Avery Coonley School

5.00 5 1 (2 reviews)
Tel: (630)969-0800
previous
next
  • The Avery Coonley School is an independent school whose mission is to provide a learning environment that is appropriate both for academically bright and gifted children, preschool through eighth grade, who are motivated to learn and have demonstrated the potential for the scholastic achievement necessary to succeed in a challenging academic program, in order that they may become positive, productive, and respectful members of society.

Upcoming Events and News

  • Gifted Education: What, How and Why? - 09/23/2016 - Check out the newest edition of the ACS Blog: A Learning Space
  • The Importance of Early Academics - 09/26/2016 - Lisa Wiltz, Avery Coonley School Early School Co-Coordinator and Junior Kindergarten Teacher, writes this week's blog on the crucial nature of early childhood education. 

     
  • Crossing Borders - 10/13/2016 - ACS teacher Alice Brown talks about her amazing experience this summer. 
  • Un Voyage d'une Vie - 10/18/2016 - One of the most unique features of The Avery Coonley School is our robust French language program. Part of this program consists of two 10-day sessions: The French students visit Downers Grove for 10 days in October, while the Avery Coonley School 7th graders ...more
  • Using Poetry to Teach Grammar - 10/21/2016 - Is it possible to use poetry to teach grammar? Yes! Read about Literacy teacher Michelle Schaub's recent experiences at Poetry Camp
  • Memories of Halloween at The Avery Coonley School - 10/31/2016 - The Avery Coonley School celebrates Halloween like no other school does. One of our alums shares his fondest memories of this special day.
  • Fostering Empathy - Sleep Out Saturday - 11/04/2016 - Fostering civic engagement is an essential component of the educational experience at The Avery Coonley School. The following blog is one example of the type of activities our students participate in. 
  • The Spice of Life Show - 11/14/2016 - Jeff Westbrook has been the ACS drama teacher since 1996. Read his reflections on the importance of the arts in general, and our Variety Show in particula
  • The Pilgrim Age - 11/28/2016 - One of the ACS alums from 1987 fondly shares his memories of The Avery Coonley's School's Thanksgiving Program and it's tradition of giving. 
  • Making the World a Little Better Every Day - 12/09/2016 - Civic engagement and giving back is part of the bones of The Avery Coonley School. Read about one 8th group student's perspective on giving back. 
  • Marshmallows and Much More - 12/09/2016 - Sometimes school traditions can become family memories. Read about how one alum's impulse purchase at the school's annual Holiday House lead to sweet memories with her Grandfather. 
  • Staff Spotlight: The Maintenance Department - 02/10/2017 - At ACS, every member is considered part of the team and equally valued. We couldn't do what we do - educate kids - without our amazing maintenance department. 
  • Why ACS? - 02/10/2017 - Avery Coonley School participated in National School Choice Week (#nationalschoolchoiceweek), a national celebration of choosing the right school for your child. One of our parents took the time to reflect on this very thing, and shared why her family chose AC...more
  • If These Walls Would Talk, They Would Sing - 02/10/2017 - The arts at ACS are equally as important as academics. Our music teacher shares her experiences teaching the eager kids of ACS.
  • This is What School for Three-Year-Olds Looks Like - 03/01/2017 - The upcoming issue of the ACS Magazine will take a close look at early childhood education. Get a sneak peek with this excerpt from an article written by Early Childhood teacher Lauren Evan. 
  • Reflections on My ACS - 05/02/2017 - One of our alum's reflects back on her time at ACS. 
  • Understanding the Whole Child - 05/02/2017 - Parents are an important part of the ACS community, and their connections with their children's teachers create a partnership that is ultimately beneficial. Read about a conversation some of our parents had with our ACS faculty. 
  • Connecting Online and On Stage - 05/05/2017 - Adam Metcalf, ACS PE Teacher, saw a need to step outside of his comfort zone and with the help of a strong connected online community, has worked to change the perception of what physical education is and what physical education could be.Read Adam's blog in ou...more

School Overview

School TypeSchool with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Lake Michigan Association of Independent Schools
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded1906

Student Body

Total Students378 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
30%
State avg.: 31%
Students by GradeAvery Coonley School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Matriculation DataMatric. DataLink to Matriculation Data

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineMar. 1
Admissions DirectorRebecca Malotke-Meslin
Admissions AssociateKristen Teague

Sports

Total Sports Offered4 sports
SportsBasketball, Soccer, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballSoccer,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.13 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Art Club, Book Club, Chess, Computer Club, Drama/Theater, Intramurals, Math Team, Orchestra, STEM Open Lab, Student Council (Middle School), Tech Club, Treble Makers Choir, Yearbook Club Art Club, Book Club, Chess, Computer Club, Drama/Theater, Intramurals, Math Team, Orchestra, STEM Open Lab, Tech Club, Yearbook Club, Student Council (Middle School),
Treble Makers Choir,

School Notes

  • The Avery Coonley School is an independent school whose mission is to provide a learning environment that is appropriate both for academically bright and gifted children, preschool through eighth grade, who are motivated to learn and have demonstrated the potential for the scholastic achievement necessary to succeed in a challenging academic program, in order that they may become positive, productive, and respectful members of society.

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Downers Grove
    Downers Grove Adventist School
    (Seventh Day Adventist)
    Grades: K-9 | 27 students
    0.4 miles
    5524 Lee Ave
    Downers Grove, IL 60515
    (630)968-8848
    0.4K-9
    27
  • Downers Grove
    Family Life Program
    Daycare / Preschool (Christian)
    Grades: PK-K | 53 students
    0.6 miles
    1047 Curtiss Street
    Downers Grove, IL 60515
    (630)968-0527
    0.6PK-K
    53
  • Downers Grove
    Grades: PK-8 | 199 students
    0.7 miles
    929 Maple Avenue
    Downers Grove, IL 60515
    (630)852-0832
    0.7PK-8
    199
  • Downers Grove
    St. Joseph School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: NS-8 | 450 students
    1 miles
    4832 Highland Avenue
    Downers Grove, IL 60515
    (630)969-4306
    1NS-8
    450
  • Downers Grove
    The Bridge High School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 9-12 | 27 students
    1.2 miles
    2318 Wisconsin Ave
    Downers Grove, IL 60515
    (630)964-1722
    1.29-12
    27

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (2 reviews)
5  6/23/2017
Our son has attended since Kindergarten and we are very happy with the experience. The environment is inviting and friendly. The grounds are beautiful. The school does a great job nurturing long-standing community-building traditions while incorporating the latest technology in the classrooms. The teachers and staff know the children well, and enjoy guiding their development. The teachers are experts in their subjects and are passionate about their craft. The school is for gifted and highly motivated learners; the teachers differentiate and individualize in order to meet the child where he/she is at. The peer set in each classroom cannot be matched elsewhere. Avery Coonley is the place where it is cool to be smart and everyone is engaged in the learning process. Our son has thrived here.
- Posted by
5  6/13/2016
Avery Coonley school was my home away from home from preschool to sixth grade. I made wonderful friends and had great teachers. I feel very lucky to have been a part of the community. It's the people that make this place so special.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 05, 2017
If you live outside the United States, choosing an American private school can be a confusing process. Here is an overview of the process.
September 05, 2017
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
September 04, 2017
Use this hub to keep track of the steps in the private schools' admission process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Dupage County, IL is $5,210 for elementary schools and $11,872 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Dupage County, IL is 94% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).