Cedar Hill Prep School

Cedar Hill Prep School Fosters a Sense of Belonging! Cedar Hill Preparatory School is a private school that holds the philosophy of the curriculum and instruction is based on the premise that all children are gifted.
However, the makeup of the Educational Environment is key to harnessing each child`s special gift.
We feel children learn best in a safe, caring, and nurturing environment that fosters partnerships between the family and the school.
We aim to provide a diverse environment, abundant space, and stimulating activities and we strive to empower children to reach their unique potential socially, physically, intellectually, and emotionally.
We encourage all of our students to develop valuable intellectual and social skills, appreciate the richness of the world`s cultures, think independently, be curious and explore, reach their own unique potential, develop their character to become positive, confident and productive citizens.
Cedar Hill Preparatory School is a private school that offers a combination of a forward-thinking and clearly defined curriculum, a faculty promoting excellence in learning, and an environment that encourages social awareness and a commitment to cultivating meaningful relationships with our families.
The small class sizes help each child get individual attention. Cedar Hill Prep School students perform consistently in the top 10% in the nation in standardized tests.
Graduates from Cedar Hill Prep School have been accepted to Bishop Ahr, Delbarton School, Hotchkiss School, Mercersburg Academy, Middlesex Academy for Science, Mathematics and Engineering Technologies, Mount Saint Mary, The Pingry School, Peddie School, Pennington School, Princeton Day School, St. Paul's School, The Hun School, St. Josephs High School, Bishop Ahr School, Immaculata High School, Rutgers Preparatory School, Watchung Hills Regional High School, North Hunterdon High School, Thomas Edison Charter School, McNair Academic High School, Phillips Academy Andover, The Union County Magnet High School, and Somerset County Vocational and Technical School for Health and Medical Sciences, Stuart Country Day School, Wardlaw Hartridge School, and Wilbraham and Monson School

Quick Stats (2021)

  • Top Ranked NJ School
  • Grades: Nursery/Preschool-8
  • Students: 268 students
  • Acceptance rate: 30%
  • Average class size: 15 students
  • Application Deadline: None / Rolling

