Roycemore School

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
Tel: (847)866-6055
previous
next
  • Our mission is to inspire and nurture excellence and prepare each student for success in higher education and in a dynamic and complex world. For students from age three through Grade 12, Roycemore provides a challenging college preparatory curriculum in a nurturing environment.
  • Students thrive in small classes, guided by faculty who are focused on their individual talents and needs.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Lake Michigan Association of Independent Schools
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedLearning assistance for mild learning differences
Year Founded1915

Student Body

Total Students252 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
40%
State avg.: 31%
Students by GradeRoycemore School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers42 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
56%
Average Class Size18 students
Number of AP Courses15 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition NotesTuition varies by grade, ranging from $10,060 to $27,880.
% on Financial Aid
33%
Acceptance Rate
90%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorAmanda Avery

Sports

Total Sports Offered4 sports
SportsBasketball, Gymnastics, Soccer, VolleyballBasketballGymnastics,
SoccerVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.20 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
LS Chess Club, LS Lego Club, Model UN, MS and US Mentorship Program, MS Homework Club, MS Math Club, MS Matters, US Community Service Club, US Culture Club, US Gay Straight Alliance, US German Club, US Student Government, US Yearbook

Arts and Music Programs:
LS Drama Club, MS Chorus, MS Theater Group, US Chorus, US Drama Club

Recreational Athletic Programs:
LS Running Griffins Club, MS and US Cross Country

School Notes

  • Roycemore has a welcoming, positive and energetic school culture. Students, teachers, administrators and parents work together to maintain a community that reflects the School's core values: respect for others, appreciation of differences, and a commitment to academic excellence in a challenging but non-competitive environment. This culture is supported by character education in Lower School, and Advisory in Middle and Upper Schools, where students select their faculty advisors and engage in small group conversation about issues relevant to adolescents. Parents are encouraged to be involved and to help enrich and sustain the family-like atmosphere of the school.Roycemore welcomes all who share our passion for inspiring young people to achieve excellence and who celebrate the wonderful uniqueness of every individual. The Roycemore community includes many different kinds of students and families from throughout Chicago, Evanston and the northern suburbs.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Chicago
    Lake View Academy
    Alternative School (Presbyterian)
    Grades: 10-12 | 19 students
    7.2 miles
    716 W Addison St
    Chicago, IL 60613
    (773)281-3065
    7.210-12
    19
  • Winnetka
    Grades: PK-12 | 545 students
    4.1 miles
    310 Green Bay Rd
    Winnetka, IL 60093
    (847)446-0674
    4.1PK-12
    545
  • Lake Forest
    Woodlands Academy Of The Sacred Heart
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 171 students
    14.7 miles
    760 E Westleigh Rd
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
    (847)234-4300
    14.79-12
    171
  • Evanston
    Grades: 9-12 | 131 students
    0.4 miles
    1574 Sherman Avenue
    Evanston, IL 60201
    (224)999-1177
    0.49-12
    131
  • Lake Forest
    Grades: 9-12 | 441 students
    16.7 miles
    1500 W Kennedy Rd
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
    (847)615-3248
    16.79-12
    441

