St. Mark Lutheran School

5.00 5 1 (9 reviews)
45-725 Kamehameha Highway
Kaneohe, HI 96744
Tel: (808)247-5589
previous
next
  • Saint Mark Lutheran School was established in 1956 and has grown to include Kindergarten through Eighth Grade with an enrollment of about 200 students.
  • Saint Mark Lutheran School is operated as an integral part of the educational ministry program of Saint Mark Lutheran Church.
  • The curriculum is set up to facilitate students who are working at or near grade level.
  • The school does not offer special educational programs for students with severe learning disabilities and/or disciplinary problems.
  • Our teachers are certified to teach in private schools, and many are graduates of our own Lutheran teacher training colleges of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.
  • Saint Mark Lutheran School extends the love and care of Jesus Christ to all people, while nurturing families and preparing students to integrate faith with life, through quality Christ-centered education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Hawaii Association of Independent Schools (HAIS)
Religious AffiliationLutheran Church Missouri Synod
Grades OfferedGrades Kindergarten-8
Year Founded1956

Student Body

Total Students204 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
Students by GradeSt. Mark Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio17:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
40%

Finances and Admission

Tuition NotesGrades K-5 Tuition = $7,090; Grades 6-8 Tuition = $7,530
% on Financial Aid
25%

Sports

Total Sports Offered3 sports
SportsBasketball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballTrack and Field,
Volleyball
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Honolulu
    Kawaiaha'o Church School
    Montessori School (Church of Christ)
    Grades: K-5 | 24 students
    8.4 miles
    872 Mission Ln
    Honolulu, HI 96813
    (808)585-0622
    8.4K-5
    24
  • Honolulu
    Grades: NS-6 | 180 students
    7.5 miles
    1239 Nehoa St
    Honolulu, HI 96822
    (808)522-0244
    7.5NS-6
    180
  • Honolulu
     Iolani School
    (Episcopal)
    Grades: K-12 | 1938 students
    8.9 miles
    563 Kamoku St
    Honolulu, HI 96826
    (808)949-5355
    8.9K-12
    1938
  • Honolulu
    Grades: KG-6 | 83 students
    7.4 miles
    1708 Nuuanu Ave Ste 1
    Honolulu, HI 96817
    (808)533-0452
    7.4KG-6
    83
  • Honolulu
    Grades: NS-4 | 223 students
    8.4 miles
    153 Bougainville Drive
    Honolulu, HI 96818
    (808)423-1727
    8.4NS-4
    223

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5  6/23/2017
BEST DECISION WE EVER MADE was sending our daughter to St. Mark Lutheran School. She had been attending another private school in Kaneohe since preschool and the thought of switching schools made us nervous. Not knowing what to expect can be scary. Our only regret was that we didn't do it earlier. For the past four years, our daughter has thrived at St. Mark. The teachers are EXCELLENT and truly care about the students. They take the time to really get to know your child and help your child to grow and succeed. The teachers even host fun outside events such as scavenger hunts at the mall, water play at the school and ice skating. The principal, Dr. Gaudi, is very approachable, well respected and always visible. He doesn't just sit behind a desk. He is involved in the life of the school and knows the kids by name. Most importantly, the curriculum is rich and challenging and prepared our daughter for high school. In fact, she was awarded a scholarship at a very prestigious private high school in Honolulu. We were VERY happy with St. Mark Lutheran school and strongly recommend the school to all.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We enrolled our daughter at Saint Mark because of glowing reviews of the staff. Our expectations were heightened, and literally have been vastly exceeded. Our daughter has thrived in the environment provided both in and out of the classroom. The help and guidance to bring about our child's best efforts has allowed her to succeed and be more than ready for her next steps in life. Perhaps larger than what they have offered our daughter, our family has become a part of and thrives at Saint Mark.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We transferred our daughter here after a semester at a public school and my husband and I could NOT be happier. All the staff is wonderful, the older students are amazing, and the environment is great. Our daughter has advanced more in the few months that she has been at St. Mark than she did at her old school. We regularly say that St. Mark is completely worth the price - we''d pay much more for the education she's getting.
- Posted by
5  6/1/2012
I am a parent of a third grader at St Mark. What I see at St Mark is a community of children and adults who treat one another with respect and really care about one another. There is a partnership between faculty and parents with open communication. Their standards are high with faculty that are able to recognize each childs strengths and weaknesses. I owuld reccomend this school to any family who is looking for a safe enviroment for their child to grow intellectually, socially and spiritually.
- Posted by
5  6/1/2012
Moving from the mainland we had a lot of decisions to make and things to learn about island life. Our daughter attending St Mark was the best decision so far. The faculty and staff has not only embraced our daughter but our entire family and made us feel welcome. We have learned so much and enjoy every moment of it. The content and quality of the curriculum is outstanding! Our daughter is learning, understanding and applying what she has learned. She is excited to attend school every day. They say it takes a village to raise a child and this school exemplifies that saying.
- Posted by
5  5/21/2012
All three of my children attend here and they all love it! The teachers are the best because they love the children and they stay up to date with current research on best teaching practices. My children are pushed hard academically and are succeeding with work above their grade level. My oldest is in band and he does very well with his very talented and devoted band teacher. The classes blend instructional time with field trips that put the learning into practice. It has a competitive athletic program that teaches sportsmanship and teamwork. One of my favorite parts is attending chapels with the kids. They sing loud and praise God and really get invigorated for the day. The principal, pastor, and DCE all stand out front each morning and greet all the children by name and welcome them to school. This school is a blessing to our community and I am proud to be part of it.
- Posted by
5  5/21/2012
Our family really loves this school. Our son is in his third year here. SMLS combines excellent academics with a really personal, caring environment. The students get individual attention, rise to challenges and are polite, motivated learners. The teachers are innovative, supportive and really know each child. This is a gem of a school and a private school bargain!
- Posted by
5  5/21/2012
Jr. High Teachers collaborate to make an enriching learning opportunity for the students!
- Posted by
5  4/9/2012
I enrolled my grandson into this school and the only regret I have is that I did not do so sooner. The teachers, faculty, and principal intimately know each child & make certain that they grow into young adults who not only love God, but walk as Christians. I would highly recommend this school!!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 30, 2017
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
September 29, 2017
Parents have many reasons for deciding to take their children out of public school and enrolling them in private school. This circumstance is something which can happen at any stage of your child's education.
September 29, 2017
Here are a dozen or so girls' schools' public thoughts about themselves and their missions.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Honolulu County, HI is $8,411 for elementary schools and $15,470 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Honolulu County, HI is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).