such a great community for both kids and parents with lots of family-oriented events throughout the school year. Congressional also provides me and my family with a great sense of security knowing they take entry, exit, and child sign-out very seriously. Did I mention the 40 acres of land, the creek running through the campus, the horses, the huge pool, the climbing wall, the woods, and the awesome summer camps? Arrange a visit and see for yourself why Congressional School is exceptional.
- Posted by
5  3/22/2016
I'm a current parent of a middle school student at Congressional who has attended since kindergarten. We have had a great experience at Congressional. The environment is friendly and caring. The curriculum is challenging and flexible. Many times it is driven by the interests of the students. The faculty is top notch.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Fairfax County, VA is $13,876 for elementary schools and $20,412 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fairfax County, VA is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).