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  12/27/2017
Going to Roycemore for high school was one of the best decisions I ever made. Five years ago, I began looking at schools that were academically rigorous and had a supportive teaching staff. Roycemore had both and something else no other school around had; a genuinely kind and happy student body. During my perspective student visit, most students went out of their way to interact with me and to ensure that I felt welcome. At Roycemore, I took, and succeed in, eight AP classes, had a sufficiently strong academic rsum to get me into my first-choice college (Haverford), but most importantly, I was happy. Roycemore is a home and its community a family. It was the place I rushed to in the mornings, and that I was reluctant to leave at night. I am writing this review in the hopes of more students experiencing what it feels like to actually enjoy going to school, to be an equal member of a family, and to not just a name on an attendance sheet.
- Posted by
5  12/8/2017
Roycemore is a truly unique place where my kids are thriving. I have 2 children in Roycemore's Lower School, one of whom struggles with learning differences and other of whom is far above grade level. It amazes me that both of them are doing amazingly well. THIS is true differentiation (a word I hear but do not see often). All that, plus they get 40 minutes to eat lunch, 45 minutes at recess and 30 minutes of PE, each of these EVERY DAY!!! Best of all, they LOVE going to school each day. I could not be happier with our experience at this wonderful, loving place.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
We love Roycemore !After extensive research on schooling options across the Northshore, my husband and I decided to apply to Roycemore for our then five-year-old daughter. This probably was one of the best parenting decisions that we have made so far. Now a second grader, our daughter has been thriving academically, socially, and emotionally at Roycemore. Here is why we are so happy about the school:The faculty: The teachers are incredible. I cannot believe how much attention, care, and sheer love goes into their relation with the children. The teacher student ratio is excellent (1/14) so the teachers know exactly where each child stands and what her needs are. Diversity: the school operates on a sliding tuition model that allows kids from a variety of social and ethnic background to benefit from a splendid education and learn to know and respect each other. According to the most recent statistics, 48% of Roycemore kids come from non-Caucasian families. In addition, the school models a sense of social responsibility by taking part of several community-oriented projects throughout the academic year.Differentiation: The pedagogical approach at Roycemore is all about differentiation, and their ability to meet each child where s/he is one of the school`s greatest strengths. In the lower school, the kids break up into need-based groups across two grades (first and second, third and fourth) for reading and math. Additional faculty (including a great gifted coordinator) join the regular classroom teacher at those times, which must bring the adult/student ratio to an amazing 7:1 for reading and math.Approach to homework: So far my daughter has got very little homework: almost none in first grade, and a weekly take-home project in second grade, which has left her time to unwind and enjoyed unstructured activities at home. The homework that she got emphasized quality and creativity. I am very happy with that approach, which is very much in line with recent research on the benefits of decreased amounts of homework.Leadership: In 2016-2017 Roycemore was led by a warm and caring interim head who managed to bring about some very positive initiatives (including the switch to a fully organic food provider) in a short period of time. The new head of school seems fantastic. I relish her inspiring weekly messages to the community and am most impressed with her dedication and commitment to getting to know each child and family individually.Ethics and values: the lower school participates in a wonderful social and emotional program called "Leader in Me" that emphasize "seven habits" including collaboration, respect for others, self-motivation, organization, etc. The teachers are very imaginative at designing activities that prompt the kids to apply those seven habits in real life. The kids have daily class meetings and weekly lower school meetings where they learn to work together and address conflict in a positive and a respectful manner.The space: The facilities are bright, clean, and colorful. I feel happy each time I come in. Also the location in down-town Evanston near the Metra, the L, the post-office and a range of shops has turned out to be super convenient. In a word: ROYCEMORE ROCKS!
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
Roycemore is The School that gets it on the North Shore.This North Shore gem cultivates a strong academic environment while emphasizing the social/emotional development of the children. It is small (one class per grade), which fosters a high degree of responsiveness to kids and parents alike.On the academic front, although Roycemore is not a gifted school, the faculty use a gifted model of education and differentiate the instruction according to kids` needs with the help of a gifted coordinator. For English, they combine 1st and 2nd graders, and separate them into four (mostly skill-based) groups. This allows kids to focus on what they need most, including phonics for those who benefit from it. In Math 1st to 4th grade, the classes are grouped by skills (after merging 1st with 2nd grade, then 3rd with 4th grade). In addition, the gifted coordinator will spend time as needed to challenge kids 1 to 2 grades ahead while keeping the topic engaging and fun.At the same time, kids` free time is respected: they are not given tons of homework for the sake of it. For social and emotional development, they use the "7 habits of happy kids" by Sean Covey. Young age is the best time to build lifelong habits of success. They also have Aristotelian virtues painted on the walls.The teachers are amazing. In first grade, Ms. Vanchieri is nurturing and calm, but also firm and structuring. In second grade, Ms. Taylor-Pines is energetic and full of enthusiasm.Ms. Orzoff, the head of lower school, is firm with would-be bullies, but always has kids best interest at heart, and has her door open for parents.In addition, the school just hired a new Principal, Adrianne Finley Odell, who aims to keep the school`s strong values, while injecting new energy.Last year, there was a big improvement with the quality of the food, which is now provided by HandCut foods. It is mostly organic, and the kids love it.The small size allows the school to listen to parents. In our experience, it has been very responsive, and the opposite of the stubborn bureaucracy you will often find at many public (and even private) schools. The motto seems to be: if we can do it, we will. Instead of: we will first say no, wait for our lawyers` opinion, and make you feel our power.The small size also allows for flexibility in how the school incorporates recent research of what is effective in education. For example, research at Princeton has shown that handwriting helps memorization, and they encourage it including the teaching of cursive. On the other hand, computers help for differentiation and are used for that purpose. They are also careful to provide enough time for sports and outdoor recess, which help kids develop gross motor skills, have fun, and keep better eyesight. As you may have noticed, I am quite detailed oriented. My wife and I visited all the schools of the North Shore and more (Central Elementary, Avoca West, Sears, Baker, Chiaravalle, North Shore Country Day, Lyce Francais etc.), and this is the best by far.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
This is our second year at Roycemore and we couldn't be happier. We came to the middle school from a selective enrollment CPS school. They went from having 30 kids in their class to having 10 and the change has been monumental. They have grown by leaps and bounds. Their teachers know them so well. They know their strengths and weaknesses and they create an environment where your child flourishes in an incredibly supportive environment. The incredible teachers and the small class sizes are what allow for a very individualized approach to my children's education that was lacking at CPS.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
My son just graduated. Despite learning differences, he took 8 APs (got 5s and 4s) and felt totally supported by the most dedicated and loving faculty anywhere. He got into his first choice highly selective liberal arts college early decision. Thank you, Roycemore! My daughter, now in 6th, is in track to have her own amazing experience as a Roycemore student. Can't say enough good things. This school knows what matters and lives by those values.
- Posted by
5  10/14/2017
Best decision I made for my son. Roycemore is outstanding on all levels from curriculum to extra curricular activities.
- Posted by
5  2/24/2015
We highly recommend Roycemore! Our son is in the Upper School and is very happy. The academics are excellent, the classes are small, and the teachers are caring and engaged, with each student receiving individual attention. Roycemore is a very special place.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
January 07, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
December 27, 2017
Hundreds of private schools, and for that matter, public schools, outside the United States will be happy to have you as a teacher for a few years.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Cook County, IL is $7,361 for elementary schools and $14,855 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Cook County, IL is 88% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).