School News

  • Singing and Dancing Competition - 06/21/2021
    What a challenge it was for the 3 judges of the Singing and Dancing Competition to choose the first and second place winners amongst all of our talented students. Our ...morestudents` talents were displayed on video for "House" points! As per our tradition, the first-place winners of the Singing and Dancing CompetItion performance videos will be aired via Zoom in Mr. Seeley`s virtual assembly for all students, families, and faculty to excitedly watch. Throughout the entire process of the competition, students received an outpouring of encouragement and support from their teachers and peers. The performances are truly sensational! Congratulations to all! hide
  • Congratulations Cedar Hill Prep School Graduates! - 06/21/2021
    Kindergarten:
    On June 10th, 2021, our Kindergarten Graduation Ceremony had a very passionate meaning. It meant that our students had a phenomenal conclusion of two very different chapters and an exciting ...morejourney toward another. In celebration of our student`s achievements, a well-deserved tribute was embraced by all. Soft and elegant music played in the background as each graduate and their family members arrived.
    Grade 4
    On June 10th, our Grade 4 students and their families gathered to celebrate an important milestone-their graduation from CHP`s Elementary School and transition into Middle School!
    hide
  • Junior Olympics - 06/14/2021
    Junior OlympicsJune 1, 2021 cedarhillprepCHP`s Junior Olympics was a fun-filled day for all! For Middle School, there were races for our top finishers in Hurdles, 100M and 400M run as ...morewell as House Relay Race. Preschool- K events included an obstacle course, a ball hop race, and a balance beam! It was a great day for the whole school! hide
  • Grade 4 May Events - 06/14/2021
    May found Grade 4 pulling out their craft supplies as they created Mother`s Day gifts- keepsake boxes and coupon booklets that promised so many ways in which the children planned ...moreto help their mothers. Hope all of our Grade 4 moms enjoyed a wonderful celebration of their special day! hide
  • Staff vs Students Volleyball Game - 06/14/2021
    On Friday, June 4th, Grades 7 and 8 played a Volley Game against the CHP staff. The first game score was 25-11. The second game score was 25-13. The staff ...morewon. It was a fantastic and fun event for all! hide
  • Debate Tournament Awards - 06/14/2021
    On Tuesday, June 8th students were presented with the debate awards. The April 10th Debate Tournament Topics were Prohibit Privatization of Water, and Space Exploration is Good for America.
    CHP ...more2nd Place School for Total Points
    Bridgeton Middle School was represented by one team since they were also on Spring Break. They made history for the Debate Club at Bridgeton Middle School (5 years) by winning the tournament.
    hide
  • Butterflies - 06/07/2021
    Preschool:
    Cedar Hill Prep School preschoolers had the awesome experience of watching caterpillars transform into beautiful butterflies in their classrooms over the past few weeks. They learned about the stages of ...morea butterfly by observation. The class received 5 little caterpillars in a jar with food already provided. The children watched each day as the caterpillars ate and ate and grew and grew.
    Pre-Kindergarten:
    Imagine the smiles on the faces of the Pre-Kindergarten children when they walked into class after the weekend and saw that all 5 of our pupas opened up. The children in Pre-Kindergarten so enjoyed learning about the life cycle of a butterfly. We learned about the 4 stages and we witnessed the 2nd through the 4th stages right before our eyes. After observing the butterflies we went outside and released them into their natural environment. It was so amazing watching them fly off to begin their journey.
    Kindergarten:
    Kindergarten and grade one watched the metamorphosis of our caterpillars turn into butterflies. Today we set our butterflies free! Enjoy the video!
    hide
  • Junior Olympics - 06/07/2021
    CHP`s Junior Olympics was a fun-filled day for all! For Middle School, there were races for our top finishers in Hurdles, 100M and 400M run as well as House Relay ...moreRace. Preschool- K events included an obstacle course, a ball hop race, and a balance beam! It was a great day for the whole school! hide
  • Grade 4 May Events - 06/07/2021
    May found Grade 4 pulling out their craft supplies as they created Mother`s Day gifts- keepsake boxes and coupon booklets that promised so many ways in which the children planned ...moreto help their mothers. Hope all of our Grade 4 moms enjoyed a wonderful celebration of their special day! Read more in the link mentioned. hide
  • Poetry Day - 05/31/2021
    PreschoolPoetry Day at Cedar Hill Prep was on May 17th. Our preschool children beautifully performed poems while their parents watched with excitement at home on Zoom.
    Poetry Day was so ...moreawesome! The Pre-Kindergarten classes learned about poems and had so much fun creating their own. Each child was given two words that rhyme.
    To read more, click the link.
    hide
  • Coed Volleyball Team - 05/31/2021
    Our Coed Volleyball Team got to finish their season with a fun match against Metuchen Christian! The kids had been having practices since mid-March and did a great job using ...morethe skills they have learned. All of our players made an impact in our 5 sets and showed great sportsmanship throughout. Ms. Tierney and Coach Griggs have enjoyed working with our coed Volleyball Team and look forward to next season! hide
  • CHP 3rd through 8th Grade Student Exhibit Paper Sculpture - 05/24/2021
    Students in Grades 3 through 8 engineered paper sculptures using technology techniques such as cutting, folding, and pasting for kinetic action. The sculptures included: 3D pop-ups, tab-slides, Book Art which ...moreuses actual books as a sculptural material, and Sirigami, which uses cut paper strips arrayed in layers or a series to show animation and transition. The pop-ups posed the biggest challenge. The students created precise folding into "V-Folds", "parallel folds", parallelograms and more. Many students mixed multiple techniques including inset booklets, accordion folds and pop up within pop-ups. The projects ranged from abstract forms and colors to renditions of their storyboard comics stories to original creations.Video Player hide
  • Poetry Day - 05/24/2021
    Poetry Day at Cedar Hill Prep was on May 17th. Our preschool children beautifully performed poems while their parents watched with excitement at home on Zoom.
  • Why do parents choose Cedar Hill Prep for Preschool through Grade 8? - 05/17/2021

    Why do parents choose Cedar Hill Prep for Preschool through Grade 8?

