St. John Lutheran Early Learning Center

5.00 5 1 (2 reviews)
Tel: (630)324-6582
  • Our state licensed teaching staff in our DCFS licensed facility provides a safe and Christ-centered environment for quality foundational learning.
  • All of our teachers enjoy working with children.  We treat children with care and respect.
  • We value what children have to say and the many questions that they ask.
  • Our school follows the Illinois Early Learning and Development Standards.
  • Our daily schedule includes time for worship, age-appropriate academic learning, arts and crafts, music, developmental centers, playtime, story time, gross motor and outdoor play.

Upcoming Events and News

  • Preschoolers Host Mother's Tea - 08/17/2016 - Mothers of preschoolers at St. John Lutheran Early Learning Center in Darien enjoyed an early Mother's Day celebration.
  • Preschoolers' Joy Soars as Butterflies Take Flight - 08/17/2016 - Preschoolers and their teacher at St. John Lutheran Early Learning Center in Darien squeal with glee as their butterflies are released.
  • Preschoolers Plant - 08/17/2016 - Preschoolers at St. John Lutheran Early Learning Center in Darien look forward to seeing how their garden will grow.
  • Preschoolers and Firefighters Make a Perfect Match - 08/17/2016 - Preschoolers at St. John Lutheran Early Learning Center in Darien enjoy a visit with the Darien-Woodridge Fire Department.
  • Preschoolers Practice Early Literacy Skills - 08/17/2016 - Preschoolers at St. John Lutheran ELC in Darien "read" their print-rich classroom to practice letter recognition and discrimination.
  • Free Parent Workshop - 01/28/2017 - St. John Lutheran Early Learning Center (ELC) located at 7214 South Cass Avenue in Darien, IL will present a FREE Parenting Workshop open to the community on Wednesday, February 8 from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. 
  • Preschool Summer Camps - 09/26/2017 - Preschoolers will enjoy Dramatic Play and Ocean Voyage Pirate Adventure at this year's summer camps.
  • Join Our Circle of Life and Early Learning - 09/26/2017 - Enrollment continues for 2017-2018!

School Overview

School TypeEarly Childhood / Day Care
School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association for the Education of Young Children
Religious AffiliationLutheran Church Missouri Synod
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-Prekindergarten
Year Founded1969

Student Body

Total Students40 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
5%
State avg.: 31%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers3 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio13:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
3%
Average Class Size15 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Admissions DirectorDr. Nancy Chibe

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Recreational Athletic Programs:
Soccer Shots of South DuPage County, Tennis Titans, Tumblebear Gymnastics

School Notes

  • Our engaging standard-based curriculum focuses on communication skills and expressive arts, wellness, and discovery.  Learning expectations are aligned with public school entrance benchmarks. 
  • Learning about God and His love for us is embedded throughout the day and during Jesus time when Bible stories and songs are shared.  Service projects are done to help children nurture the sharing of Jesus' love with others.
  • The daily schedule includes a blend of teacher-directed lessons and child-initiated hands-on, sensory exploration in independent, small group, and large group settings which help children develop positive relationships with peers and adults.
  • A variety of activities such as story time, art projects, music, and creative play occur daily. Occasional field trips extend learning as do our optional on-site afternoon enrichment classes and summer camps.
  • Children learn how to take care of their body through good hygiene and healthy, safe choices. Nutritious snacks and lunches are served. Exercising large muscle groups and developing upper and lower body skills happen in our large indoor play area and outdoor fenced playground.
  • While our school is part of the largest Protestant school system in the United States operated by The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LCMS), you do not have to be Lutheran or a church member to enroll your child. We are here to serve all children and their families by providing flexible and excellent Christ-centered education at reasonable and competitive rates.     

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Darien
    Montessori Pebbles
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-KG | 36 students
    0.3 miles
    7516 S Cass Ave
    Darien, IL 60561
    (630)963-2294
    0.3PK-KG
    36
  • Darien
    Abc Land Preschool
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-PK | 53 students
    0.6 miles
    1321 Plainfield Rd
    Darien, IL 60561
    (630)971-3870
    0.6NS-PK
    53
  • Darien
    Darien KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-PK | 5 students
    0.8 miles
    7906 South Cass Ave.
    Darien, IL 60561
    (630)964-9094
    0.8NS-PK
    5
  • Westmont
    Chesterbrook Academy
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-K | 17 students
    1.1 miles
    6351 S Cass Avenue
    Westmont, IL 60559
    (630)493-1233
    1.1NS-K
    17
  • Darien
    Kingswood Academy
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 135 students
    1.3 miles
    133 Plainfield Road
    Darien, IL 60561
    (630)887-1411
    1.3PK-8
    135

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (2 reviews)
5  2/26/2016
My daughter had attended a different area preschool and we had planned for our son to attend the same, but after his experience at St. John ELC, we chose to have him stay for all of his preschool years. In conversations with friends and neighbors, I have never met a person who has not commented that St. John ELC has always had one of the best preschool programs around. It is a unique program because it is a stand alone, faith-based preschool, so it has the advantage of doing preschool only and doing it well.
- Posted by
5  1/19/2016
St. John Lutheran Early Learning Center is a safe, nurturing, enjoyable preschool for children. My child LOVES school and is confident and comfortable there. Hearing my child talk about the teachers and about what he is learning in school warms my heart. I feel my child has grown academically, spiritually, and socially. The staff is sincerely interested in each child's family. I like that I can get immediate feedback if I have a question or concern about my child's development. The on-site enrichment classes are convenient because I do not have to drive my child somewhere else to benefit from them. I'm so thankful that St. John ELC is part of shaping my child into the person he will become.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 17, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Dupage County, IL is $4,890 for elementary schools and $11,872 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Dupage County, IL is 94% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).