Kansas City Academy

  • Kansas City Academy provides a creative, holistic, personalized, college-preparatory education for middle and high school students. The Academy's educational program is uniquely designed to recognize, nurture, and challenge each student's personal and academic potential.
  • By openly accepting and respecting the uniqueness and worth of each individual, the Academy is a place where students feel valued, learn personal responsibility, and experience learning as interesting, challenging and relevant.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Other school association(s)
Grades OfferedGrades 6-12

Student Body

Total Students75 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
Students by GradeKansas City Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers9 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio8:1
National avg.: 13:1

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling

School Notes

  • Kansas City Academy provides a creative, holistic, personalized, college-preparatory education for middle and high school students. The Academy's educational program is uniquely designed to recognize, nurture, and challenge each student's personal and academic potential. By openly accepting and respecting the uniqueness and worth of each individual, the Academy is a place where students feel valued, learn personal responsibility, and experience learning as interesting, challenging and relevant.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Kansas City
    Grades: PK-12 | 202 students
    5.1 miles
    8524 Blue Ridge Blvd
    Kansas City, MO 64138
    (816)358-0950
    5.1PK-12
    202
  • Kansas City
    Grades: PK-12 | 149 students
    4.3 miles
    10515 Grandview Road
    Kansas City, MO 64137
    (816)965-0186
    4.3PK-12
    149
  • Lees Summit
    Grades: PK-12 | 758 students
    13 miles
    1500 SW Jefferson
    Lees Summit, MO 64081
    (816)525-1480
    13PK-12
    758
  • Kansas City
    Grades: K-12 | 198 students
    1.3 miles
    8929 Holmes Road
    Kansas City, MO 64131
    (816)444-3567
    1.3K-12
    198
  • Grandview
    Grades: PK-12 | 146 students
    6.4 miles
    12340 Grandview Rd
    Grandview, MO 64030
    (816)767-8630
    6.4PK-12
    146

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  3/16/2012
No other school offers anything this close to the ideal for our daughter. The small student population, open atmosphere, and creative programming are all well-suited to make the most of her experience and needs. Above all it's the KCA philosophy we love – the mutual respect among students and faculty and the integrated educational approach provide a fertile environment to nurture her intellectual, social, and personal growth. Thus grounded, she is empowered to utilize her strengths with confidence and meet her challenges in an atmosphere of trust.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
We were amazed by the opportunities for creative synergy at KCA - they offer diverse programs in art(full ceramics studio), music(percussion ensemble,student band), creative writing(student publications), theatre(fall and spring plays) and award-winning student culinary team.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
I think that KCA is a great school and the teachers and students put in a lot of effort to make it a good environment.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
Kansas city academy is one of the finest schools i've ever seen, the students are kind, and welcoming, the faculty members are frendly and always wear a smile
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
KCA is a small but welcoming community. I love it here because i can go to school knowing that no matter what class I'm in i will be comfortable and included in daily activities.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
Kansas City Academy has changed my life. I used to not be able to sit down and write a single word for my homework, and here I am making above average grades as opposed to incredibly below average. The students are open and accepting, the teachers are kind and compassionate to each individual, and the school environment is more than extraordinary. I love it here.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
I Love This school because it is very chill and some of the teachers are amazing at what they do. I do learn alot here the academics are just as good as public schools. Most of the people are very accepting of everyone.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
An outstanding school with a unique approach to learning. Smaller classes provide students with many opportunities to explore and learn outside the school room. The students learn critical thinking and analysis of subjects instead of merely memorizing facts. I highly recommend Kansas City Academy for any student who would prefer a smaller school.
- Posted by
5  2/28/2012
My middle school son has never been so happy or absorbed in learning. He is learning important critical thinking skills instead of memorizing facts. The faculty and staff are a team of talented educators who work hard to build a strong school culture and it shows in the students behavior -- they are accepting, kind and supportive of each other. Visit this school. You'll be so impressed.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
May 10, 2018
Sending your child to a single-sex school is one of several options you have when it comes to private schools.
May 10, 2018
Sending your children to a summer program or camp keeps them active in fun-filled settings. We explore your options.
April 19, 2018
We take a detailed look at the three popular early childhood methods to help you determine which one best suits your needs and requirements.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Kansas City, MO is $6,080 for elementary schools and $10,686 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Kansas City, MO is 92% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).