    ...moreHelvetica, Arial, sans-serif; color: rgb(28, 30, 33); font-size: 14px;">- CHP provides the best foundation for future success

    #cedarhillprepschool Fosters a Sense of Belonging!

    hide
  • The Princeton-Blairstown Center Trip - 05/17/2021
    On Friday, May 7th, our 8th Graders, accompanied by Ms. Tierney and Mrs. Anju Kalra traveled to The Princeton-Blairstown Center for a fun-filled day of activities! We enjoyed hiking, canoeing, ...morelow ropes crossing challenge, and a high ropes course! We also took part in some great team-building activities and built our own campfire! The day ended with a cookout and roasting s'mores at our very own campfire. It was a fun and adventurous day!
    #cedarhillprepschool Fosters a Sense of Belonging!
    hide
  • Teacher Appreciation Week! - 05/10/2021
    Hello CHP Families--We had a great week surprising the CHP Teachers and Staff with teacher appreciation week. Thanks to all of your generous donations we were able to have a ...moreweek of great surprises for everyone. We started off the week with a Starbucks Gift Card that was awaiting everyone on their desk in the morning with a tag that said: "Enjoy a little something hot or cold. Because every day you should be told. Thanks a Latte for all you do and know that we really appreciate you.
    "On Tuesday, everyone was given a candied apple that said: "Teacher you are Awesome to the Core
    "On Wednesday, we had lunch catered by Panera for everyone.
    On Thursday, we had succulent plants delivered for each teacher with a tag that said: "Thank you for helping us Grow!"
    On Friday, we had bagels and muffins delivered from Kettlemans and fresh fruit for a morning snack. We got a bunch of thank you's from everyone and wanted to share some of them with all of you.
    Thank you for helping us to make this year's Teacher Appreciation Event so successful!!!
    #cedarhillprepschool Fosters a Sense of Belonging!
    hide
  • Happy Mother's Day - 05/10/2021
    Our Mother's Day Celebration was awesome! The Pre-Kindergarten classes celebrated their wonderful, stylish moms with a fun get-together. Our moms joined us on Zoom and each child shared with their ...moremom why they love her. The moms then received a "Best Mom" certificate. Moms rock and CHP has the best! Cedar Hill Prep School Wishes Everyone a very Happy Mother's Day!
    #cedarhillprepschool Fosters a Sense of Belonging!
    hide
  • CHP Elementary and Middle School Science Fair - 05/03/2021
    First Grade The First Grade Science Fair was a huge success! The students started off by submitting their project proposals.
    Super Scientists of 2nd Grade2nd graders enthusiastically presented their science ...moreprojects to their classmates during CHP`s Science Fair Week in April.
    The Third Graders asked a question in the fields of Life, Earth, and Physical Science; formulated a hypothesis; ran an experiment; and presented their findings with graphs, charts, and pictures.
    Fourth Grade Parents, teachers, and students, virtually and in-person, enjoyed the Fourth Grade Science Fair on Wednesday, April 21st. Students created their own inventions using combinations of simple machines such as wheels and axles, levers, pulleys, screws, wedges, and inclined planes.
    Middle School On the evening of Thursday, April 22nd, middle school students presented their Science Fair projects through ZOOM. The evening was buzzing with excitement for the vast array of topics students did experiments with.
    hide
  • CHP News - 05/03/2021
    Get updates on everyday events/news on what is happening on the CHP campus.
  • Did You Know? - 04/26/2021
