Westminster Schools of Augusta

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
Tel: (706)731-5260
previous
Knox Hall, the newest addition to campus, holds several offices, a commons area, a modern kitchen and cafeteria, study rooms, media center, and foreign language programs.
next
Knox Hall, the newest addition to campus, holds several offices, a commons area, a modern kitchen and cafeteria, study rooms, media center, and foreign language programs.
Westminster's campus is comprised of 34 acres in a residential section of West Augusta.
Well-rounded students must be provided with opportunities to excel in more than academics. Strong fine arts and athletics programs are coupled with solid academics and a Christian perspective.
Westminster graduates are prepared. Their education has given them wings to live extraordinary lives for Jesus Christ. The knowledge of how to study, strong SAT and AP test results and varied extra-curricular experiences place them ahead of the curve as they leave for college.
Wonder is part of the educational process. Students engage in hands-on activities and interact with the subject matter. The 1:World Laptop program, outdoor classrooms, field trips and working the Westminster weather station are a few of the ways we inspire awe in the classroom and beyond.
Faith is integrated in the whole educational process, not only Bible class and chapel. Be awed at God's creation in science class. Learn Christian leadership in athletics and express creativity through the fine arts.
Westminster Schools of Augusta fields 16 varsity interscholastic sport teams, including, football, basketball, soccer, tennis, track and field, cross country, baseball, clay shooting sports, golf, swimming and cheerleading. It is the goal of our Athletics Department to impact our students and our community for God's kingdom through the pursuit of excellence in the athletic arena.
Wisdom is more than knowledge. At Westminster, we educate the whole person and believe that learning requires the interaction of the head, the hands and the heart.
Westminster provides useful and current information on a variety of college admissions issues.
We believe in community at Westminster. The caring faculty, supportive parents and strong student life programs help make that community possible.
  • Westminster Schools of Augusta seeks to glorify God by providing an excellent education that equips students to live extraordinary lives for Jesus Christ.
  • Our educational program is grounded in a biblically-based Christian world view and distinguished by high academic challenge, character development and extracurricular opportunities.
  • A coeducational, independent, college-preparatory day school, Westminster serves 539 students in grades PK3 through 12.

Upcoming Events and News

  • Westminster High School Students Tackle Transportation Problems in Augusta - 03/23/2017 - For the past four months, students in French 4/5 have been tirelessly working on an intense group project. Their final product includes an almost 20-page feasibility report and proposal, professional quality artist rendering and a Google slide presentatio...more
  • Westminster 5th Grader on The Tonight Show - 09/11/2017 - Fifth grader, Patrick Joiner, was selected from a nationwide pool of students to appear on "The Tonight Show" during the 2017 "Fallonventions" segment that was aired on Wednesday, Sept. 6."Fallonventions" is an annual segment during which Jimmy Fallon gives yo...more
  • Equipping Students for Cyber Education at Westminster Schools - 09/21/2017 - On Thursday, Sept. 21, Westminster unveiled the donation of ten Arduino Bot kits from the National Integrated Cyber Education Research Center (NICERC). Westminster is the first private school in the Augusta area to receive these kits, which will be used to edu...more
  • Fourth Grade Westminster Students Show Off Inventions - 02/22/2017 - After learning about famous inventors in their fourth grade classes, Westminster students gather problems and determine one for which they`d like to develop a solution. From that point, they work in class to develop possible solutions and inventions. During an...more

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Other school association(s)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Southern Association of Independent Schools
Educational Records Bureau
Religious AffiliationPresbyterian
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-12
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Learning Programs SupportedMild Learning Differences
Year Founded1972

Student Body

Total Students539 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
Students by GradeWestminster Schools of Augusta Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers53 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size14 students
Number of AP Courses17 courses
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Advanced CoursesBiology, Calculus BC, Chemistry, Computer Science, English Language and Composition, English Literature, Environmental Science, French Language, Latin, Music Theory, Physics, Spanish Language, Statistics, Studio Art-2D, Studio Art-3D, Studio Art-Drawing, U.S. Government and Politics, U.S. History, World History
Average SAT score1278
Average ACT score28
Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Tuition Notes2017-18 Tuition: 1/2 Day PK3, PK4 & Kindergarten-$6,500; Full Day PK3, PK4 & Kindergarten -$8,750; K-$9,950; 1-5 $13,3125; 6-8 $14,710; 9-12 $14,810,
% on Financial Aid
27%
Average Financial Aid Grant$6,200
Acceptance Rate
89%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorCarrie Brigham
Admissions AssociateTurner Davis

Sports

Total Sports Offered10 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis, Track and FieldBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.30 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Class Officers, Committee Leadership Teams, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, French Club, Honor Council, Latin Club, Literary Journal, Math League, National Beta Club, National Honor Society, Peer Tutoring, Robotics Club, Science Olympiad, Spanish Club, Student Leadership Team, Student Leadershipship Team, Teenage Republicans, Yearbook