    Oral language has been identified as a central component of literacy skill development. Several research studies demonstrate that preschool oral language skills can predict the child's fourth-grade reading comprehension (Dickinson ...more& Tabors, 2001; Hart & Risley, 1995; Storch & Whitehurst, 2002).
    Alphabet knowledge is highly predictive of reading achievement (Bowey, 2005; Storch & Whitehurst, 2002).In order to begin reading, a child must be able to identify letters in print, as well as their corresponding sounds, referred to as the alphabetic principle. Indeed, this ability to decode or sound out words accurately and fluently is one of the hallmarks of children`s reading acquisition.
    Cedar Hill Prep School Fosters a Sense of Belonging!
    hide
  • CHP Science Fair - 2021 - 04/26/2021
    Our preschool, pre-kindergarten, kindergarten and Grade-4 students participated in the Annual Cedar Hill Prep School Science Fair-2021. Click the link to know more:
  • Did You Know? - 04/19/2021
    Evidence from researchers suggests that the complex web of social relationships students experience with peers, adults within the school, and family members, exert a much greater influence on their behavior ...morethan had been previously assumed. The behavior of students within schools is influenced by dual factors of socialization and social status. The School Socialization process pressures students to be like their peers or risk Social Rejection. The quest for High Social Status drives students to differentiate themselves in sports, academic achievement, street skills, etc (Jensen, 2009).
    Cedar Hill Prep School Fosters a Sense of Belonging!
    hide
  • CHP VEX IQ ROBOTICS - 03/29/2021
    VEX IQ is a robotics platform designed to transform the STEM learning paradigm for young students. When students have the ability to jump right in and snap robots together using ...morean intuitive tool-less system, it can unlock curiosity and a passion that will stay with them for life. hide
  • CHP Debate Award Winners - 03/29/2021
    Cedar Hill Prep School has participated in two debate tournaments this year as a member of the Garden State Debate League. Each tournament involves more than 100 students debating ...moreon topics that are considered relevant to Middle School Students. hide
  • CHP ON-CAMPUS OPEN HOUSE - 03/22/2021
    SAVE THE DATE!
    CEDAR HILL PREP SCHOOL ON-CAMPUS OPEN HOUSE
    Contact us at admissions@cedarhillprep.com
    732-356 -5400
    152 Cedar Grove Lane, Somerset, NJ 08873
  • Girls Lacrosse skills and training sessions! - 03/15/2021
    Every Tue from Mar 23rd - May.11th.2021. 2:45 - 3:45 pm
    Girls Grade: 5 - 8
    All skills level are welcomed
    Please contact ctierney@cedarhillprep.com
    Equipment needed: Girls lacrosse stick, lacrosse goggles, mouth guard.
    Cedar Hill ...morePrep School Fosters a Sense of Belonging!
    #topnjschool #blendedlearning #studentsdevelopment #multiculturalcommunity #njstudents #njschools
    hide
  • Decoding Education - LEADERSHIP DURING COVID - 03/01/2021
    Listen to this Podcast in the link shared.
    Hear Multiple Perspectives and Insights
    Please share the podcast with your friends and families.
  • Decoding Education Podcast - MULTICULTURALISM IS A 21ST CENTURY SKILL FOR ALL TO SUCCEED - 02/22/2021
    Listen to this Podcast in link below.
    Hear Multiple Perspectives and Insights - https://www.cedarhillprep.com/decoding-education-podcast-2/
    Please share the podcast with your friends and families.
  • CHP Decoding Education - Podcast - 02/22/2021
    Decoding Education - HOW TO MAINTAIN YOUR CULTURAL IDENTITY IN A MULTICULTURAL SOCIETY.
    Listen to this Podcast in the link shared.
  • ...read more

Top Placements

Cedar Hill Prep School places among the top 20% of private schools in New Jersey for:

Category
Attribute

School Overview

Religious Affiliation
Grades Offered
Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
Learning Difference Programs
Yes
Year Founded
2003
Awards
 Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2017, 2018, 2019

Student Body

Total Students
268 students
Student Body Type
Co-ed
Students by Grade
Cedar Hill Prep School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers
35 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio
8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size
15 students
List of Courses Offered
Matriculation DataMatric. Data
Classroom Dress Code
Formal
(Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline
None / Rolling
Tuition Notes
Email our Admissions Director, Donna Jones, for details: admissions@cedarhillprep.com
Acceptance Rate
30%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director
Donna Jones
Admissions Associate
Nandini Menon

Sports

Total Sports Offered
3 sports

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.
14 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.
Club or Organization:
Advanced Art Club, Chess, Debate League, Drama Club, Drawing Club, Lego Club, Mad Science, Reading and Writing Club, Robotics

Arts and Music Programs:
Art Studio, Chorus, Piano

Recreational Athletic Programs:
Basketball, Soccer

School Notes

Cedar Hill Preparatory School
  • Cedar Hill Preparatory School is a private school which holds the philosophy of the curriculum and instruction is based on the premise that all children are gifted. However, the makeup of the Educational Environment is key to harnessing each child`s special gift. We feel children learn best in a safe, caring and nurturing environment that fosters partnerships between the family and the school. We aim to provide a diverse environment, abundant space and stimulating activities and we strive to empower children to reach their unique potential socially, physically, intellectually, and emotionally.
  • We encourage all of our students to: develop valuable intellectual and social skills, appreciate the richness of the world`s cultures, think independently, be curious and explore, reach their own unique potential, develop their character to become positive, confident and productive citizens.
  • Cedar Hill Preparatory School is a private school that offers a combination of a forward thinking and clearly defined curriculum, a faculty promoting excellence in learning, and an environment that encourages social awareness and a commitment to cultivating meaningful relationships with our families. The small class sizes help each child get individual attention. Cedar Hill Prep School students perform consistently in the top 10% in the nation in standardized tests.
  • Graduates from Cedar Hill Prep School have been accepted to The Pingry School, Peddie School, Princeton Day School, The Hun School, St. Josephs High School, Bishop Ahr School, Immaculata High School and Rutgers Prep.
  • We give direct explicit instruction in Spelling, Grammar, Vocabulary, Writing, and Reading. We teach Singapore Math and Math applications in real life. Our Science program is a fully integrated curriculum including online and print text sources, interactive notebooks, and journals. Students connect Science to Current Events and debate issues. The Social Studies program enhances the NCSS C3 framework curriculum which includes multi-cultural studies. The program is a fully integrated integrated curriculum including online and print text sources. Students connect Social Studies to Current Events, debate issues, Performing Arts, Visual Arts, and Literature. Students learn World Language including French and Spanish. In Grades 6 through 8, students take the National Spanish Honor Exam, receiving honors in gold, silver, and bronze. In addition, Engineering and Technology are taught once a week as separate subjects and are integrated into the content areas. Tutoring is available for students each week.
  • Community Service: Mandatory for all students. - Alex's Lemonade Stand Foundation - Environmental and Team Building - Stewardship Certificate - Team Building and Leadership Retreat
  • Music is part of the curriculum from Preschool through Grade 8. Students can take additional voice and instrument lessons after school. We offer Acapella, Choir, Ukulele, Recorder, and Piano.
  • Visual Art is part of the curriculum from Preschool through Grade 8. After school art programs are available.
  • The Drama Program is part of the curriculum from Grade 3 through Grade 8. Students perform two events per year.
  • Competitions / Leagues: Robocup Junior (World Champions) - Garden State Debate League - Scripps Spelling Bee - National Geography Bee (Finalists) - National History Bee (Finalists) - Math League (Top 10 in the Country - Math Counts (Best New School) - AMC 8 (Top 5% in the Country) - National Science Bowl - National Academic Quiz Tournament -Junior Solar Sprints (Regional Champions) - Bright School Science Competion (Finalists) - Verizon App Challenge
  • Clubs: Art Clubs, Swim Club, Concert Choir, Book Club, Brickz for Kidz, Cermaics, Creative Writing, Instruments, Acapella, Debate Club, Piano and keyboarding, Reading and Writing Club, Mad Science and Robotics.
  • Athletics: Middle School Basketball League, Middle School Soccer League
Profile last updated:

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5  
Cedar Hill Prep is an amazing school with great culture, philosophy and leadership. Last year my son had to prepare and present a Black History Project, present to his class twice a week and "read" to the class at the end of the year. All of this happened in Preschool!!! He is now in Pre K and the bar continues to rise. Learning philosophy and class size allows the teachers to produce transformational growth. We will forever be thankful for finding CHP and starting our kids here early.
- Posted by
5  
Cedar Hill Prep School has been an amazing experience for our family from preschool to kindergarten. I don't know if you can find teachers who as dedicated, loving and caring as the teachers at this school! The school is diverse and every teacher staff member is attentive to our daughter and each and every student. I know my child is in the best possible place. She has not only learned so much but has grown more confident with all the nurturing and positive reinforcement that she has received. The school maintains a very humble atmosphere always. We are proud to be a part of this wonderful environment and it is one of the best decisions our family has ever made.
- Posted by
5  
CHP has been the best decision that we ever made for our daughter. My son is 2, I am waiting for him to also be a part of this great family environment. The teachers are the best that I have come across in my life. They care about each student, nurture them, and treat them like their own. The administration is very involved, everyone knows each student by name. The academics are excellent, as are the values constantly reinforced of compassion, kindness and diversity. I still cannot imagine that we are so fortunate to have found such an amazing environment where our kids can thrive without worrying about safety, cleanliness, bullying, violence, etc. In a world of tragedies day in and day out, I am at peace knowing my child is in the best hands. Thank you CHP!
- Posted by
5  
Cedar Hill Prep is a great school. My son has been attending Cedar Hill since the second grade and will be graduating this summer from the eighth grade. Cedar Hill Prep has helped him to learn at an accelerated rate and the academics are challenging and encourage positive growth. The class sizes are small, which allows for personal attention. A number of school electives they offer are solar sprints, future city, and robotics (all STEM courses), just to name a few. Some extracurricular include Science Olympiad, Athletics, Theater, Music, and Debate Team. Cedar Hill is not only well-rounded but also has a nurturing environment. My family is very pleased to say that we are part of this warm and friendly community. The founder, principal, school faculty, and staff are very proactive in helping to nurture and assist in guiding the students in a positive direction. My son will be attending one of this nation's top high schools because of Cedar Hill Prep School. Thank you, Mrs. Nan.
- Posted by
5  
Cedar Hill Prep school offers quality education at an affordable price. Teachers are qualified, friendly and accessible. They take personal interest in every child`s academic advancement and social development. The school offers multiple after-school clubs & sports activities. The school teams have won awards in national/international level competitions in debate and robotics. Most importantly, my kids have had fun as they learnt, and they don`t want to miss even one day at school !
- Posted by
5  
Cedar Hill Prep has been a wonderful educational experience for our daughters (Pre-K 3 and 1st Grade) and us from the start. The staff are warm and welcoming and truly care about the academic and social development of every CHP student. They encourage each child to express their opinion and communicate with their educators and peers to ensure his/her continued educational growth. The curriculum and cohesive atmosphere offers a perfect balance of education, social interaction and cultural awareness that serves as a solid foundation to prepare young children for their future education. Cedar Hill Prep offers the opportunity for children to appreciate the differences in cultures at a very early stage in their lives to enable them to appreciate and celebrate diversity. CHP is the best decision we have made for our daughters' future.
- Posted by

Endorse Cedar Hill Prep School. Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards
Endorse this school:

Recent Articles

5 Reasons Why You Might Change Schools
5 Reasons Why You Might Change Schools
Here are five reasons why you might want to change schools.
2020-21 Best SSAT Prep Courses Reviewed
2020-21 Best SSAT Prep Courses Reviewed
The SSAT’s questions are different than questions on other standardized tests. Make sure you learn about the best SSAT test prep programs out there.
What A Teacher Does
What A Teacher Does
A teacher wears many hats. Here's a look at her duties and responsibilities.

Quick Stats (2021)

  • Top Ranked NJ School
  • Grades: Nursery/Preschool-8
  • Students: 268 students
  • Acceptance rate: 30%
  • Average class size: 15 students
  • Application Deadline: None / Rolling

Request Information

Did You Know?

The average private school tuition in Somerset County, NJ is $19,365 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Somerset County, NJ is 66% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).

Related School Videos

Quick Links