Arts and Music Programs:
All-State Chorus, Art Club, Art Competitions, Debate Team, District Honor Chorus, Drama Club, Forensics Team, International Thespian Society, Literary Competition, National Forensic League, One Act Play, Spring Musical

School Notes

  • 100% College placement
  • College acceptances over the past three years include: UGA, Georgia Tech, Clemson, Covenant College, MIT, The Citadel, Furman, Sewanee, Harvard,  UVA, UNC, Brown, Duke, Johns Hopkins, to name a few.
  • Nationally recognized Latin program
  • 88% score 3, 4, or 5 on AP Exams
  • Average of our elementary students at the 92 percentile on the ITBS
  • Small classes with excellent student to teacher ratios.
  • Open Enrollment Policy
  • Honor Code enforced
  • 34-acre wooded campus in West Augusta
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Augusta
    Grades: PK-8 | 383 students
    1.8 miles
    2248 Walton Way
    Augusta, GA 30904
    (706)733-1192
    1.8PK-8
    383
  • Augusta
    Grades: PK-12 | 559 students
    3.1 miles
    313 Baston Road
    Augusta, GA 30907
    (706)863-2905
    3.1PK-12
    559
  • Augusta
    Grades: PK-8 | 123 students
    4.5 miles
    811 Telfair Street
    Augusta, GA 30901
    (706)722-9964
    4.5PK-8
    123
  • Augusta
    Grades: K-8 | 432 students
    1.2 miles
    1220 Monte Sano Avenue
    Augusta, GA 30904
    (706)733-6193
    1.2K-8
    432
  • Augusta
    Grades: NS-12 | 570 students
    3.9 miles
    285 Flowing Wells Rd
    Augusta, GA 30907
    (706)434-2381
    3.9NS-12
    570

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
We chose Westminster Schools of Augusta for many reasons. They have a Christian staff that loves and nurtures the children from Pre-k through 12th grade. We find great peace in knowing that our child is taught God's Word in the classroom daily and to respect God's world and the people in it. The class sizes are small giving more opportunity for a teacher to have the time to reach out to each student. The lower school is blessed to have para-pros in all classes through 5th grade. Parents at Westminster are anxious to help in all activities of the school, giving the children fun opportunities outside the classroom. Westminster offers an array of competitive athletic sports throughout the school year. The Fine Arts department at Westminster is flourishing and award winning. In addition to academics, fine arts and athletics at Westminster also emphasizes service and caring for others through numerous community service projects. Westminster is committed to providing a safe and caring learning environment enabling instructors to teach the skills necessary to excel in college and to be compassionate citizens in the community.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Westminster is a FANTASTIC school! The academics are tremendous but it is the prevailing Christian worldview that makes the school truly special. All things, whether in the classroom, on the stage, or on the playing field, are done excellently to honor the Lord. Our oldest child has graduated from Westminster and could not have been any more prepared to meet the challenges (both academic and social) of a secular college campus. We are thrilled to be a part of such a wonderful school community.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Every night when my little girl and I say our prayers, we thank God for a school like Westminister. We thank God that she learns about His Son, Jesus Christ. We are also thankul for a school that teaches her the things she needs for college. As a result,she will have a successful life academically, but more importantly spiritually.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
We truly feel that a Westminster education is a gift to our children. They are getting an excellent education that will prepare them well for the future while also being strengthened, encouraged and challenged spiritually. Westminster offers the full package...a strong education, a Christian worldview, fabulous athletic and fine arts opportunities, a family atmosphere, and extra curricular experiences. Our children recognize the value of a Westminster education, and are thankful to be able to be a part of this community. We, too, are grateful to be able to give this to them.
- Posted by
5  2/27/2013
I can not imagine a more wonderful, Godly environment to send my two children to. We selected Westminster originally for my daughter because she was entering 9th grade and her current school stopped at 8th grade. It is a perfect fit. She is involved in a little bit of everything. She loves the academic challenge she is experiencing and feels she will be well prepared for college. She was a member of the Varsity basketball team and now the Varsity tennis team. The coaches are wonderful- accepting to her level of play and encouraging for her to become a better player. My son is now in 5th grade and we decided to move him too. He is having the best year of his life. He has met more new friends, risen to the academic challenge, and able to play every sport for his Own school. I feel like our being at Westminster is an answered prayer!!!!!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 19, 2018
Depending on their family circumstances, our Presidents received a wide range of primary and secondary schooling.
January 19, 2018
A fascinating look at where our first Presidents went to school.
January 18, 2018
From time to time we all wonder how things might have turned out if circumstances and situations had been different. We apply that questioning to private schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Augusta, GA is 93% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).